We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
129
65
30
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
65
30
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor swimming pool beautiful hotel small gym nice view of the city noisy hotel welcome respite free weights black stupa rooftop restaurant speak fluent english egg station buffet style breakfast spread i highly recommend this hotel fresh towels noodle soup
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

I booked using Booking.com and this was the only hotel on our entire trip that had a policy of no cancellation. It was also by far the worst and truly substandard. It is not as in the photographs and is worn, tired, shoddy, smelly and just awful.

When we arrived we were shocked at how bad it seemed. The lobby stank of urine from the dirty toilets and the toilets themselves were full of buckets, odds and ends and were a stinky mess.
They wanted us to pay up front and thankfully I declined and said I wanted to see the rooms first - more because we'd been traveling for a while and this was the first hotel that had asked for this so it was a bit strange.
We were so disappointed by everything in the rooms. It is not well-maintained at all (don't let the photos fool you - there is nothing boutique about this place) and as we were being charged US$549 for four rooms we were appalled.
I went down to reception and asked why the price was so out of line with the quality and she immediately offered me the rooms for US$250 and blamed Booking.com for putting the wrong price on.

My impression was that there is something dodgy going on. The place is being run into the ground and I would NEVER stay here again or recommend it. We should have left but I think they would have charged us the initial amount and we were all tired and it was for one night. I wish we had left though as it made our stay in Vientiene memorable for the wrong reasons.

The breakfast is abysmal. None of us could eat any of it and this place is a total con.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MiAuCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info X, The Management at Xaysomboun Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay in Vientiane and thank you for taking a time to write a review on TripAdvisor page.

After reading your review we are so sorry to hear that you faced some difficulties and inconvenience issues during your stay with us. We had managed a meeting with all head of departments and discussed about your review. Some managers and staff members shared about their experiences discussion with your group upon arrival.

On behalf of the management, I would like to explain you concern with your comments and complaints, when your group check in (upon arrival) our receptionist requested you to settle your room bill (in fact, that is one of our hotel rules and we have to follow it for all our guests / not only for your group). We hope you had already noted as well when you reserved. And after you inspected to room, you would like to cancel and we accepted your cancellation. And also one of our managers explained you about your room categories and we did free upgrading for two rooms (we upgraded to highest category rooms).

And when you check out you do not want to pay for transportation fees (drop off), that's why we did complimentary arrangement. From our side, we tried the best services for you to get your satisfaction. But you posted this review on TripAdvisor page and when we saw it, we surprised.

Anyway, we need to apologize you for your inconvenience issues. All of us (always keeping in our minds that the customers are always right. And we always put ourselves in the customer's shoes).

Guest's reviews are very important for us and also it helps us for the improvements of service standard. We always take a record from each review (good or bad) for our service standard improvements. But we need to respond the reviews with explanation which is using polite words for sentence construction as per standard. We really need to explain with the reasons and we hope you will give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Once again, thanks for your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. We apologize you again for your inconvenience issues during your stay with us.

Wishing you all the best and success.

Thanks & Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

The room are very clean, with big and good bed. All is fonctionnal (wifi, outlet, lithing, wifi, clim). The decoration is mordern and clean. We book deluxe room and executive suite. The two room are very good. You've got a bathtub in the executive room (with spa fonction). The shower are very large, very good, with a lot of water and hot water. The staff is helpfull. I decided to stay in hotel because it is the better I know for a very reasonnable price (I tried more than 5 hotels before in Vientiane).

Room Tip: The room near he road can be noisy sometime
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Guillaume L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info X, The Management at Xaysomboun Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Special thanks for taking a time to write a review on TripAdvisor. And thanks indeed for choosing our hotel for your stay in Vientiane. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Once again, thanks so much indeed for your stay with us and hope to see you again in not far future.

Wish you all the best and success.

Thanks & Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

If you want a cheap hotel where cleanliness is not an issue stay here. We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel in July but we found it very poor. The rooms were not clean, breakfast was not great at all and the hotel has definitely seen better days. The pool frequently had no towels and even when we asked for them we couldn't get any. We had a room with our son which they had put another bed into but had only given us 1 towel for the night. When we asked to have more towels the guy at reception told us that they only had 2 left and reluctantly gave them to us. I would not recommend this hotel and think you can get more for your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road as it is noisy
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kadisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info X, The Management at Xaysomboun Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and thanks for your review on TripAdvisor.

We apologize you for your inconveniences during your stay with us. After reading your review, we had discussed and shared about your review at HODs (Head of Departments) meeting and well recorded. The management team had already reminded to concern head of departments and well noted.

Guest's reviews are so important for us and help us for the improvements. Thanks again for your review and it helps us for the improvements of service standard.

We hope you will give us to serve you again in your next visit and warm welcome you back. We will try to do the best services for you in your next visit.

On behalf of the management, let me take an opportunity to introduce about our new hotel (link hotel), Azalea Parkview Hotel which will be running the operational very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us for more information about our new hotel. We wish you to enjoy your stay in there in your next visit.

Wish you all the best.

Thanks & Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We came here after spending a nightmare night in a different hotel. We were a little scarred and the lady behind the front desk kindly let us see the rooms before we agreed to stay. They even upgraded us! The room was clean and well lit. Bed was giant and comfy! Shower was clean and there were plenty of free toiletries, water, and tea/coffee in the room. We enjoyed breakfast immensely- omelets and pho made to order as well as a huge array of fruit, hot breakfast foods, juice, toast, and tea/coffee. We enjoyed the little gym and the pool was beautiful. They lent us umbrellas for the days that it was raining and called us taxis for our excursions further afield. They seemed genuinely happy to have us stay and we would go back there if we ever return to Laos.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info X, The Management at Xaysomboun Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Special thanks for your stay with us and thanks heartily for your review on TripAdvisor. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Once again, thanks indeed for your review.

On behalf of the management let me take an opportunity to introduce about our new hotel (link hotel) - Azalea Parkview Hotel , which will be running the operational very soon. Please feel free to contact us for more information about our new hotel.

Warm welcome back to us and we will try to do the best services in your next visit as like your second home.

Hope to see you again and wish you all the best.

Thanks & Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

I chose the location for its proximity to the main sights(though the most important one -the Lao National museum has now moved well out of the centre) and to the restaurants and large night market.
The room itself was very pleasant with a good shower and bathroom; though the latter could do with more shelf space for toiletries.
The reception staff were very pleasant and willing to help but not all could understand my straightforward enquiries.Julia on reception was particularly helpful setting me up with a driver at a good rate for the journey out to the Budha parkand negotiating a good Tuk Tuk rate for my excursion to the (annoyingly still not open) Lao national museum.
A couple of small things relating to the pool area stopped me giving a top rating.The rooftop pool is clean and pleasant but on one day there were no fresh towels there,(and yesterday's still in evidence), and one of the step treads into the pool was split.
I would recommend the hotel but if you are heading to this city 2 or 3 nights are enough; I had 4 and ran out of things to do and see towards the end.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info X, The Management at Xaysomboun Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you indeed for your stay with us and thanks for your review on TripAdvisor. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We have to apologize you for your inconveniences during your stay with us. We discussed and shared about your review at Head of Departments meeting and well recorded. The management team had already reminded to concern department heads and well noted.

Once again, thanks indeed for your review. It helps us for the improvements of service standard.

On behalf of the management, we would like to introduce about our link hotel (new hotel) - Azalea Parkview Hotel which will be running the operational soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us to get more information of our new hotel. We hope you will enjoy your stay in there in your next visit to Vientiane.

Wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Thanks & Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews