We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible place, rats everywhere” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Youth Inn 2

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Youth Inn 2
Pakse, Laos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible place, rats everywhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

After a long morning strolling the street of Vientiane we eventually found this reasonably priced guest house.
It did seemed OK and clean and very well on the budget, so we stayed there one night planning for two.
On the second day we returned to our room and found that our chocolate has been beaten by something, so we got scared and looked around the room and there it was, big grey and disgusting- a rat. Behind my bag. Touching it.

The room was on the FOURTH floor and the rat must have got in from the hole in the bathroom ceiling.
We immediately called the staff to do something about this, and all they did was to shoo the thing back to it's hole and then returned to the reception. After we explained that we cannot sleep in that room they offered us a different one. Obviously we couldn't spend the night at the hotel we decided not to stay there and just find another place to stay ( it was already very late and everywhere was full so we had to spend the night outside in the bench waiting for the 4:00 am bus).
Anyway, they did return the money for the room (but not for the expensive chocolate we lost!!)
but our night and the day after was completely ruined. Definitely NOT worth it.
Also while talking to them at reception there was another rat crawling behind them and they didn't care.
Add money and don't stay in that horrible place with bad attitude.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    14
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

The rooms themselves are pretty bare with the only furniture a bedside table and lamp, but for budget accommodation in Vientiane it was well worth it. The room had a great view over a temple and a shared balcony just outside it.

The first night we had arrived late in the afternoon and while the room was hot the fan was able to allow sleep (though a better fan wouldn't go astray). With a fan, ensuite bathroom with (very decent) hot water shower the room was 60,000kip for a double. The bed was also very comfortable with immaculately clean sheets.

The Second day we realized how hot it really got this time of year and the budget had to be pushed to allow air con, there was no avoiding it, even with windows open and fan on high it was too hot to stand being in the room during the day. 80,000kip gained us the same room with air-con which worked amazingly cooling the room remarkably fast. Opt for this if here during mid monsoon, it gets hot. really hot.

All up a great stay and would definitely stay there again if I return.

Room Tip: Room 302 is the way forward. Check rooms to try and get one with big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_perman1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We spent the morning checking out most of the guesthouses in Vientiane. Of those that had rooms available Youth Inn 2 was by far the best. It was the cheapest (60,000 kip for a twin ensuite) and the nicest of the budget guesthouses.

Our room was basic, but clean and spacious with a fan. Towels were also provided. Not to be confused with Youth Inn 1 where the rooms feel a bit like prison cells!

The staff weren't particularly helpful but were friendly enough. For travel services we went to the Mixay.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hippy_flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in October. We had a room which overlooked a shared balcony on the second floor - it was too hot, dirty and full of mosquitos! You don't get any towels and the room is very basic and small. We couldn't open the window as people were smoking on the balcony. It seems there aren't many places to stay in Vientianne so if you do need to stay here, one night is enough!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Bangkok,Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

I usually stay Youth inn 2,when I visit to Vientiane.Fan room with hot shower,WC,but a little bit dark.Recently they offer free Wifi(But very very slow).Though staff are not very nice,room is not so bad,and good price (60000 kip = 240 Baht) For other guest house nearby,more expencive or more dirty for cheap dorm or small room. It seems in the high season they charge more for room,but still better choice as Vientiane prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jiaming n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

I'm going to be brief. It is one of the cheapest places to stay and clean but the staff treat you as an inconvenience.

You are annoying them by asking any questions and ignore you if you say hello.

Problem is that it's cheap (60,000 Kip for double) so would probably stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeprechaunLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

s/d 60k Kip in Aug

room: seemed clean, attached bathroom / hot shower / western toilet, blankets, towel (but it seems you need to ask for it when arriving), soap, toilet paper, fan, mosquito net on windows, ?optional A/C, free wifi (captive portal with individual login/pass, no key, seems filtered - no ssh, torrent app crashing/blocked & very slow & uptime limit 12h ... - others outside wifi networks could be accessible and better), power outlet (1 + 2 in bathroom), power on key (no electricity when out ... can't recharge battery during day), trashbin, window on wall (but common at this price), bus/visa service, laundry 10k/kg, checkout 12h
last, it seems the water circuit is cut during the night (early morning, I had to ask reception to get a shower; probably because of some water leakage)

probably better to move to 70-80k/night range

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jul002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vientiane Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vientiane Hotel
#18 of 97 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#24 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 97 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mixay Guesthouse
Mixay Guesthouse
#79 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Inn 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Inn 2

Property: Youth Inn 2
Address: Francois Ngin Road, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Vientiane
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing