We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but clean hotel in a central location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mixok Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mixok Guesthouse
Ranked #33 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Augsburg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simple but clean hotel in a central location”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Easy to reach all sights and bars in the Centre on foot. Very quiet despite central location.
Room not very cozy. Bathroom simple (typical Southeast-Asia-style) and relatively clean.
Towels and bedlinen slightly dirty - Need of improvement!
Staff not particularly friendly - a bit too expensive, but the price is for Vientiane probably ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAugsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    46
    37
    14
    11
See reviews for
2
54
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Herstmonceux, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Mixok Inn is in a great situation close to the city centre and the Mekong. Good size, clean, comfortable rooms with great A/C. Friendly staff who will book your journey back to Bangkok. Fab local restaurant "Lao Kitchen"

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Our room was large, clean and well furnished, with a big bathroom.
Wifi worked well in the room, the mattress was very comfortable and the tv had plenty of english channels.
Good value for the price - we paid 130,000 for our air-con room, including a decent breakfast (which would have cost 30,000 for 2 if bought separately).
Breakfast is taken at the Mixok Inn a few doors along the road. This sister property also looked nice, but rooms here cost a fair bit more than at the guest house.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main road may be noisy, the road is busy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz_in_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I was actually staying at ratty hotel on the same road. However, three hours before my flight out I decided to withdraw some money so I could pay for a tuktuk. The ATM swallowed my card and I had no idea what to do. I couldn't even read what the bank was called because it was all in Lao script. To make things better it was pouring with rain. I tried to get help at the Western Union but no one spoke English, and my charades of "card swallowed" made her think I was hungry and she recommended restaurants. Witnessing this dramatic ordeal, one of the men from Mixok Guesthouse came out and offered to help me. He used his personal phone to call the bank and arrange them to retrieve the card (after the national 3 hour nap) and supervised it. He was incredibly kind and went out of his way to help a soaking stressed tourist and next time I am in Vientiane I will definitely stay at this guesthouse.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes_Kyllenios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
873 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We only came for the bicycles:
The receptionist was very competent and friendly.
He even set up a contract for the bicycle rent.
The city bikes were old but served us well. Had to return them by 6 p.m.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

- Room was large, bed was comfortable - bathroom was hideous. It was a wet room style bathroom, common in SE Asia but the drain was blocked and the sink was leaking so the floor was soaking and dirty during all of the stay. The day reception staff (a rather unfriendly man) really was not bothered and was almost annoyed when we asked the room to be cleaned after out first night.

- Breakfast adequate - eggs or rice soup plus tea/coffee and fruit - but only 15,000 kip so possibly better to have a room without breakfast

- Do not book transport at the desk - prices are much higher compared to travel agents around for exactly the same service

- Poor Wifi

- Room overpriced, if this room was $10 I would expect all of the above but at $20 I expect a bit more - stay elsewhere if possible.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 301 - AWFUL bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjane2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

we had a twin room, the beds were large and we had a communal balcony, the room was large and the room was the same, the shower was hot just not that powerful, sort of trickled out a bit! the tv was good had english movie channels was great when it was a storm outside, never got bored! the air con was good and the breakfast was great, you have to walk down the street to the sister hotel and you get to choose from a selection of breakfast menus which was good things like pancakes, omletes, fruit and baguettes! Overall had a great time and would recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckii25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#55 of 94 in Vientiane
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#35 of 94 in Vientiane
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mixay Paradise
Mixay Paradise
#13 of 197 in Vientiane
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#5 of 197 in Vientiane
459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mixok Inn
Mixok Inn
#17 of 98 in Vientiane
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Backpackers Hostel
Vientiane Backpackers Hostel
#25 of 98 in Vientiane
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mixok Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mixok Guesthouse

Property: Mixok Guesthouse
Address: 126 12 Setthathirath Road | City Centre, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mixok Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mixok Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mixok Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing