We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Over 65 travellers” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vientiane Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over 65 travellers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

As we turned into the road where the hotel was we wondered 'what have we done', it was a back street full of pot holes and dust and not very nice. We walked down the lane to be greeted with a reasonably large hotel with a pool. The owners and staff are Vietnamese and very friendly and accommodating. As said in other reviews the place is in a state of remodelling which could go on for a few more months, at times it was quite noisy. Our room had been repainted and modernised, had coffee and tea with mini bar, air conditioning was good, the shower in the bathroom did not have a waste, the water ran out across the floor to the other side of the toilet. The hot water at times was hard to regulate and the pressure was not good. There is no hair dryer or phone and TV is Lao only no English or other language. The bed was quite hard as it appeared to be on a concrete base. The pool was cloudy when we arrived, after 4 days it was green, we did not use it but others did. Breakfast had corn flakes, fruit, pancakes, toast and eggs done a number of ways, tea and coffee. The table clothes need changing as they were well worn and grubby. It is not far from the river, eateries, night market, and the many Wats on every corner. We booked on agoda and I guess the price was right for being so close to everything but as for quality of the hotel it is over priced even after the renovations. Staff arranged a taxi to take us to the airport at 4.30am they were always very helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room down the back away from the front wing that is being renovated because of the noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Masjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    202
    108
    39
    33
See reviews for
60
193
72
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I was there for two nights 18 & 19 August. Apparently renovations have been completed as there wasn't any construction going on. The pool was was clean and an absolute joy. Breakfast was good, the room was great. There was an issue with the lock on the door of my room. This was promptly corrected with perhaps one more apology than was necessary. I appreciated The owner, Tommy, and his staff. Will I stay there next time? Absolutely!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The hotel was going through remodeling while I was there in early July 2013. It was an annoyance, but they weren't too obtrusive. The pool. . . well, how can I say it, you were not able to see the bottom - too murky. They emptied it the afternoon prior to my departing. As hot as Vientiane was, I had to use it anyway for the days I was there.

The hotel makes mention they have a safe deposit box. Not in their rooms, not at the front desk. They have a safe where you can place your money/items there. The owner of the hotel picked up one the next day. So, I was able to place my valuables in a metal box that someone can just pick up and walk out with it. I guess they don't have theft problems.

At $40 USD per day, it is not cheap, but it is reasonable for Vientiane. The pool, though murky, was a plus. Would I stay there again? Perhaps. The location was central and a close walk to the downtown area. Tuk-tuks are expensive and have banded together to overcharge all tourists. They charge taxi prices because there aren't enough taxi's to serve the areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights. On our last day we discovered that you had to have your visa sorted before you can enter Vietnam. The hotel manager Mr Tommy was so helpful organising for us to get our visas in twenty-four hours. We had to change our flights until the next day which he also helped us with. He organised for our visas to be issued at the Embassy, a car to the airport, hotel in Hanoi and a car to and from the airport in Hanoi. We really appreciated all the help he gave us. The hotel ...Hanoi Graceful Hotel... that he booked us into in Hanoi was excellent and well priced. Also Mr Tommy rung us in Hanoi that night to checked everything was ok. Overall a very big tick for the help we recieved, It is always difficult these sort of things when in a foreign country but the management of this hotel went way beyond the norm.....we are so grateful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WayneMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Yes the construction work was annoying and our first impression was not great, but the rubble mess was cleared at end of each day and the area hosed down, so we only really noticed it when arriving early afternoon. The pool had just been emptied, cleaned and refilled that day. We enjoyed it!. We had 2 rooms , o e being a family room with queen and 2 singles, quite spacious but no windows. But excellent air con. Did make it nice and dark to sleep in and quiet! Fine for a bed for the night if out all day exploring. A 5 minute walk to night market and the river, restaurants and in a quiet side street. I'd rate as a 3 star. Rooms clean, breakfast ok, a little basic but adequate. We found staff helpful and they drove us to airport at v good rate. Tuk tuks on street outside

Room Tip: First floor have communal balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizWHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the Ventiane Garden Hotel for two nights and enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately when we arrived the pool was green and it was subsequently emptied and scrubbed before refilling which was not completed until we had left. Reading other reviews it seems to be a bit of an ongoing problem. We weren't bothered by the renovations but were out both days. It is an easy walk to river and night market etc. Breakfast was good and we found the staff helpful and friendly.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneBeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Aggressive and rude Vietnamese manager (with no smile at all ever) ruined an otherwise not bad stay. Agoda have deleted my review already on their site! The place is ok and yes Vietnamese run, no problem, most staff are fine. Manager wanted to put us in a tiny room for 3 people we are 5! Needed the King bed and two singles. I threatened to call Agoda and he eventually caved in ... and honoured the booked voucher .... spoilt our stay though and I (we) cancelled a return stay after time in Luang Prabang. Pool was ok though, murky the first day and then they cleaned it properly ... hope it is still ok! Breakfast was ok, order stuff from the kitchen. Renovations are underway and when finished maybe quite nice. A good budget option but be prepared to be direct with the Vietnamese staff (bar on nice Lao man who said the Manager was crazy!). If they try to gouge you or not do the right thing, tell them where to go! Our experience was not perfect, others may have no problems so enjoy this well appointed budget hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure they honour Agoda/Booking etc. bookings and be prepared to be tough with them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noufy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#23 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#16 of 97 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Garden Hotel

Property: Vientiane Garden Hotel
Address: Sihome Road, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vientiane Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most centrally located hotel in Vientiane, the Vientiane Garden Hotel is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior Garden View, 24 deluxe Garden View, 4 suites Garden View. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vientiane Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing