We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to remember”
Review of Cafe Benoni

Cafe Benoni
Ranked #4 of 15 Dessert in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Established in 2007 Benoni Cafe is a popular spot among expatriates and locals alike. Due to its great location in the heart of the capital the cafe is becoming a great stop for tourists after their stroll in the city center. Serving home roasted coffee, homemade cakes and unique dishes from our very own family recipes, using local and imported ingredients. We are famous for our fresh fruit juices and crispy baguettes among "falang". Always striving for quality and improvement to ensure always a memorable visit to our customers.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing to remember”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I was drgged there for a business lunch. We ate. I think it was pasta. Soft and tasteless. Nothing to remember.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mo16072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    105
    20
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
941 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I really enjoyed this restaurant which is popular with the business crowd in Vientiane. I was ready for a change in diet from Asian food and really enjoyed the experience. Very clean and bright area with excellent service, I would recommend this restaurant if visiting the city.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ericon991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Elegant cafe; excellent value food”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Really liked lunch at this rather elegant cafe. Lots of well dressed types having working lunches, but also a few tourists and travellers. Food was good and excellent value at 25,000kip for an Asian dish. Wifi worked well. Service was good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Squads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not very impressed, charged my friend for a broken glass and the food is very bland”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Went with a group of friends and ordered a variety of dishes, my 'Chop Suey' With rice was very very bland! Didn't really taste of anything, my friend ordered a salmon burger and instead received a horrible looking slab of processed meat/fish.

The worst aspect of the visit was my friend accidentally knocked a glass over and broke it (Accidents happen) Which they then added on to the bill at the end for a far inflated price of the actual cost, I've never ever had any restaurant in the world charge for breaking a class or plate, accidents happen but clearly not in their eyes, will not go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank supernova-dw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phonesavanh V, Owner at Cafe Benoni, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Hello supernova-dw,

We are very disappointed to read your bad review of our cafe, though we have been trying so hard to please our customers.

Concerning the taste of the Chopseuy, which is coming originally from China, it's almost authentic. I'm wondering if you have ever tasted a real Chopseuy before. Anyways we can't discuss about each person's taste buds, it'll take ages.
Concerning the "process burger", I can confirm it's homemade. I don't know what makes you say so. Guess you might not be familiar with homemade style burger, I'm sorry for that.
Coming to main message of your negative review: the broken glass. "accidents happen" very true, anywhere and everywhere. Some places charge their customers some places not. We charge, no more discussion.
Thanks for your review anyways, we are always happy about your effort to write.
Best regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, beautifully designed room, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Set above Phimphone supermarket almost opposite Namphu (or what remains of it!) this simple restaurant offers a good range of fresh and tasty food in what is one of the best designed and brightest rooms in Vientiane. The service is excellent, prompt and efficient. Only house wine, but always fresh and at a reasonable price. Sadly it closes at 6PM and is not open on Sunday. A great place for a snack or light meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donandkeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Benoni also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Cafe Benoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing