We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under new management, lost deposit, reception staff with zero English!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vientiane GuestHouse
Phnom Penh, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
1 review
“Under new management, lost deposit, reception staff with zero English!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We arrived to find that the management of the guest house had apparently changed and the new owner had no knowledge of our Hostelworld booking. Instead of offering an apology and refunding my $10 deposit, he suggested that I kindly 'forget' about it and agree to take a room at a higher price to the one I had booked. Thanks a million! Stay here and be scammed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duccusp82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

We booked this hotel by making searching on internet, we found this guesthouse. We spent nearly one week here, we felt satisfied with the room, staff and service. The location is terrific,very walkable and close to tons of great little local sidewalk eating places, and right by the night walking streets. We'd stay there again for sure

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewhatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We honestly experienced no problems with this hostel - the guy (Ming or Michael) runs the whole place by himself and does a great job. His English is perhaps not the best but he is always trying to learn. I have read some of the other reviews and didn't find anything like that at all. The room was fine - big bed, shower, TV, air con - what else could you need? When we asked Ming to help us organise a bus to Luang Prabang he did so straight away, and also set us up with accommodation with his cousins at the excellent Khammany Inn.

Honestly, this place was fine and made our stay in Vientiane very pleasurable.

Room Tip: You need to press the little button in the middle of the door knob on the way out to get it to lock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

At 1st glance the hostel looked ok. When checking in we asked about the free airport transfer that was offered online & we were told that we had to pay. I got on the website & showed where in capital letters it stated free airport transfer & the guy finally gave in after a lot of arguing. The door to our room barely closed or & you needed to force it to open & we later found out that once you're in the bathroom you can't get out as the knob was broken & there needed to be a 2nd person in the bedroom to get you out. When I told the guy about it he was unconcerned & laughed saying he would fix it soon. There was also a horrible toilet/sewer smell in the bathroom. The room had no towels, soap or toilet paper so I had to go ask. I got the Tp & towels & when I asked for soap the guy asked if the website said there was soap included. Seriously?! That's a basic for even the lowliest guest house! It gets better.... The sheets & duvet were full of stains & generally looked unclean. I used my sleep sack that night because I was totally grossed out & I've slept in some questionable places before! Upon waking up I discovered multiple bed bugs crawling on the bed *shudders* I just pray they didn't get into all my stuff because that would be a nightmare.Also, there was barely any water pressure in the shower so it took me ages to wash & rinse with the little trickle coming out. As an additional note, the free breakfast is only toast & tea. My friend & I paid $30 total for the night & we were totally ripped off. Other people staying there also had issues being in a noisy room with the water tank above them so every time anyone used water in the hotel it would be really loud. The guy at the hotel insisted it was ok because it wasn't a constant noise. Only after they threatened to leave in the middle of the night due to the noise did they get a room change. Beware & just go find somewhere else to stay that's cleaner & cheaper!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapecorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Booked for two nights at the hostel and were redirected to the guesthouse which was fine. Still nicely located for everything in the town (not that there's much!) and our room was a decent size. However there was an extra single bed in there which meant the double was squashed up against the window and left about 6inches between the beds as floor space so it felt cramped. Our bedroom door would jam and I need to use my body weight to open and close it. Similar issues with the bathroom door, but with added broken handle so we got locked into it a few times. Chap from reception fixed this on our second day, he also remove the extractor fan filter in the bathroom to get rid of the bad sewage smell, and left dirt and dust all over the floor. Only 2 bulbs out of 9 worked meaning there was poor light, and the balcony outside the room was filled with old dirty mattresses. Our sheets and towels were all stained with what looked like blood spots, which is understandable with the amount of Mosquitos in the room. We have stayed in worse for longer and in fact would have endured 4 more nights if the guy wasn't asleep in reception at 3pm and grumbling when we woke him to speak to him about all of the above!! He was quite rude, and not very helpful during any part of our stay. Breakfast is jam on toast - cook it yourself at the back of reception. Not good value for money - definitely worth paying a little extra for somewhere nicer...!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyATW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

The guy over at the hostel pointed us here due to us asking for a triple room, he charged 160k,
The room looked like a disused cupboard/toilet(without the toilet)/wet room. the guy here eventually put a mattress on the floor and I had to ask for a cover.....
the room was mosquito infested and an array of other animals, like a little zoo......ha
Maybe they were just trying to accommodate us, but waking this morning and seeing the place in its full yellow flakey painted light....No thanks!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Location:

The guesthouse is located fairly nicely. It is a short stroll to the river where the night market is held. It is close to the center of town and you can reach all of the good restaurants and bars by foot.

Room:

It was a double ensuite and it would have been a struggle for one traveler. Extremely small and poorly laid out. We did manage to sneak a peek into a twin room and it was quite a bit larger. They don't clean the room unless you leave the key. The water makes a loud pumping noise any time you use the shower/tap/toilet. That goes for your neighbor upstairs as well. So better hope your on the same bathroom break schedule during the night, otherwise your going to be woken up a LOT!

Staff:

The staff is actually pretty helpful. Sometimes there is a language break down, so you need to make sure you are understood.

Visa:

DON'T get your Cambodia visa here or anywhere. We paid $39 to get our visa, thinking this would circumnavigate any trouble at the border. The fact is, if you are going over the border with a bus company that does cross border travel they take care of everything for you anyway. Those that were on the bus with us paid a total of $30 for their visa. We paid $39 in Vientiane AND we had to give an extra $6 per passport for the customs stamps. Think we got through some line quicker? Nope, same wait.

For more on Vientiane, copy and paste the link below into your browser.

aroundtheworldtripping.com/2012/10/16/vientiane/

Room Tip: If your a couple, just go for the twin room. You get more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.3 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chaleunehoung Hotel
Chaleunehoung Hotel
#107 of 197 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#24 of 94 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane GuestHouse

Property: Vientiane GuestHouse
Address: 044/19 Chao Anou Road | Ban Hai Sok, Vientiane 856, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing