We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Settha Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 94 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Positives:
- Great service, staff is very helpful
- Old but charming hotel
- Great location, very close to downtown
- Great food for breakfast and at the restaurants (for lunch)

Negatives:
- No gym, pool is kind of small
- Rooms are a bit small
- Expensive considering the place/city you are in..

Overall:
- If you can afford it, probably one of your best bets in Vientiane

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank prast8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    162
    54
    17
    6
See reviews for
39
208
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel has a weird location, an island surrounded by roads but handy for the city. The rooms were very comfortable, what you would expect for a colonial hotel. The air-con was noisy and you couldn't open the window because of the traffic.

The restaurant, although excellent, was somewhat pricey. The service was a bit hit and miss, but they meant well.

We found a wonderful massage parlour quite close by, their foot massages were terrific - I think we must have been there three or four times during a three nights stay!

The Settha is a marvellous haven of comfort if staying in Vientiane.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHooFangDung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

For what is meant to be one of the top hotels in Vientiane the Settha palace disappoints in many ways. Its saving grace is its pool. A lovely oasis in the hot dirty city.
Cleanliness was seriously lacking. The marble wall opposite the toilet had splashes of something not too pleasant which had clearly been there for sometime. There are stains on the inside of the bath.
The towels look like they have not been replaced since it was renovated in the 90s. Somewhat grey and tired.
The buffet breakfast was disappointing. Being celiacs we have limited choices. Yoghurt was not there most mornings and had to be requested. The cheese slices looked like they had been sitting on the heat for hours. The coffee was terrible. And Lao coffee can be good.
Pool service was laughable. Most days there was nobody there to ask for towels and we were never asked if we wanted a drink or a snack. The last day all the cushions had been removed.
It seems the owners of this hotel are running it into the ground and do little to motivate staff to show initiative. Staff were always pleasant but had not much English and seemed very lazy.
The price of this hotel is not justified.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemmaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Quiet sidestreet in downtown area, handy for everywere & everything. very quick airport transfer, 10 minutes, Sunday no traffic.
Nice refined colonial feel, not stuffy though, all staff very friendly and helpful from manager on down.
We had large well appointed room at the front with all the usual facilities, Wi-Fi etc (discreet wooden decor)
Nice pool, excellent food in the restaurant (smart casual)
Relaxing public areas to chill out in after a long day out
Couldnt fault it in any way
Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here in April 2013. Although the downside was that the hotel did not have an online booking website, (it meant that we had to email them all our details) the response was pretty fast. Maybe they should introduce an online booking website for guests who find it too troublesome to go through the process of filling out forms.

This was my first time in Laos and we only stayed in VIentiane as we did not have time to tour Luang Prabang so Settha Palace was our base from which to explore Laos over the next few days. It is really like an old colonial house which is only two storeys high. During my stay there, I did not see many other guests so it was almost like having the whole 'house' to ourselves.

The service was good and our room was located on the second floor as we has booked a junior suite. The suite was a good size, not overly huge but still cosy enough with wooden floors which creaked a little (I guess it is to be expected of wooden flooring). Furnishing was new and we had a four poster bed. Our room faced the front of the hotel. The package we booked included breakfast, a half day private sightseeing tour of Vientiane and also airport transfer both ways. I really liked the airport transfer which was done using a London cab.

The hotel did not have a spa on site so we walked about two minutes to the spa they recommended for massages which were very reasonably priced. There is more than one spa a walking distance away from the hotel so we had choices and we tried both spas. The hotel is also walking distance away from The Fountain, which is a place where most of the restaurants and bars are located. We tried the French restaurant located there and also a rooftop restaurant serving all types of cuisine from Laos to western cuisine and it was good.

On our last night, we wanted to dine in the French restaurant at Settha Palace but the manager requested that my friend wear a pair of trousers and a shirt to dine there as it was a fine dining restaurant. He refused to as he was not in the mood to put on a suit to dine after a long and tiring day hiking. I understood the hotel policy as they had already mentioned in their email to us before we arrived that we needed to dress appropriately for dinner at the restaurant. So in the end we went out of the hotel to have dinner. The manager was very apologetic and kept stating that it was the hotel policy and he was not the one who set the rules. When we came back from dinner, he made an effort to talk to us when we stepped into the lobby and asked us how our dinner went. It is jus too bad we didn't get to dine there this time.

Settha Palace was a great hotel to stay in and I definitely enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KendraBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
263 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. We had an executive suite which offers a full bedroom and separate lounge which was great space. Very traditional dark furniture but seems to be the local style. Do be aware of the ++ on the rates as it takes it from a reasonable $340 per night to $400.
The highlight was the staff who were universally charming and helpful. We liked the restaurant too – nice easy food with a good choice between European and Lao. Not spectacular but tasty and well above edible. Sileni Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand was welcome on the wine list.
We looked at the Ansara which had been a contender but felt that while it had a marginally better location it didn’t engage us the way the Settha Palace did. One place I wish I had spotted but missed as it is under B&Bs is the Dhavara Hotel – if we return to Vientiane I will check this out however would be more than happy returning to Settha.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Can't say enough good things about this beautiful and classic hotel. Everything was perfect. The room was miticulously clean and decorated with French period furniture. The food at the restaurant was delicious and the service from staff was top notch. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.5 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#6 of 94 in Vientiane
436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 94 in Vientiane
893 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 94 in Vientiane
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#5 of 94 in Vientiane
477 reviews
1.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 94 in Vientiane
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settha Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settha Palace Hotel

Property: Settha Palace Hotel
Address: 6 Pang Kham Street | PO Box 1618, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#4 Family Hotel in Vientiane
#5 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Settha Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1930s French colonial heritage building, with high ceilings, period furniture and lighting, beautiful Italian-marble floors and richly crafted rosewood furniture at this luxurious colonial hotel will take you a step back in time. Beautifully restored to its former charm, the Settha Palace is a hotel you will never forget. Relax by the free-form pool with beautifully landscaped surroundings. Indulge your appetite at our French Mediterranean restaurant, La Belle Epoque. Stay connected with modern facilities like wireless internet service. Now with free WIFI in all public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settha Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settha Palace Vientiane
Hotel Settha Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing