We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Mixok Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mixok Guesthouse
Ranked #35 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Zurich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

There is not much wrong with this guesthouse: we got our room already early in the morning, the room was run-down but functional, WiFi worked fine. We had a good night's sleep there and the hotel is very centrally located so you can explore Vientiane by foot. Breakfast is not a big hit and is served at Mixok Inn just next door.

If you look for an OK place to stay for a night or two (why would you stay longer in Vientiane anyhow?) - take it. You won't find a much better deal if you want to book ahead.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkaempfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    47
    37
    14
    11
See reviews for
2
54
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The place looks clean enough, and it's a cheaper option than the other Mixok up the road. OK mattress, Ok room. The place is very badly insulated. You hear EVERYTHING that is going on in the corridors. Slaming doors, staff talking, bedroom neighbours. We took one of the rooms at the back to avoid street noise. Still, a dog was barking at anything late at night. The staff was partying in reception until late. Reception staff was quite unfriendly. Only happy when they received money. They sold us a bus ticket that was more expensive than the others. They lied on the trip duration (6 and a half hours to go to Luang Prabang from Vientiane by bus is just impossible).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The room we got was big, with desk, wardrobe, cable TV and aircon. It had two big windows which meant it was really nice and light. The bathroom was fine, hot shower. We had a shared balcony right next to our room. It is located in the centre of everything which was good, but did mean it was a bit noisy. The particular corner it is one is a ladyboy hang out, but that didn't really bother us, it was quite amusing observing them.
The beds are very comfortable and the wifi is good,
The room was a good price, especially considering you get breakfast which for us tends to be the most expensive meal of the day. Breakfast was nice; tea or coffee, fruit, egg and baguette.
I would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

MIXOK INN is new building of MIXOK, near by the MIXOK guest house. Location is the centrial area. Room is very clean and functioning. WIFI is strong signal in my room. Breakfast is ok. So I recommend for budget traveling.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sakpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Mixok guesthouse is the best location and staff is good service for asking information . they have two Mixok as Mixok guesthouse and Mixok INN near by,,, i have to come back in Vientiane again . you can walk around Vientiane in the morning and in the evening go can go to drink at bar
in the room they have T.V , bath room inside with hot shower and WIFI working in the room also but have to improve more for cleaning in bath room or in room also i put on the label that mean please clean the room but no one do it after i got back from outside my room still not clean the label have English and their language but why do the house's keep don't read it...!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeniferlopuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This business actually has two buildings: the Mixok Guesthouse, and the Mixok Inn. I stayed at the Mixok Guesthouse and had what I can only describe as my best sleep in Asia so far. I attribute this as due to the fact that the Mixok actually has SOFT BEDS. This is in contrast to most other guesthouses in asia, which have beds and pillows that might as well be made out of concrete.

The Mixok is also centrally located and only a block or so from the Mekong, which has a night bazar set up every evening. There is a cheap internet cafe attached to this guest house, and a breakfast is included in the rate.

Vientiane it's self was also a great, relaxed city and is a highlight of my trip thus far.

My only complaint with the Mixok was the cleanlines. I'm pretty sure the linens were clean, but the bathroom was heinously filthy. While I have stayed in less clean places, the Mixok should not be one of them since it is not priced at the filthy ghetto price point.

I would still stay here again, however.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodNewsBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Room is clean
TV with many good chanel
WIFI is working well

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prakon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Champa Garden Hotel
Champa Garden Hotel
#45 of 93 in Vientiane
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mixay Paradise
Mixay Paradise
#10 of 197 in Vientiane
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KP Hotel 2
KP Hotel 2
#38 of 197 in Vientiane
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mixok Inn
Mixok Inn
#18 of 100 in Vientiane
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
RD Guesthouse
RD Guesthouse
#72 of 197 in Vientiane
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mixok Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mixok Guesthouse

Property: Mixok Guesthouse
Address: 126 12 Setthathirath Road | City Centre, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mixok Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Mixok Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mixok Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing