We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and clean room!”
Review of Moonlight Champa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moonlight Champa
Ranked #2 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Modern and clean room!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room is fairly small but is new and clean, wifi is available in room, TV with english channel, bed is really comfortable and the shower was good.

There are coffee/tea facilities at lobby, computer to use at the lobby, host was friendly and they provide you a map upon arrival.

The location is a little away from the town, walking distance 15minutes. If you like to eat pho(beef noodle soup) do give PHO ZAP a try, they are locate next to Veena Cafe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raclcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    85
    23
    7
    0
See reviews for
17
133
70
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights for a Thai visa run. The guesthouses in vientiane are known for being subpar and not very clean. Moonlight Champa exceeded my expectations for a mid-range guesthouse. The room was very clean and the bed was huge and comfortable. The owner was very friendly as well, giving out maps and friendly advice. There is also coffee, water, and free snacks downstairs. The location was fairly good and they had free bicycles for rent.Very cute and nice place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KaitlynKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in Vientiane and the staff at Moonlight Champa had much to do with that! From their recommendations for things to do and places to eat, the comfortable rooms and welcoming lounge...it was a great stop. As the new name of the hotel/location is not yet well known to the taxi and tuk-tuk drivers, it is helpful to tell them to go to Settha Palace. Then look for the tall royal blue building across the street. You have found Moonlight Champa!
Also, with regards to the staff at Moonlight Champa, be sure to take advantage of their connections and knowledge of reputable operators in the area. Brad even helped us out in a big way when my husband left his glasses behind at the hotel. Thanks for that, Brad. All the best and go Riders!!!
Highly recommend : )

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTRTW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Moonlight Champa
This is a lovely very clean and comfortable place to stay. The rooms are fairly small but it is in the capital. Location is good and the service is very friendly. Lay, the Laos guy who manages the place, is lovely and very helpful a nd charming and speaks reasonable English and he's backed up by a Canadian guy, Brad, who's just as helpful and friendly. We stayed five nights here and my 21 years,d son, who I'd met here, was ill when he arrived and so this ended up being a good place to hole up while he got better. Can highly recommend the two local restaurants just next door. Turn right as you walk out the door. Vientiane, however, is a pretty quiet town with not a lot to do for tourists unfortunately and worthy of a couple of nights only. The moonlight Champa, though is a great spot in this price range and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

i stayed at moonlight champa for 2 nights , the place was clean fresh freindly and the staff and especially the owner brad bent over backwards to accomadate you.. usefull information on your arrival about where to go what to do and so on with a map detailing you the roads .. and a lovely welcoming sign with your name on . is a freindly touch..i have personaly been in the tourism bissiness for 30 years and was very impressed with the standard of this guesthouse and staff..i have stayed in a few places in vientiane over the years and was always disapointed and over priced ,, but alas moonlight champa is very affordable and top value for your money thats why they are number one .. keep it up ... nuff said ill be back....c ya soon and thanks moonlight champa gang.. regards cypriot mike

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cypriotmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed only one night but could have easily stayed more. Brad was a great host and takes the time to sit and chat and give good tips. Our room upstairs overlooking the street was very comfortable and clean. Free tea and coffee is provided downstairs and in the morning Brad provided lovely cinnamon scrolls from the local bakery which was a nice touch. Push bikes are available free to explore the city and the nearby restaurants around the fountain is an easy stroll for a nice evening. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Modern rooms, not the biggest but very well appointed. Lots of power points in useful places, always a bonus in Asia!

Location is about 5 minutes walk from the fountain and everywhere is easily accessible. There are bikes available but I never got up early enough to avail of them! My bed was extremely comfortable obviously.

Brad is a very engaging host and one of the most chilled out people I've ever met. He provides a map with many sites marked and numerous suggestions for eating. Any of them I tried were on the money. Special mention to Kung's café for great Lao coffee. All the staff were friendly and efficient.

I won't be looking at any other options on my next trip to Vientiane, I'll be back here.

Room Tip: My room had a balcony at the front of the hotel. Street noise might bother a light sleeper so ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LostInPyongyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Champa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Champa

Property: Moonlight Champa
Address: 13 Pangkham Road | Chanthaboury District, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Soukxana Guesthouse)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonlight Champa is perfectly situated in a quiet, leafy neighborhood just five minutes walk from Namphu and the heart of Vientiane. It has been totally renovated in a modern and minimalist style. All our rooms have windows,air conditioning and free WiFi along with the comfiest beds in town so that you can enjoy your day fully rested and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Moonlight Champa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing