We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Settha Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dhavara Hotel(Vientiane)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ansara Hotel(Vientiane)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vayakorn Inn(Vientiane)
US$37
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$31
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lao Orchid Hotel(Vientiane)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$32
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
192
167
57
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
167
57
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslondon taxifour postercolonial charmpool areaclassic hoteljunior suitecheck in was smoothbeautiful hotellovely poolthe general managerluang prabangeach eveningrooms are comfortablebreakfast was excellentthe hotel managerthe air conditioningairport transfer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Settha Palace Hotel is the embodiment of paradise. Palm trees, pools and luxurious rooms filled with life and culture. Despite this, the air conditioning is quite noisy and doesn’t exactly make for quite the pleasure to stay inside and relax. Nonetheless, the experience of the pool is tremendous and definitely makes up for the city traffic and the overbearing air conditioning.
The restaurant for the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. A posh European style is being presented to you in every way possible; polite waiters, appealing food, classical chairs and décor that suites the days of French colonialism to the tee.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Positives:
- Great service, staff is very helpful
- Old but charming hotel
- Great location, very close to downtown
- Great food for breakfast and at the restaurants (for lunch)

Negatives:
- No gym, pool is kind of small
- Rooms are a bit small
- Expensive considering the place/city you are in..

Overall:
- If you can afford it, probably one of your best bets in Vientiane

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank prast8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel has a weird location, an island surrounded by roads but handy for the city. The rooms were very comfortable, what you would expect for a colonial hotel. The air-con was noisy and you couldn't open the window because of the traffic.

The restaurant, although excellent, was somewhat pricey. The service was a bit hit and miss, but they meant well.

We found a wonderful massage parlour quite close by, their foot massages were terrific - I think we must have been there three or four times during a three nights stay!

The Settha is a marvellous haven of comfort if staying in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrHooFangDung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

For what is meant to be one of the top hotels in Vientiane the Settha palace disappoints in many ways. Its saving grace is its pool. A lovely oasis in the hot dirty city.
Cleanliness was seriously lacking. The marble wall opposite the toilet had splashes of something not too pleasant which had clearly been there for sometime. There are stains on the inside of the bath.
The towels look like they have not been replaced since it was renovated in the 90s. Somewhat grey and tired.
The buffet breakfast was disappointing. Being celiacs we have limited choices. Yoghurt was not there most mornings and had to be requested. The cheese slices looked like they had been sitting on the heat for hours. The coffee was terrible. And Lao coffee can be good.
Pool service was laughable. Most days there was nobody there to ask for towels and we were never asked if we wanted a drink or a snack. The last day all the cushions had been removed.
It seems the owners of this hotel are running it into the ground and do little to motivate staff to show initiative. Staff were always pleasant but had not much English and seemed very lazy.
The price of this hotel is not justified.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemmaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Quiet sidestreet in downtown area, handy for everywere & everything. very quick airport transfer, 10 minutes, Sunday no traffic.
Nice refined colonial feel, not stuffy though, all staff very friendly and helpful from manager on down.
We had large well appointed room at the front with all the usual facilities, Wi-Fi etc (discreet wooden decor)
Nice pool, excellent food in the restaurant (smart casual)
Relaxing public areas to chill out in after a long day out
Couldnt fault it in any way
Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews