We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“probably the safest room i have ever stayed in”
Review of Lane Xang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lane Xang Hotel
Ranked #66 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 23 April 2012

a great hotel by the mekong and night market which is ideal for a stay in vientiane. breakfats served from 7am to 10am but often nothing "on show" after 9 but they will cook more food if you make a fuss!! large rooms which are clean and tidy. any problems are dealt with asap. airport transfer to and from airport were included in my deal. excellent value. i would stay again. some staff speak english and they are very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ole12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

We spent three nights at the Lane Xang during our visit in Laos.
The hotel is located in a very convenient position, in an area full of restaurants and bar.
Facing the Mekong River,the hotel needs to be renewed.
Our room was quiet and was on the fourth floor overlooking the river. It was equipped with a quite new bathroom.The staff was rather friendly. The worst thing was the breakfast: low food quality, little choice, black coffee with lyophilized milk: undrinkable. Unfortunately the pool was not accessible because the good season had not started yet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DediMilanoMarittima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed at the Lane Xang for three nights Jan 2012. Had not read any blogs beforehand so no preconceived expectations and just came across it in the taxi on entering VTE. Asked to see the room first before deciding to stay. Seemed fine and so then spent several very pleasant days there.

Positive Points:
Staff: Pleasant and helpful and most speak some English.
Accommodation: Spacious, comfortable and quiet room (2nd floor) with TV, fridge, fresh fruit and water each day, aircon, sheets/towels changed daily. Beds a bit hard by European standards but fairly normal for Asia. Bathroom seemed newly renovated. Own balcony overlooking Mekong.
Position: Great location especially to watch sun setting over the Mekong. Also away from the hustle and bustle in the center of Vientiane although just a short walk up a side road leads to plenty of good restaurants nearby, also banks, travel agencies etc.
Value for Money: Think we paid about 45$ for two per night, including breakfast and free transport to the airport at the end of our visit and felt this was good value.

Negative Points:
Breakfasts: Fair but after all this was not a hotel solely devoted to catering for the tastes of western tourists but also had to cater for the tastes of Thais, Chinese, Koreans and so considering this, think it was reasonable.
Hotel Cleanliness: The lovely ladies who cleaned our bedroom and bathroom did it thoroughly but the landings and even in the bedrooms, areas, e.g. behind the curtains surrounding the windows were grubby. I feel the management should make a thorough inspection of the whole hotel, including every room and perhaps even just once a year,could ensure areas that looked grubby are either thoroughly cleaned or given a fresh coat of paint where needed, particularly to the balconies leading from the bedrooms. Also towels and sheets although clean each day, had seen better days. Just a small investment in time and money could make an enormous difference to visitors' perception of this hotel.
Pool and Surrounding Area: Both pool and surrounding area looked very uninviting. Such a pity as this whole area could become such an added attractive feature to the hotel. Maybe more effort is made here during the hot summer months.

Comment: However,yes, I would certainly stay there again if I were ever to make a return to this lovely country with it's wonderfully warm people. I found it's faded charm appealing and what a wonderful place it must have been in its heyday and who knows, maybe one day it will be returned to it's former glory - that's what it deserves.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the front -possibly third floor to get a better view of the Mekong but 2nd floor wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockholmjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

You still can feel the ambiance left by the USSR guests.
The renovated rooms are well equipped, spacious and confortable.
Location in the center of Vientiane at the Mekong riverside.
Abundant breakfast.
The staff tries hard to compensate the technical problems of the hotel
The swimming pool needs some renovation

Room Tip: Have a look first , ask the staff for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bbb05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We arrived In Vientiane and were greeted by someone from the hotel for the airport transfer. They dropped us at the door and the staff were very quick to check us in an show us to our room. Our room was huge with a small balcony over looking the river, a sitting room, 2 televisions and a bathroom. We had fresh fruit and bottled water on arrival. The bathroom looked new but it did have a shower curtain on the bath/shower so it got very wet. The bed was like sleeping on a wooden plank but we still got a good nights sleep. We didn't use the pool but the staff gave us a map of the town so we went walking around. They also helped us arrange tickets and transfers for a bus to Luang Prabang. Breakfast for us was rushed but it had lots of variety and was very fresh. Overall it was worth what I paid but I would probably look else where for a bit more luxury!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsSubtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

THE GOOD: huge rooms that are quite clean (Floor 2 for us), a good location and a nice pool (not an option in too many others that we researched).

THE NOT SO GOOD: breakfast really did not cater that much to Westerners, muddy black coffee with NO fresh milk, neon juice which is sugared water, bread and eggs. Otherwise, Asian breakfast. The breakfast staff were quite pleasant.

THE BAD: the hotel is really getting run down in some areas. The pool, as mentioned, was really nice but the lounge chairs and pads plus surrounding areas were really quite old/broken/scary looking. The check in staff were not that welcoming or helpful. No map, no tips, no suggestions of things to do. We had arranged airport pickup but no one showed - no apologies or refund of the price paid. Plus, some common areas...like staircase are not cleaned...overflowing ashtray/garbage for all 4 days we walked up and down...yuck.

We think the Owner/Manager really needs to invest some time and money. This hotel could be amazing if they fixed things up...otherwise, it is going to be empty soon.
Without the pool, we would not recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

This place should be shut down. It is run down, dilapidated and a bit gross. They have really grotty mats with the different days of the week that they put in the lifts. The breakfast was terrible-we had bread and dared not to eat anything else. The photos of the pool are on Trip Advisor must have been taken during the Secret War. A weird place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmcelduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#16 of 93 in Vientiane
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Champa Garden Hotel
Champa Garden Hotel
#54 of 93 in Vientiane
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanthapanya Hotel
Chanthapanya Hotel
#22 of 93 in Vientiane
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lane Xang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lane Xang Hotel

Address: Fa Ngoum Road | Chanthaburi District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range: £29 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lane Xang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lane Xang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lane Xang Vientiane
Hotel Lane Xang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing