We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel though cheaper to arrange onward travel by yourself.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vientiane Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The dorm room was good though security not excellent (lockers falling apart & rooms not locked). The common room & bathrooms were clean & pleasant. Staff were helpful & friendly. Felt a bit ripped off by the onward ticket to Nong Khai I booked through hostel - paid 60000 kip for bus, but was taken to train station. It would have been much cheaper to hire a tuk tuk & buy the train across the border (20 batt) ourselves. And less stressful, since the songthaeow was 20+ min late.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Not the most comfy bed but you get what you pay for! I liked the individual reading light per bed. I wanted wifi (worked best downstairs) clean sheets, cool room, and clean enough bathroom and this hostel delivered them all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

nice place, clean dorms, cheap place to stay in ventianne, if you are on a budget. they serve basic breakfast for free, and have a bike rental service. directly in downtown conveniente place to stay. .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruno d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a very convenient hostel to stay in Vientiane. Bakeries, restaurants and convenient markets are located very near from this place, walking distance. The facility is clean, daily housekeeping. WiFi is working really fast. The beds at the dorms are comfortable and very quiet at night time. People respect each other sleeping time. Great value. This place is also convenient for booking services as renting bikes, bus tickets and others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hostel was very cheap and also had free breakfast (eggs, toast and coffee!). The dorm wasn't bad, but I was a bit worried about the security of the hostel since I didn't have any key, so anybody could have just walked in. The atmosphere wasn't really great, when I arrived everybody was sitting in front of their laptops/ phones and wasn't really socializing like in other hostels. There were also lots of older backpackers. The washrooms were two floors further down than my room (top floor) so that wasn't really handy. The beds, washrooms and showers were clean but there was only one bathroom which you could lock- guess that isn't enough for a whole hostel...
The receptionist wasn't really friendly and hardly spoke to the guests..

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the first floor, so you're only one floor away from the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel on our return trip to Vientiane because it was one of the cheapest options we could find. Relating to the positive reviews on several websites and the promised free breakfast, we were in good spirits.
All in all, it turned out to be an overly average stay.
Pros:
- cheap
- bed: lockers, outlet, reading light
- cleaned every day
- well-working Wifi
- breakfast: only one plate, but choose from 3 options
- nice staff
- bike&scooter rental
Cons:
- lack of enough bathroom facilities: only 2 of the 4 overadvertised showers worked, not enough for three huge dorm rooms
- wrong information about busses just to sell tickets, e.g. Bus to Kong Lor takes on average 7h (at least), took the bus twice, once it took 9 hours. The hostel sells it as a 5h-journey.
- dorm room smelled like sweaty feet (might not be the fault of the hostel, just the lack of fresh air)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anni-Alex181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I've stayed here for 2 night in the dormroom. That's great place for the travellers. The manager of this hostel is very funny and friendly! They have a good free breakfast. Good location, It's near the river and the night market, easy to visit the monuments in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaoChanh17889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Memory Hotel
Memory Hotel
#40 of 93 in Vientiane
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mixay Guesthouse
Mixay Guesthouse
#78 of 93 in Vientiane
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vayakorn Inn
Vayakorn Inn
#28 of 93 in Vientiane
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Hostel
Funky Monkey Hostel
#22 of 109 in Vientiane
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 2
Dream Home Hostel 2
#1 of 109 in Vientiane
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Backpackers Hostel

Address: 13 Norkeokoummarn Road | Ban Mixay, Vientiane 856, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range: £8 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vientiane Backpackers is a modern, clean and friendly hostel which is ideally located in the centre of the Lao Capital, Vientiane. Close by is the scenic Mekong River aswell as restaraunts, cafe's and a small number of bars. Next door is the Vaimiay Temple and good local transport links as well as various travel agents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vientiane Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing