We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed bugs bed bugs !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vientiane Backpackers Hostel
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“bed bugs bed bugs !!!!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hostel looks excatlly as it does in photos, cute and cheap for a nights stay.
But bewear, this place is crawling with bedbugs! And when I say crawling with bedbugs I mean full size adult bed bugs crawling on and under the mattress.the staff here are very awear of the issue and don't seem to care to fix the problem. I would not recommened anyone to stay here, there are plenty of options in this city for nearly the same price that won't coast u having a treibble time sleeping knowing u have creepy crawlys all over u while u sleep. I must have killed well over 5 before jumping out of bed at 4am. I have stayed at many hostels as I backpack each year to new parts of the world, by far this is the grossest place I have stayed in my 4 years of backpacking thus far.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalynaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    51
    40
    20
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
9
83
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. The only reason is because it was the cheapest place we could find in this very overpriced town. After checking in, we discovered they were fumigating a dorm room (maybe for bed bugs as there were a lot of reviews about those). We went out and on returning we found two of the staff that were fumigating asleep on our beds. We kindly woke them up and asked if they could please change the sheets. They say the dorms of 12 people are air conditioned but sadly they only turn this on from 8pm to 10am. So going to your room during the day is unbearable and stinky if people decided to hibernate in there in their dirty jocks. Not a pretty site. The staff were so so, depending on what time of day you got them. Breakfast was included which was good, it's basic but all you need. Sorry to say but we will not be staying here again. Was not enjoyable at all. There is some other hostels around the corner that looked like they were happening and had a better vibe. We discovered this on the last night and did go there for a drink, met some lovely people and played some pool. Just wish we went for a walk earlier. I will say something positive though, the bathroom was cleanish and the beds were comfortable enough.

Room Tip: Look around before deciding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOMADasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

America, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

i would recommed this place , i very happy when i stayed here (3 nights ) , just 40000 kip for 1 day (free breakfast, Wifi really good working) , big room and clean each day , the staff helpful, Owner very care of you ,
Also this hostel have tour go to BURDA PARK temple ( 25km) , and some place arround vientiane , bicycle and motocycle for rent
Very center , near night market (2 minute walking), many restaurant , you can enjoy laos food (good) very cheap.
Come back again ( thank you evrything )

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernaldo x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

cool location and the hostel seems to be nice, stuff too, but i changed it after the first night because there were 6 us bitten by bedbugs, and i killed more than 10 of them and hardly got any sleep... cheers

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stefftrece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I recommend your, to stay, at Vientiane Backpackers , we stayed here 2 nights ,clean everyday , the shower has both hot water and pressure , good location and have great atmosphere , very close to many great restaurants and the central bus station
This place near Mekong river and night market , good value

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This place was an awesome stay, its in a great location (close to a swimming pool with cooled water which is amazing in this heat! Also close to bookstores, the night market, and the national museum). The people are friendly and very helpful, you can also buy your bus tickets to almost anywhere here. They serve delicious burgers that have pineapple on them (yummy!) and have free breakfast and wi-fi. The rooms are cleaned daily (and the beds are always made).
The staff is friendly and welcoming, and the people I met here were great!
Great place to stay for a few days or a couple weeks (if you can find enough to do in Vientiane for that long!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

we stay here 2 days at vientiane backpackers hostel , just dorm but have fun , you will have everything you want only 40000 kip for 1 night , very very cheap , free breakfast and wifi , the room with AC, the staff friendly and helpful , the room is clean , good location and great amostphere . i can not forget this hostel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nguyen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Hostel
Funky Monkey Hostel
#22 of 100 in Vientiane
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 2
Dream Home Hostel 2
#1 of 100 in Vientiane
616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Garden
Backpackers Garden
#9 of 100 in Vientiane
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Backpackers Hostel

Property: Vientiane Backpackers Hostel
Address: 13 Norkeokoummarn Road | Ban Mixay, Vientiane 856, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vientiane Backpackers is a modern, clean and friendly hostel which is ideally located in the centre of the Lao Capital, Vientiane. Close by is the scenic Mekong River aswell as restaraunts, cafe's and a small number of bars. Next door is the Vaimiay Temple and good local transport links as well as various travel agents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Vientiane Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing