We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class boutique hotel in Vientiane”
Review of Dhavara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dhavara Hotel
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“World class boutique hotel in Vientiane”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We only stayed for one evening in this lovely centrally located boutique hotel. We stayed in the suite which has a huge separate living area. There was a lovely large balcony off both the bedroom and living area with views over Vientiane city. It only had one single chair so our only suggestion is to include a second chair and perhaps a little table so that both room occupants can enjoy the balcony area. The furnishing was top quality - a reproduction Louis XV style but with all modern comforts and very importantly, extremely clean. The room also had a high quality Geneva brand MP3 stereo system which was an added nice touch along with a fully stocked mini bar.

The room amenities were to a very high standard and included slippers, bath robes, shampoo, body wash, toothbrush, comb, etc. The bathroom had a standing shower as well as a large bath tub, and double sink too. Only thing missing was a spare toilet roll 'just in case' ;)

The staff were extremely efficient and professional throughout both the check-in and check-out process.

The free transfer to the airport was in a nice clean and airconditioned van which was much appreciated. The hotel is also within walking distance to some great restaurants and entertainment areas.

This beautiful hotel really did exceed our expectations in many ways and we would have no hesitation in staying again whether it be for a holiday or business. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    79
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
127
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We recently spent two very comfortable nights at Dhavara. Mimi and her staff are very attentive to your needs. The room was very clean, properly air conditioned and furnished comfortably with the bed a major factor. The hotel is relatively new and is centrally located. The transportation service to and from the hotel is excellent. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zamborgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patong, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I'm not sure that I can adequately expand upon the previously posted comments! This is a magical hotel! From the moment that you arrive at this beautiful property you are in an altered universe. The initial contact is beyond great. The attentiveness of every staff member is really incredible, they anticipate your every need and never make you feel that they are waiting for a tip! The service is perfection, all your needs are met quickly and efficiently. The room are beautiful and I really do not think that there could be a bad room in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Beautiful hotel - we believe it opened less than a year ago. Owned and managed by a Laos family.

Very welcoming and beautiful lobby. Large, immaculate and nicely appointed rooms.

The staff from the front desk, to security, to the breakfast area, to the General Manager, were all very helpful, efficient and kind. We especially appreciated the warmth and help of Mai and Noy (spelling?) at the front desk.

This hotel is very centrally located, in contrast to the new Rashmi's which is 10-15 minutes away from town.

We were very happy with this hotel, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TGH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in Dhavara for 4 nights in July 2013 and we are very happy with the Hotel and service. This Chic and beautiful hotel is located in the centre where you are able to walk to the Mekong river and tourist attraction easily.( Nothing much to see at Mekong river) There are plenty of Restaurants and Bars around the area.The staff is friendly especially Rejoice who is good in his work. Keep in up ! The room is clean, breakfast is good and service is excellent. Dont expect good internet speed in Laos. Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Dhavara and Vientiane. We think 3 nights are enough for Vientiane and you may visit other part of Laos.

Room Tip: Choose Higher floor for room to see the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracomsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Louangphrabang, Laos
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you are not on having a low budget, come for busines, and looking for big room comfortable bed and decent toilet. This hotel is a must to stay. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Nice small breakfast corner with many selections. We keep coming back to stay here every time that we come to Vientiane. There are few things that this hotel did not provide are the swimming pool with gym, a nice bar to hang out. But within 5 minutes walking step you are in the middle of the city that you can reach all the local good food, nice 5 stars restaurant, River Khong Park, temples, etc. Definitely clean!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narisaraporn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed at Dhavara Hotel for business travel for 9 days and found it to be a great alternative to other comparable hotels like Lao Plaza. Some staff are still on a bit of a learning curve (considering it just opened last year) but all were very friendly and helpful and attentive. The rooms are large and very clean and the decor is luxurious. Loved the classical, Italian and French music playing in the lobby. It was a great place to work in the afternoons as well (2nd floor) with lots of light, lovely background music and great cappuccino. The manager also went out of her way to make us feel welcome. I would recommend Dhavara to any business or holiday traveler wanting comfort at a reasonable price and in a great location.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are nice but you do hear the street noise. I preferred the inside room whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KH-Global_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
905 reviews
1.4 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
1.1 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#7 of 93 in Vientiane
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhavara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhavara Hotel

Property: Dhavara Hotel
Address: Manthaturath Rd. | XiengNgeun Villiage, Chanthabury District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhavara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabaidee and welcome to the Dhavara Boutique Hotel, Vientiane. It is our pleasure to welcome you to our colonial residence in the Vientiane Capital. The name, Dhavara, derived from Sanskrit which means ‘beautifully white’ as the inspiration of the architecture. The Dhavara Boutique Hotel is honored to introduce the Lao culture and tradition to you through the hotel decorations, services, and cuisine while you will have the comfort of your home away from home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dhavara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing