We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly Average at best”
Review of Lane Xang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lane Xang Hotel
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A fair breakfast but not amazing. Air con turns on only once in the room and it makes the place like a sauna for the first 15 minutes as it builds up steam. Best beds in south east asia though. Really comfy. Shower is one of those annoying ones that alternates between scolding and freezing without any change by the user. It's really not great. Some of the toiletries are hard to get out the bottle. The staff are passively unhelpful, they simply don't speak or try to engage you. TV has some decent channels. Location is fine but not perfect as got some walk to reach bars and restaurants. Strange but good chairs in the rooms with swivel tables on them. The toilet paper was not adequately replaced. Lift was available but was broken down. There were very few guests when we showed up. Doorman doesn't seem to understand his job is to open the door for guests. Very green décor in the rooms. The place doesn't look good from the outside but is ok inside.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazy_Jim_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

Strange to go back, after 20 years, to this dinosaur from the Soviet times; the exterior has not changed at all, and neither has the lobby.
Many rooms have been renovated, elevators are new.
In the rooms, everything is very impersonal, and lighting is not good, if you like tio read in bed !
Electrical safety is not a priority in the bathroom, with loose cables under the washbasin, but water is plentiful and hot.
Breakfast is reasonable, though choice very limited, but at 20 EUR a night, in an excellent location, close to the main temples and the market, what more can you ask ?

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labienus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We had deluxe room instead of standard room. Room is big but old equipment, they have veranda but no door so we need to jump from window :-). Has bath tube, but no curtain, so when we have shower water flow to the floor, best way I need to sit down on bath tub and shower carefully but it would not help much.

Breakfast was poor and foods were cold, so we decided to take breakfast nearby lovely restaurant.
Very good location and all within walking distance and staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EurasieTravelAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The Lane Xang is located across the street froom the Chao Anouvong Park on the Mekong River. Great area for some outdoor activity, shopping (night market), eating and drinking. Lots going on along the river.

My room was labeled as Deluxe Double, but it was pretty basic. It's an old hotel, built in 1960 or 61, and it shows it's age, but not falling apart. One colleague had a fuse blow in her room at 2am and they couldn't fix it until the next day, but they upgraded her room to a junior suite. My room was large and clean. Didn't notice any issues anywhere in the hotel about it being dirty as other reviewers had mentioned. Towels and bedding were also clean. My only wish was that there would be a coffee maker in the room.

Buffet breakfast was about what I'd expect with a small Asian and Western selection.

Didn't have time to check out any of the other facilities.

My interactions with the staff were always good.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The Lane Xang must have been a fabulous hotel to stay at in the 70's or 80's. Now it is merely very good, and very, very charming in a faded sort of way. The rooms are huge, relatively clean and fairly comfortable, if spartan in decoration. The real highlights are sitting in the massive elaborately decorated reception area and watching the staff go about their business (which isn't very much). Breakfasts are interesting, but perfectly edible. If you are a "high maintenance" kind of person, I don't think you'll like it. If you have a bit of a sense of humour, you'll love it and not want to leave.
The picture above is a bit misleading as the swimming pool is now a building site, and there were no walls on the ends of the third floor, but these are minor points.

Room Tip: The junior suites are good value. They are doing up the hotel floor by floor, so in a year or so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I stayed there for 6 days in November 2012. The room was comfortable in terms of size, it had a tv and a fridge with bottled water replenished daily. The biggest drawback was that it was dirty, especially the bathroom, the toilet (a stained toilet seat) and the towels (really dirty towels). And the hotel had a very distinct stench that you'll remember for a long time.

The location is good, very central to the main eating / shopping area (walking distance).

The breakfast was pretty basic (some white bread, butter,jam, eggs and 1-2 local products/fruit). If you want fresh milk (and not condensed) do ask the staff, they could accommodate your request.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DionysisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

i was not expecting much from this hotel but thre is not a lot to choose from in Vientiane. the rooms very very cheap and ithink we were able to get suite room for $40 a night. it was huge but very old and musty. it was clean and everything worked. the staff were great. the pool was very poor to say the least but we only went for on quick swim when we arrived. breakfast was very basic but accomodating
the hotel booked all our trips to vang vieng and minded our room for us while we were gone.
i would recommend but just keep these points in mind

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#17 of 95 in Vientiane
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.5 mi away
Day Inn Hotel
Day Inn Hotel
#30 of 95 in Vientiane
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chanthapanya Hotel
Chanthapanya Hotel
#24 of 95 in Vientiane
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Champa Garden Hotel
Champa Garden Hotel
#45 of 95 in Vientiane
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 95 in Vientiane
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lane Xang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lane Xang Hotel

Address: Fa Ngoum Road | Chanthaburi District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range: £32 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lane Xang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lane Xang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lane Xang Vientiane
Hotel Lane Xang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing