We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for budget travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Youth Inn 2

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Youth Inn 2
George Town
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good hotel for budget travellers”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Youth Inn 2 is one of the cheapest places in Kathmandu.

A lot of the reviews I read about this place don't seem fair to me. We saw quite a lot of rooms and most were good enough. We're talking about 50-60,000 KIP/night for a double in Vientiane. This is about as cheap as it gets in this city and it wouldn't be fair to compare the value with what you would get in Vang Vieng for instance.

We stayed here two times, our rooms were spacious and clean enough. Changing rooms or asking for cleaning was not a problem.

They stored our bicycles and luggage for a week free of charge and the guys managing the place were nice.

+ bicycles for 10,000 KIP/day
+ fast laundry for 10,000 KIP/day
- there is no internet in the rooms, but we used our phones with Unitel

-----------

If you want to save money and you don't want to stay in a dorm. Youth Inn 2 is the place to go. We'd go back there any time.

Room Tip: Upper floors are more quiet and cooler. Rooms without windows facing the street or stairs are more q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    14
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok,Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I was back to Youth inn 2 in the middle of October,2013.The price is a little bit cheaper than before,50000 Kip = 200 Baht for fan room with hot shower and bathroom when I stayed in this time. Also they stopped wifi service and restaurant.
And all staff were changed and I have seen just a few staff only. When I checked to see 2 rooms,I saw many rubbish in the garbage box in both 2 rooms and bathrooms .After checked in I told about it to them and I moved one of the garbage box to hallway. I stayed for 2 nights,but 2 of garbage box were never cleaned up.
Also I saw many someone's hairs in the bathroom too.

Well I am lazy so I did not tell about it to them any more for 2 nights. I can say they have to clean up room, bathroom and the garbage box of course!! It seems very run-down than before.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiaming n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful, reasonable location, close to river and tourist bars. No Internet! Extra for A/C! The staff I encountered were very helpful and smiley. There's a large common area but its not really used, shame!
There are dorm rooms, doubles and singles, with or without private bathrooms, good enough range to suit most.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemhorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

This was the.cheapest place we could find in Vietienne and for the price we paid compared to the other places we viewed, it was really good value. A double with fan was 60,000k. Room was large, bed uncomfortable,shower hot. No wifi.
The chap on the desk couldn't have been more disinterested and unhelpful.
Good for saving money but don't think I'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakse, Laos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

After a long morning strolling the street of Vientiane we eventually found this reasonably priced guest house.
It did seemed OK and clean and very well on the budget, so we stayed there one night planning for two.
On the second day we returned to our room and found that our chocolate has been beaten by something, so we got scared and looked around the room and there it was, big grey and disgusting- a rat. Behind my bag. Touching it.

The room was on the FOURTH floor and the rat must have got in from the hole in the bathroom ceiling.
We immediately called the staff to do something about this, and all they did was to shoo the thing back to it's hole and then returned to the reception. After we explained that we cannot sleep in that room they offered us a different one. Obviously we couldn't spend the night at the hotel we decided not to stay there and just find another place to stay ( it was already very late and everywhere was full so we had to spend the night outside in the bench waiting for the 4:00 am bus).
Anyway, they did return the money for the room (but not for the expensive chocolate we lost!!)
but our night and the day after was completely ruined. Definitely NOT worth it.
Also while talking to them at reception there was another rat crawling behind them and they didn't care.
Add money and don't stay in that horrible place with bad attitude.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The rooms themselves are pretty bare with the only furniture a bedside table and lamp, but for budget accommodation in Vientiane it was well worth it. The room had a great view over a temple and a shared balcony just outside it.

The first night we had arrived late in the afternoon and while the room was hot the fan was able to allow sleep (though a better fan wouldn't go astray). With a fan, ensuite bathroom with (very decent) hot water shower the room was 60,000kip for a double. The bed was also very comfortable with immaculately clean sheets.

The Second day we realized how hot it really got this time of year and the budget had to be pushed to allow air con, there was no avoiding it, even with windows open and fan on high it was too hot to stand being in the room during the day. 80,000kip gained us the same room with air-con which worked amazingly cooling the room remarkably fast. Opt for this if here during mid monsoon, it gets hot. really hot.

All up a great stay and would definitely stay there again if I return.

Room Tip: Room 302 is the way forward. Check rooms to try and get one with big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_perman1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We spent the morning checking out most of the guesthouses in Vientiane. Of those that had rooms available Youth Inn 2 was by far the best. It was the cheapest (60,000 kip for a twin ensuite) and the nicest of the budget guesthouses.

Our room was basic, but clean and spacious with a fan. Towels were also provided. Not to be confused with Youth Inn 1 where the rooms feel a bit like prison cells!

The staff weren't particularly helpful but were friendly enough. For travel services we went to the Mixay.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hippy_flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vientiane Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vientiane Hotel
#19 of 94 in Vientiane
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#6 of 94 in Vientiane
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#23 of 94 in Vientiane
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lao Silk Hotel
Lao Silk Hotel
#44 of 94 in Vientiane
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
V Hotel
V Hotel
#77 of 197 in Vientiane
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Chanthasom Guesthouse
#47 of 197 in Vientiane
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Inn 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Inn 2

Property: Youth Inn 2
Address: Francois Ngin Road, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Vientiane
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing