We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Lao Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lao Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The location of the Lao Plaza is good, as you can walk to the restaurants, markets and the Mekong river. The room we stayed in was very nice and spacious. It had desk with 2 chairs and a lounge chair. The bed was very comfortable, the best till so far in Laos.
There is NO FREE WI FI in the room and we had to pay USD13 per day to have internet access in the room. It was free in the Terrace Cafe near the pool. The pool was under repair and it was noisy, dusty and hot in the cafe. And the drinks are overpriced.
Later in the room we tried the wifi with the pool username and password and it worked!!
The breakfast was very good. They even had cheese!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

I love the lobby of the Lao Plaza Hotel and the grandur it alludes to. Naturally, the shops are completely overpriced. The buffet is quite good, but also expensive. My roomrate was decent, but I was expecting more given the actual hotel. The room, as others have said, was dated and not of the caliber anticipated. Even getting internet was difficult. There was a network cord in the room, and then separate instructions for contacting business services for wifi.....really, you had to sign up for 100,000 Kip about $12 for 24 hours service, not so bad. However, before activating, the hotel had to send someone up to my room to get me to sign a chit that I would add to my bill. BUT, the staff were super friendly, and the bed was good!

Room Tip: I would try out the Presidential Suite and see if that has been renovated yet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mowgli415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

realy nice hotel , in a great location, the breakfast was very good and has everything you may want, didnt give 5 out of 5 as we were charged per day for internet access in our room, which i feel for a hotel of this standard it should be included.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petebetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed in Lao Plaza Hotel two times on business trips.
I always remember my arrival the 1st time, when I was greeted by an exquisite "sa bai di" by the beautiful receptionist. Welcome to Lao!
I loved to stay in this hotel. I was on the executive floor.
FYI this hotel is where official delegations often stay. On my 2nd stay I was asked to transfer to another room because there was a vietnamese delegation coming. I didn't mind.
The staff is super gentle.
I naturally helped them when preparing "Sommet de la Francophonie" with some translations.
One cons is the relative age of the rooms, and the noisy A/C system.
My nights were not so sweet. But the rooms are very comfortable.
The lobby is pleasant, with newspapers available.
I loved the breakfast service, a wide choice available: sausages, eggs by order, ham, cereals, viennoiseries, etc.
Like I said they welcome officials quite often.
In my time they also welcome a group of models for a fashion show in Vientiane :)
What a marvel to see beautiful, unmade-up girls, early in the morning for breakfast :)
I would love to stay again in Lao Plaza.
Plenty of nice restaurants by walking distance, I should add.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank needlehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Staying in Lao Plaza Hotel is business with leisure.... rooms are clean and well kept, courteous staff and good food available.... I love the pastries and cake at the bakery at the lobby...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChaGonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We booked 4 rooms for 2 and 3 nights in this hotel for first the location in the center and second for the swimming pool.
When we check in we see that the swimming pool was not available (under renovation but nobody work!!!)
we ask to see the manager and nobody come.During 3 days it was impossible to see one person who was in charge of the hotel.
At the check out we request again to see the manager,,, no way....
I will not recommend this hotel for also the very old equipment of the room.and ...the restaurant staff was also very lazy, we request an expresso at the breakfast and they say you have to pay extra,,,after complaining again they cancel the charge of our expresso.

Many new hotels in Vientiane are offering now better rates and better services.....

Room Tip: better stay In Green Park hotel ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoriahoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

A large international style hotel with all amenities ( except pool temporarily out of action) but rather soul less. Staff not as friendly and helpfull as others. Well located, free wi fi, expensive coffee and snacks.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnapperSnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
#6 of 95 in Vientiane
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 95 in Vientiane
954 reviews
1.7 mi away
Landmark Mekong Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#9 of 95 in Vientiane
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#4 of 95 in Vientiane
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Settha Palace Hotel
Settha Palace Hotel
#11 of 95 in Vientiane
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Plaza Hotel

Address: 63 Samsenethai Road, PO Box 6703 | Chanthabury District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#7 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range: £102 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lao Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Six-story Hotel located in heart of business district, close to shopping area & 10 km from Wattay Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Lao Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lao Plaza Vientiane
Hotel Lao Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing