We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Lao
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keomixay Hotel(Vientiane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mekong Hotel(Vientiane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mongkol Hotel(Vientiane)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cosmo Hotel(Vientiane)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
6
17
17
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
17
17
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslao cookingchairs and tablesshared bathroomamerican breakfaststandard roompleasant staytuk tukhammockskip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This place is really beautifull, and people are super friendly. There is a large garden with tables and cute little bungalow to chill. Also few hammacks, with a swimming pool it would be perfect. Note that the standard room have a shared bathroom, but only for 2 or 3 rooms per bathroom. The superior room is really nice and comfy, with private bathroom and AC (can be really hot). Only fownside is the location... Around 20 min walk from the center and main activities. We rent bikes quite cheap, so it wasnt such a problem...
Also were a little hard, and no breakfast included
But I still recommand

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julinhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three days and absolutely loved it. The grounds were beautiful and our room was spacious and clean, and a killer value. Best of all was the staff - the woman who runs the place helped us rent bikes, recommended restaurants, organized a cooking class for us, and booked our room in Vang Vieng. The walk to town center is about 10 minutes, and is easily reached by bike. This was by far our favorite place in Laos.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NanPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

160000Kip/dbl room without breakfast. Wifi incl.
The beautiful boutique hotel was a very pleasant stay with charming rooms, clean sheets and, well, partly well trained staff. We had breakfast a few times there and it was decent and well-priced. It is located a little outside the main tourism area and we recommend bikes for the time there (15000/day if booked with the hotel). On our first stay everything went very well, staff was very helpful and competent to the point where we wondered if we had been brought to a five star hotel. We decided to make a reservation for our return to Vientiane which they simply forgot, putting us at first in a more expensive room. We refused and then suddenly there was a cheaper room free. When travelling through Laos you get used to a lot but forgetting a reservation still shocked me. Otherwise really a very recommendable stay and a bargain.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawsteen1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We only spent one night at the Villa Lao as we were passing through Vientiane. However, it would be a great place to spend longer. The rooms are beautifully designed in a traditional Lao style and border a quiet garden. the staff are friendly and helpful. the only drawback is that it is a bit out of town.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclingtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

After reviewing many different hotels and guest houses before visiting Vientiane, I took a chance on Villa Lao (that had no reviews) just from the pictures on their website. And was not disappointed. It is a beautiful guest house, quiet with a small but well kept garden. The guesthouse provides lots of places to sit and enjoy oneself out of the room. Although I did not have breakfast (an additional charge) it looked very good and was enjoyed by many other guests. It is situated a short distance from the main centre of town, easy walking distance to all the sights around Vientiane yet offers a quiet, relaxing and very clean guest house. The staff are helpful and speak good english.

Room Tip: You may want to book in advance to get one of the better rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrienna10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews