We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”
Review of Riverside Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #94 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We don't recommend this hotel! Although rooms are quite clean, that might be the only positive thing about this hotel. The mattress was terrible, like lying directly on the spirals. Breakfast consists only of two slices of toast and two eggs. There was construction going on on one of the upper floors, and although we were told the wouldn't start before nine a.m., we were drilled out of our beds at 6.30a.m. Overall service was very poor and the staff was very uninterested.
Worst of all: on the second day of our stay money was stolen from a bag in our room. When we went to the reception to address the matter we we're simply told that we should not have left anything in our room, because they don't trust their own staff (!) No empathy was shown what so ever. In short: we advise to stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimenRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
10
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Normally we would stay at the Villa Manoly but we needed a night stopover before a flight to Pakse so preferred to be in town. The location was ideal and just a few minutes away from local eateries and night market. The room was clean and had a fridge and TV. We were glad we had a room on the opposite side to the building works next door. The breakfast consisted of eggs and bread only. We managed to get a tuk tuk to the airport from just outside the hotel first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel room is big, but basic. WIFI is only available at hotel lobby and not the room. Washroom is clean. Breakfast provided but only eggs and bread. With the price offered, more and better hotel are available around riverside.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Nice hotel, clean very friendly staff and free wifi. Restaurant had a great view overlooking the river and the food was reasonably priced and very good. The road outside in a bit of a mess but apart from that a good deal. I would certainly go back when they have finished the road

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor furthest away from restaurant, no wifi, but quiet. hit the wrong button , no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Nicely located one meters away from the Mekong and the nightly market on its shores, this hotel is quite decent. Nothing special or luxuries, but clean, roomy with friendly staff, good wifi and hot showers.

It's not in the center of town, but there is nothing going on anyways. Prices for a single room were dirt cheap. If you need or want air con, u need to pay extra.

Would definitively recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This hotel was fine. We had a double room on the first floor with private bathroom. It was small, but clean enough. The lobby always seems deserted, but when they were there staff were nice, though only one guy spoke English. The location of the hotel is good, a few steps from the riverfront. There is nothing really special about it other than that.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

On my second trip to Vientiane, I stayed at the Riverside Hotel per my friend's request (I'm writing the review from the lobby right now). The Riverside is a very clean, very well-kept hotel just off the riverside - so while it's roughly riverside, it's not actually riverside.

The staff are friendly and generally helpful, especially Tui, who will probably deal with you if you book via email. Of course there's no web site that anyone can find, so how you'd find out is a mystery (email the hotel at riversidehotellaos@gmail.com for reservations). They very helpfully accept credit card and are quite honest. My friend who recommended it has spent literally months here over the years and has never had a single issue.

The rooms are spic and span, with a fairly comfortable bed and pillows, especially by SE Asian standards. The shower has good water pressure and the air conditioner and fan keep the room very cool. Oh, and there's an elevator.

You get all this for about $20 a night.

That's pretty much all there is to say about the Riverside. There is no wifi in the room, so you won't be getting any work done online. There's no character to speak of. There's a breakfast, but I think it's a buffet - I never had it. No restaurant, no atmosphere downstairs, no interesting patio (no patio at all, in fact) and so on. It's the definition of adequate, no more and no less.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction, which has caused sleepless nights for some people. I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunMyCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#14 of 197 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Keokouman Rd | Ban Mixai, Chanthaburi District,, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Number of rooms: 71

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing