We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't chose to go inside..just walk around it !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Sacred Stupa (Pha That Luang)

Great Sacred Stupa (Pha That Luang)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.50*
and up
Half-Day Vientiane City Tour
Ranked #4 of 70 things to do in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 24-carat, 45-meter high Buddhist shrine.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't chose to go inside..just walk around it !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The National symbol,is quite nice, but you will be a little disapointed by the "museum" (5.000LAK to go in). I suggest you, to simply walk around and you will enjoy as the same manner than inside. Near the Pha you will found a nice temple, with a big sleeping buddha, and a nice area with many painting on the roof. I really enjoy this place, and I really recommand (no entry fees).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen_and_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    498
    195
    33
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big Suprise!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I been visit in 2013 very short time with a small group .
It was surprised to me with many beautiful place around . i can't say enough about it .but i made a lot of pictures to show it with my friend. i hope can come back PHA THAT LUANG one day near future.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dao thi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset england
Level Contributor
166 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Nice to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just one of the sights we took in while on an organised tour of the area, nice big stupa, what more can you say really

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mike424u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Well, it is not covered in gold leaf or anything. Just painted a bright yellow. But impressive, for all that. More interesting than the stupa are the gates which have intricate carvings, and the hundreds of pieces of stone artifacts. Some of them have writings in Pali and Brahmi, lending credence to the theory that there was interaction with Ashoka's empire. And perhaps later also.

Helpful?
Thank Lene-Bappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enormous stupa - stupendous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is an eye-catching piece of architecture, but it's hard to know what a visit would be like without the background briefing from our well-informed guide who explained the religious significance and the various cultural events that take place in the precinct. Still, easy to walk around and absorb the atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DPKilmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Sacred Stupa (Pha That Luang) also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Great Sacred Stupa (Pha That Luang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing