We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, great location and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vientiane Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We, my girlfriend and I, stayed here for 3 nights. We booked a room via another hostel and agreed to pay 20 dollars a night for a private room with ac. The rooms a spacious and clean but the best thing about this room was the shower. Whereas we normally see crappy showers in these parts of SE-Asia we had a big shower! A nice surprise. The staff is really helpful. The hostel is a great place for those seeking the hostel-vibe, with a lively central room, but also those who are looking for a more private place this is a great hostel thanks to the large rooms.

Breakfast was included but it was not great, too many French bakeries nearby.

For people who travel for a long time and fancy a great burger (hard to find in Asia) visit rays grille, just a 3 min walk from the hostel.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Remco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Really good hostel in vientiane , we stayed here 2 days , the room was awesome , big space and clean , breakfast was basic but ok , coffee and tea ( of couse free) . Also this hostel have spagesti and burger , the staff helpful and friendly , wifi working everywhere , close to night market and mekong river , thank you and will come back again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hostel looks excatlly as it does in photos, cute and cheap for a nights stay.
But bewear, this place is crawling with bedbugs! And when I say crawling with bedbugs I mean full size adult bed bugs crawling on and under the mattress.the staff here are very awear of the issue and don't seem to care to fix the problem. I would not recommened anyone to stay here, there are plenty of options in this city for nearly the same price that won't coast u having a treibble time sleeping knowing u have creepy crawlys all over u while u sleep. I must have killed well over 5 before jumping out of bed at 4am. I have stayed at many hostels as I backpack each year to new parts of the world, by far this is the grossest place I have stayed in my 4 years of backpacking thus far.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalynaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. The only reason is because it was the cheapest place we could find in this very overpriced town. After checking in, we discovered they were fumigating a dorm room (maybe for bed bugs as there were a lot of reviews about those). We went out and on returning we found two of the staff that were fumigating asleep on our beds. We kindly woke them up and asked if they could please change the sheets. They say the dorms of 12 people are air conditioned but sadly they only turn this on from 8pm to 10am. So going to your room during the day is unbearable and stinky if people decided to hibernate in there in their dirty jocks. Not a pretty site. The staff were so so, depending on what time of day you got them. Breakfast was included which was good, it's basic but all you need. Sorry to say but we will not be staying here again. Was not enjoyable at all. There is some other hostels around the corner that looked like they were happening and had a better vibe. We discovered this on the last night and did go there for a drink, met some lovely people and played some pool. Just wish we went for a walk earlier. I will say something positive though, the bathroom was cleanish and the beds were comfortable enough.

Room Tip: Look around before deciding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NOMADasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

i would recommed this place , i very happy when i stayed here (3 nights ) , just 40000 kip for 1 day (free breakfast, Wifi really good working) , big room and clean each day , the staff helpful, Owner very care of you ,
Also this hostel have tour go to BURDA PARK temple ( 25km) , and some place arround vientiane , bicycle and motocycle for rent
Very center , near night market (2 minute walking), many restaurant , you can enjoy laos food (good) very cheap.
Come back again ( thank you evrything )

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fernaldo x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

cool location and the hostel seems to be nice, stuff too, but i changed it after the first night because there were 6 us bitten by bedbugs, and i killed more than 10 of them and hardly got any sleep... cheers

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stefftrece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I recommend your, to stay, at Vientiane Backpackers , we stayed here 2 nights ,clean everyday , the shower has both hot water and pressure , good location and have great atmosphere , very close to many great restaurants and the central bus station
This place near Mekong river and night market , good value

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Memory Hotel
Memory Hotel
#40 of 93 in Vientiane
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#15 of 93 in Vientiane
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mixay Guesthouse
Mixay Guesthouse
#78 of 93 in Vientiane
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Hostel
Funky Monkey Hostel
#22 of 109 in Vientiane
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 2
Dream Home Hostel 2
#1 of 109 in Vientiane
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Backpackers Hostel

Address: 13 Norkeokoummarn Road | Ban Mixay, Vientiane 856, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range: £8 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vientiane Backpackers is a modern, clean and friendly hostel which is ideally located in the centre of the Lao Capital, Vientiane. Close by is the scenic Mekong River aswell as restaraunts, cafe's and a small number of bars. Next door is the Vaimiay Temple and good local transport links as well as various travel agents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vientiane Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing