We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really is "Golden".”
Review of Lao Golden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lao Golden Hotel
Ranked #89 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It really is "Golden".”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in the Lao Golden hotel after a week of experiencing several other hotels in Vientiane. It was by far the most comfortable stay, with the nicest room, the most courteous hotel staff, the best food and breakfast, and a lovely view of the neighborhood.

It's not in the city center, so if you prefer river views, backpackers and bars, this may not be your first choice. However, it's a short motorbike ride to the city center. This is also the perfect location if you're visiting Laos to get your Thai Visa, as it is a short walk away from the Thai embassy. During my week in Vientiane, I stayed four days near the embassy and two days in the city center. This was the perfect combination for me.

Now, I always prefer a hotel with a swimming pool and fitness room. While Lao Golden does not offer these amenities, you are a short walk away from Sendara Fitness — the best gym in town. Sendara boasts an outdoor pool with food and drinks, fitness classes, free weights and a fantastic, affordable massage they'll include with your 4 dollar guest pass for only $2.50!

In my experience, service can be slow in Vientiane. Not so at the Lao Golden Hotel. Room service at Lao Golden is fast and attentive. Their laundry service is fast and affordable — and they do a great job. The housekeeping is fast to clean the room, and they're quick with a smile.

All of the other hotels I experienced in Vientiane for the same price fell short of the quality I enjoyed at Lao Golden. I think the difference is in the hotel's management. I met the hotel manager and the owner, and they're really sharp people. They are both highly professional and fully dedicated to making their customers feel welcomed and appreciated. That goes a long way for me, and Lao Golden will be my hotel of choice for all future trips to Vientiane.

Room Tip: I prefer a higher floor with a view of the temple. Just realize they will beat a drum at dawn when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joshu828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
3
19
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We chose this hotel due to its close proximity to the Thai embassy (5 mins walk)- the main purpose of our visit to Vientiane was to get our Thai visas sorted. If you're looking to stay close to the tourist centre, this hotel might be too far for you (40 min walk to the restaurants/bar area or 200B tuk tuk ride of about 10 mins). Note, there are not many choices of eateries available around.

We stayed in a double room on the 7th floor- it was huge and clean with a view over the city, a big, comfortable bed and a futon, flat screen TV with English channels, air-con, mini-bar and a big bathroom with a bath tub. The only negative I can think of was that the 7th floor wi-fi didn't work and so we only had a very week, patchy signal from the 6th.

Buffet-style breakfast was a little bit disappointing if you didn't eat Asian food in the morning- the only Western choice available was toast and jam. But if you did, it had a great selection. Coffee was good.

Staff were very friendly. The manager spoke very good English and was extremely helpful - he ordered us a private taxi back to the friendship bridge for 400B, compared to a street side tuk tuk price of 350B, it was worth it (note: the tuk tuk will charge you full price of 350B and will stop along the way to pick up local passengers for a lesser price).

It was more expensive ($35 per night with breakfast) compared to what you get in all of South East Asia but it presented good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank combatgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel and rooms are clean.

Early check-in is possible at no extra cost.

Friendly staff, but speaks very poor English.

The hotel is far from the center, so you should always take a songthaeuw to get there. Next time I would prefer a hotel in the center of Vientiane.

The hotel website states that there are bicycles available. But it turns on they have only 2 bikes.

You get a bad exchange rate (I had agreed the price in dollars but paid in LAK).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lies o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Pros:
-Spotless room and bathroom.
-Breakfast (buffet style) was great.
-Staff were friendly although their level of English was poor.
-Free parking.

Cons:
-Location was far from any tourist areas.
-Taxi drivers have never heard of this place since it's quite new.
-Wifi was patchy. Although this might be a Loas issue rather than a hotel one.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiyadhSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The staff in the restaurant are very polite, friendly and courteous. Good food quality, variety, cleanliness and the meal price is affordable. Reception Counter staff are also helpful and friendly. The room is clean, spacious, comfortable with big windows. Ideal hotel location, within short walking distance, especially for those tourists intending to apply for Visa Extension at the Thai Embassy in Vientiane, Laos.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KohChuanPoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days while waiting for the student visa will be released the day after but we extended our stays for more night because we loved to stay in Laos for more than a day. The hotel is not great but what I liked here is the air condition was really working and the breakfast was also buffet although the foods were much, unlike other hotels they only serves 1 bread and light coffee but here the foods were great and you can have more than 1 cup of coffee as you like. The most I like here is just a walking distance to the Thai embassy if your main purpose is to apply Thai visa. And there are some restaurants, groceries and bars around and near the hotel. The hotel staffs were also accommodated, good and helpful. The rate per night was very cheap and value for money.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Khun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Attentive, friendly and excellent services by the Restaurant staff. Friendly, helpful and courteous Reception Counter staff. Enjoyed the 3 nights stay. Would highly recommend this hotel, especially for those visiting Vientiane for Visa extension purposes. I would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: The AC is wonderful as are the large windows in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WijitSung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.3 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#32 of 93 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Inn Vientiane
City Inn Vientiane
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
#25 of 93 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#13 of 197 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mali Namphu Guest House
Mali Namphu Guest House
#14 of 197 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Golden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Golden Hotel

Property: Lao Golden Hotel
Address: Tatmai Rd Phonsinuan Village Sisattanak District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lao Golden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lao Golden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing