We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Settha Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Day Inn Hotel(Vientiane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaleunxay Hotel(Vientiane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
192
167
57
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
167
57
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslondon taxifour postercolonial charmpool areaclassic hoteljunior suitecheck in was smoothbeautiful hotellovely poolthe general managerluang prabangeach eveningrooms are comfortablebreakfast was excellentthe hotel managerthe air conditioningairport transfer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel emits an agreable colonial atmosphere, with a perfectly restored building, nice pool area and a magnificent diner room.
The rooms are very well soundproofed, you don't hear a single sound from the bustling city just ouitside.
Major attractions and restaurant area is just 5 min away on foot.
You can very easily reach the Mekong boardwalk.
We dind't eat in the hotel, but it seems to be one of the best reastaurants in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ofabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very quiet and peaceful stay. Had great 2 room suite on 2nd floor. Hotel did not seem very busy and restaurant was a morgue. Had a delicious meal with good service one nite and came back for drinks another nite. Old world charm but not too lively. Used the pool which was fine but nothing extra. No fitness room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkelovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

The standard of accommodation and service were at a high level you would expect for this level of accommodation.
But that's about it, the spark or 'that something special' we didn't feel.
The hotel itself makes you feel more like a diplomat in a traditional gentleman's club, it lacked the warmth we found in others.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hogbaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Located near the center of town, this is a beautiful hotel with large rooms, and a dramatic staircase to the second floor. Its walking distance from many restaurants, making it very convenient.
While the appointments were modern, it felt like an old historic home. We had two rooms--a real plus with a table and chairs so we could get together with friends before we went out.
The restaurant was very large and not crowded. Good food.
The hotel also had a nice bar, large pool and beautiful landscaping.

Room Tip: Double rooms upstairs were quite, large and on the left side of the hallway they overlooked the pool area.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Only spent one night in this lovely old property, so can't review much of it. The staff was very nice, though they truly dropped the ball on some transportation requests I had made months in advance.
The hotel appears to be centrally located. The building is old colonial with beautiful wood accents throughout. If you get a room at the front of the hotel, forget about opening the windows. There is a lot of noise. We had them change us to a room in the back, but still kept windows closed as it was hot and we needed the a/c.
There is no place to plug in the hairdryer (provided by the hotel) in the bathroom or anywhere else close to a mirror. Plugged it in under the desk and sat on the floor (the cord was too short for me to stand) while I dried my hair. This may seem like a small inconvenience to you guys, but it's a big one to us girls. At over US$ 200 per night, I expect more.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the front street are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SetthaPalaceHotel, General Manager at Settha Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

It's always nice to know there are adventurous guests who want to experience the scenic drive from Vientiane to Luang Prabang.
The total distance definitely does not seem far at all for those of us who are used to multi-lane highways.
However, it is a 2 lane road from Vientiane to Luang Prabang and the road conditions vary from year to year, depending on the amount of damage done by the previous wet season.

We normally recommend an overnight stay in Vang Vieng, which is about halfway in between and a nice way to break up the long journey.

We always recommend that our guests book their van ride with a reputable tour provider where one can be sure that the vehicle is in good condition, is covered by insurance, and the driver is experienced & knowledgeable.

And, we always do deeply regret whenever anyone insists that we find them a cheaper alternative and then ends up with a less than satisfactory experience on their long drive up to Luang Prabang.

Thank you for your feedback about the cable length of the hair dryers.
We are looking into extending the length of those cables so they will be more comfortable to use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews