We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction site. Go somewhere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I made 2 mistakes last week. One was to believe the overrated reviews of fellow trip advisors (some people really change their rates just because they are backpacking in Asia), the other was to book 4 nights with Agoda (which are already paid and cannot cancel anymore).

The place should be very good if it were not a construction site. I am currently writing from my room with a constant hammering noise that is starting to become annoying. Fortunately I have meetings the whole day and had not to endure it until now (4pm).

The amazing pool or peaceful balcony or 'most comfy bed in 50 years' that other guests wrote in their reviews.... well, maybe it was not the same place. And the pool, well... no comment (I rather swim in the Mekong nearby).

Also, it should not be called a hotel, when it is actually a guesthouse. Run by a Vietnamese family who is always around: by the pool, by the breakfast area, ... I was also surprised of the low standard service. Quite cold reception and attention that would be expected in any hotel, and particularly in Southeast Asia! Well, here it is not the case.

Also, by 4pm, my room was not yet cleaned. When I asked, they said that maybe mine is the last one to be cleaned. But I am lucky today. I cannot stand the noise anymore and will go and find a cafe to wait for the noise to finish and the workers go home. Hopefully by that time the room has been already cleaned (but I am not trust my luck too much anyway).

The breakfast is fine though. You can order omelette, eggs, or Pho (vietnamese soup).

Make yourself a favor and find some place else to go. At least until the 'renovation works' are over and you can enjoy the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aldonbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
There are newer reviews for Vientiane Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

The room 508 was big and clean facing the garden and pool. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was good with unlimited quantity of bread, fruits, cereal, coffee and tea. A nice place to relax and within walking distance to the riverfront to exercise.

Room Tip: If possible avoid room 404. This corner room is damp with plenty of small insects including mosquito...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESLIM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed 4 nights in Vientiane Garden Hotel and I must say that I cannot understand the great reviews I read before booking. Firstly, I was taken into a room that was extremely shabby with worn tables and a tiny bathroom. I went back to the reception and they transferred me to another room, which was a lot better but still not according to what they had promised in their website:
- no in-room safe, safe only available in reception. I also needed to clafiry what I was leaving to the safe in the reception (eg. Count the currencies I had). When I checked out, everything that I had left was still there which is positive.
- no telephone (local calls were advertised free but only possible from the reception)
- no voice mail, since no telephone in the room
- no balcony but merely 2 chairs and a table in the open corridor where you walk into your room
- no bathtub/shower combo, only shower
- no make-up/magnifying mirror

Also, when I showed them the list from their own internet site, they said that the pictures in the web page are no longer valid! As they are undergoing renovation, they have failed to update the pics on their home page! The pictures on Tripadvisor were up to date, even though showing fancier than the actual outcome.

The pool water was so clowdy that I did not want to jump in, instead I took shower in my room when I needed cooling off. There was no shower at the pool area either. On top, there were no sun beds, only chairs where you cannot really lay down fully. During my 4 nights in the hotel, they did not clean the pool once.

The breakfast was partly buffet and partly by order. Buffet consisted on selection of fruit, juice, corn flakes with milk, nescafe/tea bags and toast with some jams and butter. You could order different styled eggs, pancakes and noodle soup.

Daily cleaning of the room was excellent though, they even ironed my linen! The service in total was good after the first day's hassle with the room, they do order you a taxi to the airport in advance, cost of 62,000 kip vs 58,000 kip coming from the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatAdventure2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

I loved staying at Vientiane Garden hotel, it was super good value. The rooms were really nice with air con and en suite, it also had a lovely swimming pool when the days get too hot! Staff were extremely friendly and offered excellent service. I stayed on my first trip to Vientiane and again on my return- I even extended my stay... Def

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nlawrence87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The hotel was really good ! We stayed there for 2 nights, after four days of drinking in Vang Vieng.. And we wanted a nice hotel to relax, and get sober. The pool was nice and cool, and the room had a good aircondition. The staff was really helpfull, they helped with transportation og visas for Vietnam, and we didnt have to do anything. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The room was clean and spacious. Everything looked new. The staff were helpful and friendly. The free wifi was excellent. Areas for improvement would be to re-align the room door to remove or minimise the gaps, to install a small holder for shampoo and bath gel bottles in the shower cubicle, and to have a means to communicating with the front desk directly from the room (for example, a telephone).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teckeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

After a 15 hour trip in an overcrowded minivan, i decided to go for an hotel with a bit more luxury than then usual backpacker-stay. Even though I checked in early and was offered a full breakfast buffet, no extra costs were charged! In addition, I was able to get a good price for the room. After a short nap I enjoyed a little swim at the pool. Had a good, quiet night (quality beds!) and continued my journey well rested the day after. The staff was very friendly and can be surprisingly funny. Their level of english is quite high for lao standards, so they are able to give you some good advice and tips for the rest of you trip. All in all I was very happy with my choice for the garden hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gcdejong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Garden Hotel

Address: 056 Sihome Road | Ban Sihome, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £21 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vientiane Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most centrally located hotel in Vientiane, the Vientiane Garden Hotel is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior Garden View, 24 deluxe Garden View, 4 suites Garden View. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vientiane Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing