We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a day guest there,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Settha Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I used the pool several times and ate at the restaurant. I enjoyed the atmosphere, it was only a short distance from my hotel (Family Hotel) and so I deced to relax there at the pool, have a couple of nice - very nice - meals and relish in the surroundings. It is a very nice place full of colonial flair. The service in the restaurant was decent, with some minor flaws, but they are friendly and seek to accomdate you, even at odd hours. So I look back with nostalgia.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Settha Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

This hotel appears to be some sort of heritage hotel although some structures are new. The greatest advantage is the nice pool with a lot of green. Probably the only hotel in Vientiane offering that. As my wife travelled with me that was the reason for having selected the hotel. I would recommend the hotel only for that feature.
The location is next to a busy road and communication transmitter mast, but very central. Rooms were clean and nicely furnished. Water from the shower was just warm, never hot, and flowing rather moderately. Fixtures are old. We had two different rooms because we stayed there again after our return from Luang Prabang; in the first one the toilet seat had seen many years passing by. It was cleaned but had a yellowish inner rim from many years of service. On the second stay they gave us the smallest and simplest room despite the hotel being almost empty. I did not complain becuase we left the next day. The room of the first stay was a bit better. But the lesson I learned: they are not kean to treat their customers. They just deliver.
Breakfast buffet is basic. Rolls were not baked but simply taken from a bag of half baked rolls. Croissant were good the other day; fruit selection basic. Wireless internet is available but very slow. It takes forever to connect to the router, and later on to access internet. It is not suitable for business use. Because of my official business we got the government rate of 150US$ including taxes. However, in comparison to other hotels in Laos and other cities of Asia, the rates of this hotel are too high, I'd say twices of what would be reasonable.
When we had left the first time I had left some laundry with them. During my flight to Luang Prabang I noticed that I had left some money in the back pocket of my trousers. I called the hotel immediately from the other hotel and told them; there was a delay of 4h only. But the money was allegedly already gone. Difficult to me to believe ; though, I admit it was my fault to have it left in the trousers.
When I had forgotten my camera in the Meridien in Siem Reap a few days before, they had already secured the camera when I called the same evening from Phnom Penh. That is what I call honesty.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lumailae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtheodas, Owner at Settha Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2010

Dear Mr. Mailaender,

Warm greetings from the Settha Palace Hotel.

I recently read your review of your stay with us on Tripadvisor and would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for your candid review. I realize that you felt let down on both stays. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards during that time, and for that I sincerely apologize.

I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our management team and we will be looking into rectifying the issues related to the following:

1) The condition of all the bathroom fixtures, including the performance of the showers, hot water temperature and toilet seat covers.

2) The performance of Internet access. We will be installing several stronger wireless access points throughout the hotel to further improve connectivity in every room.

3) The quality & selection of the breakfast buffet.

Thank you again for your constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.

Yours sincerely,
Jacques Theodas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I stayed in the Settha three nights while on holiday in Vientiane. The hotel is fairly old, but oozes french-colonial charm. The rooms are fairly spacious, with very high ceilings. The bed was a little hard for my taste, but comfortable nonetheless. The bathroom had a full tub. There is a nice, small pool behind the hotel. The staff was exceptionally friendly, though I think everyone I encountered in Laos was friendly. The hotel has a great location, close to several of the major sights in Vientiane, but is still fairly quiet at night. My only complaint is that the internet was wifi was fairly slow.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPLSKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

This is not a cheap hotel by lao standards, perhaps my service expectations were to high. Were not met by the hotel driver at the airport. When we asked about the pick up at reception they found the booking and laughed at us. The hotel is very beautiful and well located to the centre of town, with great rooms and pool. However lacked some real basics. No hair dryer, 3 tissues, bed turndown came at 9pm. There appears to be no interest by local drivers to hang around the front of the hotel. We resorted to a very expensive one way trip in the hotels car and a trip in an air conditioned van to the Budda Park at 35USD both organised by the hotel. Breakfast was the best during our trip, however this is still not saying a lot. Why the lack of fresh baggettes in former french colonies hotels. Only ever had them served at breakfast once (Hanoi Elegance Hotels) and look at the positive review they recieve. Map of town and an idea of what the hotels facilities were and where they are would also go a long way. The reasons why this hotel is not rated higher on this site are obvious, can not understand why they havent been fixed.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OzzieJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

This hotel offers large colonial style rooms in a modern setting. Its in a great location with easy walking to the commercial centre of Vientiane and China Town.

The reception, restaurant and bar areas are modern but elegent, breakfast was excellent. We didn't eat at the hotel because has a mile down the road into town around a circle were several very good and extremely reasonable restaurants.

Our only cribs were the low number of sun beds round the pool, the high cost of internet use and the fact that the hotel do not change travellers cheques.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seebeforeigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

This hotel was outstanding, being an exemplary French colonial refurbishment with world class management and staff. Very impressed with the restaurant run by the German Chef/General Manager. Unhesitatingly recommended for a stay in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LombardLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We stayed just one night. Our room had high ceilings, polished wood floor and four-poster bed. The hotel has a reasonable sized pool and a decent breakfast buffet given the small number of rooms. Internet access is criminally expensive! Convenient location.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hasherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.5 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
917 reviews
1.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
268 reviews
1.0 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#6 of 93 in Vientiane
485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
#9 of 93 in Vientiane
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settha Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settha Palace Hotel

Address: 6 Pang Kham Street | PO Box 1618, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#4 Family Hotel in Vientiane
#6 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range: £73 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Settha Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1930s French colonial heritage building, with high ceilings, period furniture and lighting, beautiful Italian-marble floors and richly crafted rosewood furniture at this luxurious colonial hotel will take you a step back in time. Beautifully restored to its former charm, the Settha Palace is a hotel you will never forget. Relax by the free-form pool with beautifully landscaped surroundings. Indulge your appetite at our French Mediterranean restaurant, La Belle Epoque. Stay connected with modern facilities like wireless internet service. Now with free WIFI in all public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Settha Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settha Palace Vientiane
Hotel Settha Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing