We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Thawee Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thawee Guesthouse
Ranked #121 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

At first the room seemed fine. A bit small but not too bad. After failing to find something in our usual price range we agreed to take the room for 100,000 kip (they asked for 150 in the beginning). I went into the toilet to do my busines and managed to get rid of it only after about 10 flushes. After that when I wanted to take a shower I saw that the knob was not connected to the shower. It took me a lot of time to turn it on and off and my girlfriend had to call me to do it.
When we got in to bed we saw that the sheet was too short to cover the bed and our legs touched the mattress. Last but not least, We Slept in the 3rd floor and the WiFi didn't reach us.
So overall, wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Stayed Jan 2012

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank crazy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This is not a bad little hostel

The rooms are clean if rather small the staff are lovely and the position is great

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeunderthethumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

The Thawee is one of the better places we've stayed at for some tome, We had a lovely big room at the front of the building with a large balcony shared with the other front facing room on our floor. There was air con, a wall mounted fan, a fridge, very fast cable internet for about a dolla r a day . Plenty of satellite channels on TV and new looking furnishings with comfy bed and pillows - the place appears to be gradually being upgraded. The staff were fantastic and very helpful, selling water beer etc for the same prices as local shops. And free coffee every morning - as long as you like it strong. Nice and central but not too noisy location, we'll be back there without hesitation.

Full review at http://www.littlewhiteswan.com/Accom/az07/0705.html

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swanygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2007

This was the place I was taken to when I stayed in Vientiane.
The outside is nice and looks like a good place to stay.
But then you find the rooms are crap! Small cell like rooms that are dark and dank, my cell like room had a sunken bed and dirty curtains over the window.
And to add to the shame there was a shaired bathroom so you could stand in other peoples dirty water!
When I went out for a nice drink till the small hours I returned to find a grumpy young lad who had to open the guest house door for me, he then told me it was late so I reminded him I was on holiday!!!
Needless to say I caught some bed bug bites on my legs.

I would never stay here again in a million years.
I was a fool to stay for 4-5 nights, but I did it for my back packing mate.
Never again.

This was the number 1 crappy palce I have ever stayed at.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hwculshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.0 mi away
Chaleunehoung Hotel
Chaleunehoung Hotel
#102 of 197 in Vientiane
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thawee Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thawee Guesthouse

Property: Thawee Guesthouse
Address: 64 Ban Anu | PO Box 8815, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing