We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good a for a couple of nights....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is place where you need to lug your luggage up the stairs. Breakfast is simple with bread, toast, fruits, cereals, coffee and tea. I can guarantee that the pool is clean as i saw them cleaning it. They have good English speaking driver, Vila, that can picked you up at the airport and you can pay him more to bring you around to places you want to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean, the breakfast simple but good, and the staff was for the most part very helpful, though some spoke little English. The place was extremely quiet at night, which was nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluelilac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just over than 15minutes we reached to the hotel. Nice space and clean room with well equipped. The surrounding is large, peaceful and nice swimming pool. We totally spent 3nights here and very happy with the hotel services. May Be not the best but may hard to find to compare the deals they offered. We will recommend for everyone.

Room Tip: Keep the room on the 2nd floor is nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Location seems out of town but it's really easy to get to the main points of interest from here by tuk tuk and it's only a five minutes walk to the night market. The hotel is tucked away behind a backpacker hostel and so first impressions are a little surprising. But don't be fooled, this is an excellent hotel. The staff are very good, attentive and helpful. The rooms are excellent, we even had a dvd player! The hotel is very clean and has character. The swimming pool isn't big but good enough for a nice cooling off, the only downside was no beds by the pool just chairs. The reception can arrange Vietnam visas for only $8 more than the fee at the consulate, and it costs $4 each way in a tuktuk! They can also arrange onward buses. Stay here for an excellent all round visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vandaandcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The room was clean but lacked any sign of passion. Sleep quality was okay. The staff was friendly and helpful. A big bonus was the pool area. Breakfast was simple and good. A bit too expensive for what you get - 40$ for a doubleroom per night - but this is the Capital.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5months2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Pros - the hotel is set back from the street, providing a little oasis. Staff is friendly. The pool is a huge plus in this price range and was pretty clean while we were here. Our room was well equipped with a mini-fridge, wardrobe, two nightstands, and two chairs so we had elsewhere to sit besides the bed. This is a rarity to have a room properly outfitted in Laos. Very clean, water pressure great, endless hot water.

So why the poor score? First, and as always in Laos, the in-room internet was spotty at best. Second, the breakfast is a pretty dismal state of affairs, leading us to eat out some even though breakfast was included. I should note that some of the rooms are not as well-equipped as ours. I was shown a "luxury" room first for $50 - a bit bigger and on the second floor. It had no chairs, mini-fridge or coffee maker, and the "balcony" was two chairs on a long shared hallway. Our $40 was much better equipped, so ask to see the room first. Another note: this place is popular with families and thus crawling with kids. Lots of crying at all hours of the day, lots of running around (creating a lot of noise), and the pool is mayhem and not relaxing at all, especially since many parents left their kids unsupervised, including kids who could not swim. The big deal breaker, as others have said, are the paper thin walls. We had a family of 6 (!) staying in one room above us, and it was a nightmare. You can hear a mouse sneeze, so you can imagine what else you can hear (arguments, kids crying, people talking on the phone, TV, alarms, etc.). I have never woken up so angry in my life. Room tip: as others have said, take a room higher up and away from the courtyard if you can. Also, avoid Room 501 and any other rooms under the stairs at all costs - otherwise, you will hear people traipsing up and down at all hours.

This place has the potential to be a little gem, but given this issues, it's way too much for the $40/night we paid, and until the noise issue is fixed, I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WanderrlustAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We picked this hotel, as it has a pool and a reasonable price. When we arrived we were greeted by superb staff and shown to one of the cleanest and best-equipped rooms in SE Asia. The street outside is not special, but the rooms and pool make you feel like you are away from the busy city life. Mekong, night markets, shopping and great restaurants are close by. Super-fast wifi in rooms and a delicious breakfast, included are extra bonuses. Cannot recommend more highly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiscerningBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#7 of 97 in Vientiane
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#22 of 97 in Vientiane
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#14 of 97 in Vientiane
73 reviews
1.5 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 97 in Vientiane
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Garden Hotel

Address: 056 Sihome Road | Ban Sihome, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £20 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vientiane Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most centrally located hotel in Vientiane, the Vientiane Garden Hotel is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior Garden View, 24 deluxe Garden View, 4 suites Garden View. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vientiane Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing