We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mixok Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mixok Guesthouse
Ranked #33 of 196 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

in all the time i have spent in SE Asia this is one of the best GH i have stayed at.
Price was the main reason we chose here as it is very reasonable. But everything about the place exceeds most GH. The room was newly revamped, very clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in.
The staff were amazing, friendly and offered great advice which saved us alot of money.
They never tried to push their tours but told us how to do it all locally at a fraction of the price.
Its in a good location and has a internet cafe.
All in all.....two thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrShaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    46
    37
    14
    11
See reviews for
2
54
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

There is not much wrong with this guesthouse: we got our room already early in the morning, the room was run-down but functional, WiFi worked fine. We had a good night's sleep there and the hotel is very centrally located so you can explore Vientiane by foot. Breakfast is not a big hit and is served at Mixok Inn just next door.

If you look for an OK place to stay for a night or two (why would you stay longer in Vientiane anyhow?) - take it. You won't find a much better deal if you want to book ahead.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkaempfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The place looks clean enough, and it's a cheaper option than the other Mixok up the road. OK mattress, Ok room. The place is very badly insulated. You hear EVERYTHING that is going on in the corridors. Slaming doors, staff talking, bedroom neighbours. We took one of the rooms at the back to avoid street noise. Still, a dog was barking at anything late at night. The staff was partying in reception until late. Reception staff was quite unfriendly. Only happy when they received money. They sold us a bus ticket that was more expensive than the others. They lied on the trip duration (6 and a half hours to go to Luang Prabang from Vientiane by bus is just impossible).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

The room we got was big, with desk, wardrobe, cable TV and aircon. It had two big windows which meant it was really nice and light. The bathroom was fine, hot shower. We had a shared balcony right next to our room. It is located in the centre of everything which was good, but did mean it was a bit noisy. The particular corner it is one is a ladyboy hang out, but that didn't really bother us, it was quite amusing observing them.
The beds are very comfortable and the wifi is good,
The room was a good price, especially considering you get breakfast which for us tends to be the most expensive meal of the day. Breakfast was nice; tea or coffee, fruit, egg and baguette.
I would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

MIXOK INN is new building of MIXOK, near by the MIXOK guest house. Location is the centrial area. Room is very clean and functioning. WIFI is strong signal in my room. Breakfast is ok. So I recommend for budget traveling.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sakpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Mixok guesthouse is the best location and staff is good service for asking information . they have two Mixok as Mixok guesthouse and Mixok INN near by,,, i have to come back in Vientiane again . you can walk around Vientiane in the morning and in the evening go can go to drink at bar
in the room they have T.V , bath room inside with hot shower and WIFI working in the room also but have to improve more for cleaning in bath room or in room also i put on the label that mean please clean the room but no one do it after i got back from outside my room still not clean the label have English and their language but why do the house's keep don't read it...!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeniferlopuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

This business actually has two buildings: the Mixok Guesthouse, and the Mixok Inn. I stayed at the Mixok Guesthouse and had what I can only describe as my best sleep in Asia so far. I attribute this as due to the fact that the Mixok actually has SOFT BEDS. This is in contrast to most other guesthouses in asia, which have beds and pillows that might as well be made out of concrete.

The Mixok is also centrally located and only a block or so from the Mekong, which has a night bazar set up every evening. There is a cheap internet cafe attached to this guest house, and a breakfast is included in the rate.

Vientiane it's self was also a great, relaxed city and is a highlight of my trip thus far.

My only complaint with the Mixok was the cleanlines. I'm pretty sure the linens were clean, but the bathroom was heinously filthy. While I have stayed in less clean places, the Mixok should not be one of them since it is not priced at the filthy ghetto price point.

I would still stay here again, however.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodNewsBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#53 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mixay Guesthouse
Mixay Guesthouse
#79 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mixay Paradise
Mixay Paradise
#14 of 196 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#5 of 196 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Backpackers Hostel
Vientiane Backpackers Hostel
#21 of 95 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mixok Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mixok Guesthouse

Property: Mixok Guesthouse
Address: 126 12 Setthathirath Road | City Centre, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mixok Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mixok Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mixok Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing