We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little HAVEN OF PEACE and friendliness in the capital of Laos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Ranked #20 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Though it is some time ago now since we were there we feel we still have to report how much we enjoyed our stay and how well we felt, first of all because of the friendliness of the young people running the hotel. They were still in the starting phase after the opening, so that small things sometimes were missing, but for the rest everything was so fine – cosy spacious rooms, lovely swimming pool in agreeable enclosed garden, rich breakfast with many choices – that this didn't really matter. The young men were very attentive to help us with everything we wished and when the tuk tuk to pick us up for leaving to Vang Vieng didn't turn up they kept phoning to ensure we wouldn't miss the bus. (Later we learned that these delays are quite normal in Laos). After our visit to Luang Prabang we went back there to spend a few more days. It felt like coming home. While we felt that many people working in hotels and shops were really keen on our money (behind the welcoming “Sabaidee”) the young men of this hotel were spontaneously friendly and very generous : I even didn't have to pay for renting a bike the last day. We still think with pleasure at our stay in the Vientiane Garden Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebbandflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

As most have said, a very nice hotel for the price. Staff super friendly and great location. Room was spacious and clean, good wifi, and good amenities (hot water kettle, fridge, spacious shower). I never used the pool but it looked inviting. THe breakfast was tasty with fresh fruits, choice of prepared eggs, instant coffee/tea. My one recommendation is that you go for an upper floor room as the first floors are rather dark.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Straitgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

There have been numerous well written and accurate reviews done on this hotel so I will not repeat a lot of the details. The I'll fitting doors were reported a long time back and still have not been repaired. The rooms though are quite adequate but a little dark or at least ours was (508). Everything did work though and was clean. We were picked up at the airport on time and the driver was friendly. We got good service but still in the casual laid back style so typical in Laos not the attentive super friendly Vietnam experience but each culture is different so we were satisfied. Breakfast is buffet and adequate. The temperature in Vientaine was +37 while we were there so the pool was a godsend. Used it most days to survive the afternoon heat. We did negotiate a fair price from their rack rate.
This would be a solid 4 star if they did the door repairs reported so long ago. Hotel security is very important. This hotel deserves to be on your list for mid price range and when it's 35+C put it near the top. Very few hotels in this price range have a pool and this one is kept very clean.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank mylesleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hotel is fine, second time I stayed there so it must be OK, nothing outstanding except nice pool. Breakfast adequate, staff friendly and ready to help . I was there only 1 night so hard to make a judgment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alapatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed in one of the family rooms and were pleasantly surprised by the value of this hotel, staff was friendly and room clean, the pool area is nice and it is just a short walk from the centre. We couldn't hear any noise from the backpackers next door. Comfortable budget option. Breakfast was very tasty!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter298570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Very bad Becarfull with this hotel same the manager bad men...and more same for security men check your room when you are outside and stolen...and manys nice hotels cheaper and staff smile another place why stay in vientiane...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

You get a lot for your money here. I made my reservation with booking.com and only stayed a night as I was on a visa run. Didn't do much research, just picking one that looked decent and didn't cost the earth. The location is great, with bars and restaurants in the vicinity. Clean pool. which is really quite quaint with the trees providing much needed shade.
My room was more than I expected, ultra clean with a very good shower and big comfy bed. The only downside can be the noise, the walls are thin, however I did sleep well and wasn't disturbed. With that in mind and the WiFi not being up to scratch I wouldn't call this place excellent, but it is certainly close considering the price, and I would be more than happy to return here on my next visit to Vientiane.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomBaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 95 in Vientiane
543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#5 of 95 in Vientiane
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 95 in Vientiane
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
1.5 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#9 of 95 in Vientiane
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 95 in Vientiane
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Garden Hotel

Address: 056 Sihome Road | Ban Sihome, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £23 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vientiane Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most centrally located hotel in Vientiane, the Vientiane Garden Hotel is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior Garden View, 24 deluxe Garden View, 4 suites Garden View. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vientiane Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing