We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good program.”

Houey Hong Vocational Training Centre for Women
Ranked #14 of 75 things to do in Vientiane
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Houey Hong Vocational Training Centre trains Lao women in weaving, natural dyes, sewing, tailoring and business administration. Beautiful handwoven silk items are made on the premises, along with other products in a range of Lao textiles. Visitors can see the weaving and natural dyes, as part of the every day working environment at the centre. There is a retail shop, where handmade items of excellent quality can be purchased at reasonable prices. For those interested in textiles, or looking for a fun hands-on experience, there is a range of workshops ranging from a half day, full day, to several days. You can learn about natural dyes, and different weaving techniques.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Michigan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good program.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

As rehabilitation counselor in the US I enjoyed the visit and offer to tutor English classes on my next visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had attended half day tie-dying and weaving class. I enjoyed very much. The products they sell at the small store are original products and very reasonably priced. There was street paving going on the front and the driver had to go back raod, which was really rough, but oh well, it's a bit rural area and can not be avoided. It should be done by now. I highly recommend this acitivy to all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank motohachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellevoetsluis
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Very nice place to visit, in a rural setting. Many women are weaving here, they will give you a tour and you can take weaving or dying classes. The shop sells beautiful products for reasonable prices, well worth a visit,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grietje1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A couple of hours creative work!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I went to do the scarf dyeing class and called the day before to arrange it. They will pick you up from true colors - a small store in town and drive you to the center. The day I went I was the only person taking the class so it was good to have one on one instruction. Although it's not difficult to do. It's very interesting to see the people at work here, you get to design your scarf and then help dye it. You can also learn to weave here as well. I enjoyed it and came home with two scarves that I was quite pleased with! All I would say about the weaving is if you were on your own it may not be as enjoyable as you will be in a room where the other ladies are weaving, but it's pretty quiet. If you go with a friend or on a group it may be more fun.
I was shown around the center and it was informative and educational. For the trip I paid 230,000 kip and that included transport.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun Activity for a Rainy Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I spent a full day weaving and tie dying at the Centre. The women were extremely friendly, though most of the day I was left alone in a weaving room. If the ladies were in the room, they often talked amongst themselves. To be fair though, there was only so much to say. It was a good opportunity to chat with local women, which can be difficult to do outside of the hospitality setting. During lunch the woman who ran the Centre came and had lunch with me and she was incredible! Offered all sorts of local fruits and spoke very good English. Overall a nice activity and one of my favorite days in Vientiane, though probably best for a half-day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Britney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Houey Hong Vocational Training Centre for Women also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Houey Hong Vocational Training Centre for Women? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing