We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite fabulous” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandala Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quite fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

very lovely place...they have an open air restaurant too and an excellent breakfast...the slight problem is that communicating with the Laotian staff was very difficult - true, you cannot expect them to speak English (or French or German) but when you want information or help or pay the bill you need someone around who can communicate with you...thankfully here the management comes to help in this situations...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shiva1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    74
    47
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
84
25
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

stayed at this hotel rooms clean. service awful, arrived at 15:00 room not available have to wait, 2 minutes later room available. room still being cleaned when we get there. free breakfast, first day had eggs, bread, coffee etc. second breakfast no menu given! free Internet in your room! FORGET IT. complained to manager, said problem with the Internet provider, FORGET IT, next said problem was fixed FORGET IT! had to go to the lobby to use the Internet, problem not with the provider but with the hotel. at that evening at the restaurant for a glass of wine for the room, the restaurant manager won't give a glass, told me to drink the wine from the mini bar! cost for the lousy glass was 10 US dollars...hotel staff has no idea on service, just keep away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilAmsterdam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandalaBoutiqueHotel, Manager at Mandala Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Neil,

I am very sorry you had such a bad experience in our hotel.

I kindly ask for understanding that we had an unexpected late check-out in your room which led to the late cleaning.

The internet problem was caused by the provider but was fixed after a while. Unfortunately, you did not mention that the access point near your room (one out of five we have) did not work. The re-setting of the access point was quickly done.

I suppose on the second morning you had coffee, bread etc as well as we offer this as buffet and only fresh made egg-dishes or soup have to be ordered. If the staff did not hand out the menu, I apologize for that and guarantee more training and awareness in future.

And I deeply apologize that the restaurant manager sent you to your room for a glass of wine. I talked to him and he assured to me that there was a misunderstanding and he also feels sorry for that. We have a good selection of open wines for our guests and at your next trip to VTE I gladly invite you to a glass.

Philipp Bode
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Besancon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I spent 2 months in the Mandala Boutique Hotel during a business trip in Laos end of 2012. This was just a great experience. The room was great and the hotel quiet. Staff was very friendly. Only (very) small downside, the hotel is about 20 minutes walk from town and tuk-tuk are not plentiful in the area. For now 6 years, I have regularly stayed in Laos and this has been my best hotel so far.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludovic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Beautiful colonial boutique hotel.
Breakfast was the best we had during our trip through Laos.
The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood but not too far from the attractions.
The perfect place to stay in Vientiane.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterenDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this small hotel. The room was smallish but adequate. The TV had a good selection of channels and there was a small fridge. The shower was good with a rainshower nozzle (although the temp was a little low). The only downside was that the noise in the corridor carried so that, if you had inconsiderate neighbours as we did one night, the sound was very loud in your room. The breakfast was one of the best we have had on our travels. Beautiful fresh baquettes, good freshly prepared omelettes and lovely local yoghurt served by friendly staff and taken on a peaceful platform in the garden. The hotel is a little far out but we didn't mind the walk and it does mean that you are away from traffic noise and fumes.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better as the downstairs ones seem close to the breakfast area and less private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

My wife and I were arriving in Vientiane late and only staying one night on the first leg of our Laos trip so we booked somewhere "cheap and cheerful".

The hotel airport pick-up didn't arrive (we later found out that another guest had cancelled their airport pick-up but the hotel got muddled on who had cancelled so sent the driver to collect the non shower and cancelled our pick-up, a long and painful story to type out but it gives you an idea of what to expect in Laos).

The room was fairly nice, very basic but nothing much to go wrong either. There are lots of mosquitoes in the rooms and around the hotel. No one cares about mosquitoes so you have to bring lots of repellent. This is typical in Laos - it is no Singapore!

The breakfast was surprisingly good. Fresh baguette and croissant, natural yoghurt and stuff. Simple but the best I tried during my week in Laos. What was particularly impressive is that a German chap arrived at the breakfast bar and checked the freshness of the food and inspected the area - he turned out to be the manager. It was very obvious in Laos that hotels/restaurants with a western manager had higher standards. The local staff are always polite but have never travelled outside the country so can't comprehend higher international standards.

Location wise the hotel is not ideal for the main sights but if it isn't too hot or raining the town centre is only 10 to 15 minutes walk away.

In short, a nice place to stay and good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

we booked what we thought were 'Deluxe rooms' at the Mandala Boutique hotel believing - as the website says - we would have a private terrace - but not so - not only did we not have a terrace we were put in rooms adjacent to the restaurant meaning there was no privacy - for example in the morning as people were breakfasting 5m away all curtains had to be kept closed - basically you couldnt be in your room with the curtains open and the only other light source was the plastic roof above the bathroom - a very strange concept. Obviously I didnt stay in the room unless absolutely necessary! Saying that - the room itself had every amenity, the breakfast staff were delightful and the hotel is situated in a quiet part of toen - albeit quite a distance from the centre.. i would say definitely worth a stay but be specific and say you dont want a room by the restaurant.

Room Tip: NOT a room by the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank normansfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.8 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 97 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#6 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Rose Boutique Hotel
New Rose Boutique Hotel
#13 of 97 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandala Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Boutique Hotel

Property: Mandala Boutique Hotel
Address: Ban Phiawat, 33 Unit 10, Sisatanak District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandala Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Vientiane changes, so does our villa. Originally built as a private residence for a French family in the 1960s, the site became a school with up to 500 children in 1992 before it was turned into a hotel at the beginning of this century. Despite the changes, our guests still can feel the privacy and comforts of home in each corner of the hotel. The four original buildings host 23 newly designed rooms and are surrounded by a green and cozy garden with seats under large shady trees. The Mandala Boutique Hotel is located in a small side road away from the busy streets of Vientiane, but within walking distance to the city center and just a 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mandala Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing