We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”
Review of iHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iHouse
Ranked #88 of 201 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in deluxe balcony on third floor. Big, spacious, clean room and good TV. Good aircon. No mirror in room. Awful bed. Awful breakfast, no option and was provided with a cold fried egg and bread. Asked for orange juice, was just told no. The shower is literally over the toilet, bathroom space compared to room space is absurd. WiFi is terrible in morning and excellent at night.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Paid $22.50 a night for a double standard room. Booked it online after previously coming to Vientiane and struggling to find a room when I arrived late. I was aware that the room and bathroom would be tiny and that the rooms had no windows so there were no surprises in that department.
Pros are, good location, a minutes walk from the fountain.
Good daytime staff who speak good English. They were nice enough to phone our transfer service to Bangkok to reconfirm our pick up times.
Good WIFI connection on all floor.
Very quiet.
Good plasma tv with quite a fee English speaking channels.
2 bottles of compliemtary water given daily.

Cons we stayed in room 558 which was on top floor.
Worst soft mattress ever! Slept on the first night as I was so tired but didn't sleep at all on the second night.
Cutting corners as our bed sheets had patches of materials sewn on everywhere. The sheets also looked very old and worn away.
Grey flimsy towels. No hand towels given.
Lukewarm shower.
When I tried to complain to the night staff I gave up as he could not understand a word I said. He finally said is hotel fully booked.
Huge amounts of dust under the bed. Rest of the room very clean. I can imagine it would be very hard to clean under the bed as the headboard were ver heavy to move.

I stayed in hotels and guesthouses in Asia that cost between $8-20 a night and they were all better than this one. If I stayed longer and had to stay here again would certainly test the mattress beforehand and the shower before taking the room.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms only with balcony if more than 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiv2012123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on a weekend trip to Laos. The rooms are big enough for the bed and small desk. There is tv with a english channels. The bathroom includes the toilet and shower so if your're not cautious everything will get wet. I didn't have the breakfast or laundry service so I can't comment on that. The wifi reaches the top floors but sometimes it takes a while. There is no elevator so if you're up on the higher floors you'll be taking the stairs. Rooms are cleaned only if you put the sign on your doorknob otherwise they won't do up your room.
Also, my room had no exterior window but just a window facing the hallway. If you want a window looking outside it's probably best to specify that.
The location is what you're paying for. It's walking distance to a lot of sights and there are a lot of restaurants and nightlife around the area.
Overall it's an average type of room and good if you're visiting for a few nights.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a window facing outside it'll be best to ask for one otherwise you may j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheddarfuzz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I'm not sure as to why this place has so many bad reviews, our experience was lovely. We stayed in one of the nicer rooms with balcony, and thought the price was fair. Well equipped with TV etc, private bathroom and a nice bed. Really clean and nice looking room. I did get a look at one of the cheaper smaller rooms, which looked quite cramped, so I'd certainly recommend paying a bit extra for the spacious room with balcony. Would certainly stay again, in fact we tried to but they were fully booked.

Room Tip: Go for the larger rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jklaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

It's good location. Away from the noisy and easy to reach for the foundation as a mark point to go to riverside. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Always smile and give you a direction for what you are looking for. Just the room a bit small but very clean and nice decoration. If you want to get an hotel to stay this is one of recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aruneejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have to Say that this hotel is not bad, but it is overpiced and the wifi it a really bad, but the room are quite good and however vientiane it is amazing,laos too and I don't really care about hotel.
The staff is a bit strange but ok!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iwasnotforonecorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We made the booking via Booking.com for 1 night ( not much vacancies in Vientiane in July this year) But ended up staying 5 nights.
Have quite bad reviews , which is unfair. If you book a cheap room, well then don't expect 5 star accommodation. We paid a little extra and got a lovely room with balcony facing the quiet street.
wifi, satellite TV , the smallest bathroom I've ever seen - but it worked fine.
No meals served, but there are plenty of good restaurants nearby.
Good service in the reception with at least 1 person speaking reasonable english .
We found out on arrival, that we could have had the room cheaper if just had walked in. When we pointed that out, we got an extra bed for free....
The Xang Koo restaurant nearby is strongly recommended !

Room Tip: Balcony room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteenBoesHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vientiane
0.1 mi away
Mixay Guesthouse
Mixay Guesthouse
#78 of 93 in Vientiane
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#33 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Pathoum Phone Guesthouse
#103 of 155 in Luang Prabang
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#3 of 201 in Vientiane
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mixay Paradise
Mixay Paradise
#9 of 201 in Vientiane
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lucky Backpackers Hostel Vientiane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iHouse

Address: 72/6 Pangkham Road | Water fountain/Mekong River, Vientiane City Center, Vientiane 7799, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: £11 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — iHouse 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting some fresh new designs which are simple and comfortable, iHouse-New Hotel is located in the center of Vientiane near water Fountain and only minutes walk to the Mekong River. Guests can travel to Cafe, restaurants, massage, ATM or banks, souvenir shops, morning market, post office on foot. All the guest rooms are featured with superior amenities, good bed sheets, pillow and blanket, and definitely a very comfortable environment. iHouse-New Hotel awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your iHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing