We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like home than a hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonlight Champa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moonlight Champa
Ranked #2 of 196 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“More like home than a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

A great little place in an ideal location in the city. There are free bikes available for guests; cycling is the best way to get around. The owners and staff are incredibly helpful and have a vast amount of knowledge on the area, ranging from where to eat to what to do. They provide a little map when you arrive and mark out different things, depending on what you want to do. There's a nice little communal area to socialise with staff and the other guests. They really do focus on service. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. I'd certainly stay here again if I returned to Vientiane.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    81
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
17
127
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Had the best experience staying at this hotel. The rooms are clean and the beds are nice and comfortable. What separates moonlight from all other hotels i have stayed at, is the friendly and very helpfull owner, Isabella and her staff. They gladly go the extra mile keep their guests satisfied, and also help you find the best "value for money" restaurants nearby.
If you need a place to stay in Vientianne, i strongly recommend Moonlight.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank molle93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Loved my stay at Moonlight Champa which was only 2 nights. The beds are very comfortable and the aircon was quiet so I could sleep very well.
The room is perfect for solo traveller and even for couples although a little small. Modern and classic style and very cosy, no harsh lighting.
The only thing was that the shower had only little water pressure which is not ideal when you have very long hair to wash ..
But all in all a great place with very friendly and helpfull owners/staff.
Thank you!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank liekevanuhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at Moonlight Champa twice during our travels in Laos and would recommend it to everyone.

Firstly the staff are great. Isabella, Brad and there awesome team are always there to offer advice/suggestions/ help whenever needed. Staff are always smiling and wanting to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay.

The reception room downstairs is great to hang out and meet other guests. There is also a kitchenette that guests are able to use along with complimentary tea and coffee as well as filtered water - bonus.

They have just started to develop the garden at the back and by the sounds of the plans this will be a great place to chill, do yoga, read or have a drink or two after a days sightseeing.

We stayed in the balcony room first and then the standard room on our return so got to experience both rooms. Both were extremely clean, well appointed, tastefully decorated, had amazing comfortable beds with lovely linen/duvet and were cleaned each day during our stay much to my delight.
After travelling for over 8 months we felt like we were in heaven and had the best nights sleep ever.
For me I loved having the balcony space to be able to sit and watch the world go by but the standard rooms are as just good quality.

Location was great, not far away from town, the night market, CoPE centre, tourist attractions and they had free bikes which guests can use if you wish.

Brad was extremely helpful in booking tickets for us to 4000 islands even though we were in Luang Prabang at the time.

This is a place we would definitely like to return too in the future and hopefully with babies Isabella lol. Truly made us feel at home and could have easily have stayed longer.

Thank you guys

Lindsey & Euan x

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLife050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a great place to stay in Vientiane. We felt very welcome from the first minute on and thought that the whiteboard with the welcome message is such a nice touch. We were greeted so friendly and the owners sat down with us and told us, where we can find good food, sights, laundry. Generally the staff was really attentive and friendly, we loved to chat with them.

The (standard) room and the bathroom are both very small, but there was everything we needed and the bed was good quality.

The owner offered us to check out an hour later, because our bus was leaving then. This was so kind. The transport they booked for us was very good.

We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyla86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at Moonlight Champa for 5 nights. We were a little surprised by the rate at first (30USD/night) but I think accommodation rates in Vientiane are just higher than you would think. The guesthouse is a little out of the restaurants and attractions area (5-15 minute walk depending on where you are going) but it makes it quieter especially at night which we enjoyed. Brad and his team are very focused on customer service and always make sure that we were doing good. They constantly provided us with suggestions for restaurants and activities which I'm sure most people enjoy, but we thought it was a little too much and intrusive. We had a room on the second floor. We booked a double room and were told prior to our arrival that we were going to have the new king bed room. However, upon arrival, we realized that the king bed was too single beds pushed together and the difference in height and firmness of the two mattresses made it a little awkward. And the blanket was considerably too small for the size of the "king bed" so we kind of had to sleeping on the uncomfortable middle. First world problem, I know, but for the price and what we were told, we were disappointed. Even if they state having some of the best beds in SEA, they are your typical SEA hard mattresses. The room was very modern and clean. The hot shower worked very well. The wifi wasn't always reliable in our room but might have been better in the lobby. We really enjoyed having complimentary tea-coffee as well as free cold drinking water at all times. There is also a kitchenette for guests to use. Overall, Moonlight Champa is a good modern place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you won't get the "new kind bed configuration"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audree_Joshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed 1 night Feb 2014. Paid $29 USD/night for a double room (standard I think).

This is one of the friendliest guesthouses and probably the best place I stayed in the country. I would stay here again for sure.

I like that they have a little kitchenette in the lobby for guests to use. Also, you can refill your water bottles there.
As all of the other reviews tell you, the staff are awesome. Super friendly and welcoming.
They are working on the backyard/patio area and once that's done, it will be a nice little spot to hang out.

PROS
Clean
Updated rooms
Air con
Fan
Great staff
Lobby with free coffee/tea, sink, utensils etc
Central location
Quiet
Good bed
Good lighting in bathroom
Soft chairs to sit on in the lobby (after all the hard plastic and wooden seating in Laos, it's very welcome)
Good English spoken by managers (Malaysian woman and Canadian man)
Quick to reply to emails

CONS
Rooms are a bit small
Shower didn't have great water pressure and if you left the bathroom door open you could hear the bathrooms being used above you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#23 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Champa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Champa

Property: Moonlight Champa
Address: 13 Pangkham Road | Chanthaboury District, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Soukxana Guesthouse)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonlight Champa is perfectly situated in a quiet, leafy neighborhood just five minutes walk from Namphu and the heart of Vientiane. It has been totally renovated in a modern and minimalist style. All our rooms have windows,air conditioning and free WiFi along with the comfiest beds in town so that you can enjoy your day fully rested and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Moonlight Champa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing