We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and cheap”
Review of iHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iHouse
Ranked #89 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Convenient and cheap”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The place is near the area where most tourist attractions are located. I love the fact that it is near the Mekong river.

Book in advance. The bed is queen-size hence big enough for an Asian like me.

Staff speaks good English and accommodating. Cheap and clean. With free wifi even inside the room.

Bus to Vang Vieng can be arranged here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaysantos_dot_ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    26
    54
    24
    20
See reviews for
3
44
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lampang, Thailand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Clean and convenient with good hot water in the shower.

I booked this through booking.com and had a problem with my card but I arrived early and paid in cash. That the hotel then wanted to report me as a no show did not impress. Given that there is not supposed to be a charge in advance, the card is a guarantee.

The service was mediocre.

The room was on the fifth floor, stairs only but I knew that and was not perturbed, I only had a small bag though. The room had a small window to the outside so there was natural light. The air-con worked but it was noisy. Not as noisy as the building work on the floor that woke me, admittedly late, the next morning.

The room was small, but it was cheap and I was only sleeping in it so that was fine. The mattress was due for replacement, okay but time for a change. The room was clean, apart from a hair on the bed. I have a thing about human hair so more about me than the hotel.

They provide water, but no fridge.

Breakfast is European, bread and jam, not American or English if that is what you want for breakfast there are plenty of places around. Good coffee.

There are better in the area at the price. It wasn't bad but it wasn't good and I'll give it a miss next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Standard Room
Negatives:
The room was small and the bathroom compact. We had to ask for the layer of dust and dead insects to be removed from under the bed and even after this the floor there remained dirty The mattress was soft and broken on one side, so gave no support. Although included breakfast is very poor, only bread, jam, butter and coffee/tea. WIFI is very slow with poor connectivity. They only have 2 bicycles for rental, one of which is broken.

Possitives:
Free bottled water at all times, free tea/coffee at all times. Mostly helpful, cheerful staff who are always very willing to do their best. Bedrooms serviced on request. Good satelite chanels and flat screen TV.
Very well located within easy access of most places of interest and places to eat.

Room Tip: Be aware that only deluxe rooms have windows, all others are without one. Standard rooms are very sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanW751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This place is clean but sadly no lift and there are no rooms available on the ground floor so you are bound to climb those stairs. Breakfast is next to nothing: only a small bread and a bit of butter and jam. The rooms were very small with no windows. The staff were helpful though. I would personally go back there mainly for the cleanliness.

Room Tip: Negotiate a price before hand and make sure you have a written proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aboo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The staff are pleasant and help full, tried to be greedy on the nightly rate, so negotiate if you walk in off the street. The small room means small!!. Be aware there,s no lifts, so if your room is on the 3rd floor as ours was, you,be got 60 stairs to climb!! the hotel and our room was clean and tidy, breakfast is toast, tea or coffee, so son,t look for more! I,d stay again, mainly for location.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We booked online: the room had no resemblance to the online photos. We were put in a medium sized cupboard which was pitch black with no windows.

They refused to give us a refund. We eventually got a refund and left. The next day they had charged our credit card. We booked on booking.com... however they tried to mark us down as a no show on the website.

These people are devious and can not be trusted.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This place is ridiculous for the price you pay. The breakfast should be called a light snack not breakfast. They shouldn't say they have internet they have a connection that allows you to open your email from time to time within 15 minutes. They shouldn't even call their bathroom a bathroom its a glorified water closet. Finally when they claim on Agoda that there is a window what they really mean is that you have an uninterrupted view of the hallway.
I have had better breakfasts paying 100,000 kip a night you would think at 30 dollars they would be able to rustle up more than some stale baguette, moldy bananas and a single over cooked boiled egg. The first day we were also given cucumbers and the subsequent days we were given individually wrapped cucumbers (my guess is they were the cucumbers from previous days individually saran wrapped to give them some sort of air of freshness). When we asked why they were wrapped this way he replied ''this is the new breakfast'' with a huge smile on his face that if he wasn't Laotian I would have immediately interpreted as pride.
The geniuses are running all three of their routers on just one of these 3G dongles (3G USB keys). The entire hotel and all its guests are sharing a crappy 3G connection in the capitol, one of the few places in Laos with good and proper internet.
We booked the hotel because we had some flight tickets to purchase and I would have liked to skype the family I ended up having to do all this in the cafe around the corner.
It literally is a water closet with no consideration for even attaching a shower curtain where there already is a shower rod so that every time you take a shower the area around that side of the bed isn't inundated.
As for the other comments about mosquitoes. . . its Vientiane its always and everywhere chock full of mosquitoes. I would guess any room under 100 dollars a night is going to have mosquito problems.
I feel sorry for the guys who work there they are just employees most of the problems are the managements fault one of whom I met on my last day. A delusional young woman who I am sure decided to open up this little hotel with Daddies money who hasn't a clue what she is doing. This is the 6th time travelling in South-East Asia and this is one of the more expensive hotels I have ever stayed in and it rates among the worst.

Room Tip: Their special deluxe quiet rooms or whatever they are calling their most expensive rooms are actuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel_Edith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#32 of 93 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#56 of 93 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lao Silk Hotel
Lao Silk Hotel
#43 of 93 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mixay Paradise
Mixay Paradise
#12 of 197 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#5 of 197 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
V Hotel
V Hotel
#88 of 197 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iHouse

Property: iHouse
Address: 72/6 Pangkham Road | Water fountain/Mekong River, Vientiane City Center, Vientiane 7799, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — iHouse 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting some fresh new designs which are simple and comfortable, iHouse-New Hotel is located in the center of Vientiane near water Fountain and only minutes walk to the Mekong River. Guests can travel to Cafe, restaurants, massage, ATM or banks, souvenir shops, morning market, post office on foot. All the guest rooms are featured with superior amenities, good bed sheets, pillow and blanket, and definitely a very comfortable environment. iHouse-New Hotel awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your iHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing