We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lao Plaza Hotel”
Review of Lao Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lao Plaza Hotel
Ranked #22 of 94 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Certainly luxurious but impersonal hotel, the rooms are large clean with all the comforts but very general, it may be placed in any city 'European, swimming pool and internet point with charge for guests and certainly more' expensive than common prices. Buffet breakfast is rich. Friendly, Housekeeping, at the reception but a bit 'more' poor service to the prices of the rooms, some services may be free of charge. The position and 'central.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DaniQvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

First time staying at Lao Plaza Hotel. You need to ask for what you need, but when you do the staff will work hard to fulfill your needs. Pool is lovely, buffet breakfast and lunch are very satisfying. Well located in Vientiane. Ask for a no-smoking room on fourth floor overlooking the pool. Wi-fi worked very well for me, able to Skype easily. Very clean room.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool, no smoking room. 428 is a good room for a single or couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It's a basic mediocre Hotel in this samll town with average service levels. The Hotel is located very centrally.Staff is helpful but you have to ask for what you need - call for the iron & ironing board. Internet is slow & you can connect 1 device at a time. Basic breakfast, diffucult for vegetarians.
Spa services are good.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on 6th floor pool facing which are new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharadindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was my 7th stay at this hotel since 2010. It's mediocre at best and never seems to improve. Always have to call for the iron & ironing board. Internet is difficult and slow. Double beds pushed together, small & narrow bathtubs, & even saw some black mold this time. Slow coffee/tea service at the breakfast, also mediocre food. One particularly annoying thing this go around was the insistence of the front desk clerk that we eat breakfast before checking out/paying the bill. Since breakfast was included, I didn't see the point but didn't argue either. Maybe the new Ibis next time...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This place is located almost next door to the Lao National History Museum. And we arrived during the hour long lunch break at the Museum. So we decided to drop in here as we had time on our hands!

We chose to have drinks in the lounge. The place was well air-conditioned and a welcome escape from the oppressive heat outside. It was not crowded at noon-time and generally quite quiet. The ambience was welcoming and the decor was in good taste.

Service from the bar was very good and attentive. We enjoyed the drinks and the time we spent there in the cool and pleasant atmosphere. The only hitch was that while they were happy to take our US dollar currency (or even Thai Baht), they would give change only in Lao kip. While we could understand their position, we were not keen to be laden with thousands of kip on our penultimate day! But we managed and all was well!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Imliooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Excellent hotel and nice restaurant. Had a great dinner at the buffet. Comes with lots of great fresh seafood and hot pot and having a beautiful restaurant manager. Will definitely return and would recommend, my colleagues and my friends relating to this property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Lao Plaza usually serves the nicest buffet in Vientiane, though my visits are usually associated with business meetings. It is the Lao New Year, so restaurant choices are very limited. My logic was that as one of the premier hotels in town, they should serve decent food a la carte. My assumption was challenged today when a simple cheeseburger and piece of pie turned into a ma... Microwave use in kitchens should be heavily restricted

The 9$ USD burger arrived beautifully presented, but raw on the inside. The waitstaff friendly and responsive, said that they would take care of it. The burger when returned, was cooked extra well done, they had taken the entire burger (including bun, lettuce, tomato slices etc) and microwaved it for several minutes. The result was hardly edible.

For desert, I asked for piece of apple pie with a scoop of ice cream. The pie arrived chilled and when I commented the waiter put his finger on the pie and agreed that it was indeed cold. I requested that it be heated in an oven (versus microwaved). It was returned well-microwaved, but this time I sent it back. The pie (5 USD) was eventually returned, nicely oven-warmed, next to a small scoop of mostly melted ice cream.

On a positive note, the staff were both friendly and responsive.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank GregBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
#6 of 94 in Vientiane
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 94 in Vientiane
953 reviews
1.7 mi away
Landmark Mekong Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 94 in Vientiane
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#4 of 94 in Vientiane
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Plaza Hotel

Address: 63 Samsenethai Road, PO Box 6703 | Chanthabury District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
#8 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range: £101 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lao Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Six-story Hotel located in heart of business district, close to shopping area & 10 km from Wattay Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lao Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lao Plaza Vientiane
Hotel Lao Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing