We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expectations”
Review of Lao Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lao Plaza Hotel
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
450 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Below expectations”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The room was large as was the pool. The breakfast was excellent. The bathroom was dated as were the furnishings. The A/C did not work well, either on or off, no controlling temperature setting. There was construction on a higher floor and the noise began early and went well beyond the promised quitting time of 5PM. The only free internet was at the pool side. For the price we expected better.

Room Tip: Stay away from the upper floors. Too noisy from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    145
    68
    14
    12
See reviews for
15
57
31
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
French Riviera
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is may be not my favorite hotel in Vientiane but I think it's was a pleasant surprise. The rooms are not extremely new, but everything is clean. The staff is friendly. The gym and the swimming pool are nice. The buffet breakfast is really good and the buffet lunch great!!! Food is fresh (including sushis), well-prepared, and there is a large choice of meals. The hotel is centrally located. A really good option for a nice stay in Vientiane.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilFrenchRiviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel is clean and good condition, although not the prettiest of the architecture. The location is ideal, restaurants and most of the attractions are within walking distance. The service is fine, the buffet breakfast is intresting with good blend of local and international. The rooms are good size, clean, quiet and well maintained. The swimming pool is large and clean, the GYM and sauna are small but functional. Overall this hotel is average, not that bad but nothing to shout about.

Room Tip: choose those facing to the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imran h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. On check in we were given a smoking room which was very smelly and had big stains on the carpet, they did move us to a better room when we requested though. The second room was much cleaner and more presentable although there was mould in the shower. The pool was beautiful and clean and the one great factor about the place. The buffet breakfast was lacking and seemed each morning to carry left overs from the previous night dinner. The breakfast choice was limited for a 5 star hotel. The prices at the bar for drinks were exhorbitant. The customer service in all areas was lacking. The management team needs to go to Khop Chai Deu and see how Customer service really works and and have their own team trained up to that same level. At breakfast the staff just hid behind a pole and only came out when they had to, guests were even getting up to pour their own coffee whilst the staff stood and watched.
Given this is a 5 star hotel we were very disappointed with it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gaysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Ive stayed here a few times now and the place is always very clean, safe and quiet. Far too many staff just sitting about, takes at least two people to check you in and at least three to check you out.

15mins from Wattay airport.

Not at all cheap when compared to similar properties close by.

I have always arrived late and left early - cant make comment on food.

Get up early (0400hrs) and go for a walk around town - say hello to the monks.

Take a chance and stay with a smaller place and experience Laos a whole lot more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 days on business the other week and it was just okay. At the very least it was clean. The tub was clean, the toilets were clean, and the sheets were clean. The towels were definitely scratchy like you would expect in a motel. The worst thing about the hotel was the smoking. They allow it everywhere and the whole hotel smells like stale smoke unfortunately. Breakfast was nothing special - good enough. Egg station etc...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africantraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The facilities at the Lao Plaza Hotel were very nice. The staff were superb throughout our stay, our rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast they included was good. The airport shuttle also was useful, and I appreciated the fact that it was free! Overall, this is a good hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.4 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.5 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Settha Palace Hotel
Settha Palace Hotel
#9 of 93 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Plaza Hotel

Property: Lao Plaza Hotel
Address: 63 Samsenethai Road, PO Box 6703 | Chanthabury District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
#7 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lao Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Six-story Hotel located in heart of business district, close to shopping area & 10 km from Wattay Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lao Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lao Plaza Vientiane
Hotel Lao Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing