We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value and location of any hostel in Vientiane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vientiane Star Hotel
Ranked #6 of 201 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having travelled up through southern Laos we had grown used to having to pay for any luxuries in our rooms (eg air con, ensuite, hot water... Towels...) So we were happily surprised with the amazing value of a place located right in the centre of the capital.

The rooms are amazing, very spacious and clean with plenty of toiletries, cable TV and air con as standard. The bathrooms were also of the same high standard and we were very happy to collapse here after our long journey.

As I have mentioned the location of the hostel is perfect especially if you wanted to do the lonely planet monument to Mekong cycling tour which starts in the road one over from the hostel (there are also plenty of bikes available for hire from the hostel to do the tour with at 10,000 kip per bike which you can keep hold of as late as you like).

The management staff are another great thing about the hostel. They are both very friendly and helpful when it comes to finding your way around. They also managed to sort out our door pretty quickly when the lock was broken (albeit with the help of a hammer) and even offered us anotherr room when it seemed we might not be able to get it to work.

Finally the key reason that you should book this place is the amazing cooked breakfast that is included with your room. With 5 or so different choices including pancakes and French toast it is Well worth booking a room here just for this reason alone!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Theroamingdrinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

One of our greatest experiences in Asia so far! We booked in for two nights at the Vientiane Star Hotel after reading the great reviews online. And we are so glad we did. From the moment we arrived, Phil and Phillip were so lovely and helpful. We were given a map of town and info on what to see and do. Phil invited us (and everyone staying there) to come out to 'Saturday Fight Night' - Muay Lao. Such a good night out with a bunch of other travellers, and heaps of locals. Not something we would have stumbled across on our own that's for sure. The included breakfast was big and delicious. The Vietnamese and Lao staff were also great. Had a few great chats with Wong, fun banter with Phillip and life discussions with Phil :) The rooms are spotless, with awesome rain showers (big shower heads) as well as the detachable kind. Hot shower, cool air con and powerful (but quiet) fan. Beds are hard (as expected in Asia!) with nice proper soft pillows and a cosy duvet/doona. Flat screen TV. Make sure you spend a few days in Vientiane if time allows - it's a beautiful little town, and these guys take their business and customer service seriously. It's all about who you meet when you travel - but Phillip, Phil, Wong and the others aren't where the praise ends here. Super cute hotel. Nice new facilities. Cool bar and outdoor area, great value for money. Stay here :) We will most definitely be back if we are ever in Vientiane again. Genuine good guys and a great hotel. We literally don't have a bad word to say about this place. It was awesome. Above and beyond our expectations. The good reviews are deserved :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and were amazed by the exemplary customer service provided by "big" Phil and little Phill. While our room (207) was small and basic, for $11 USD/night (booked on Booking.com) we had a great place to sleep, air conditioning, free wifi, complementary welcome water bottles and little soaps, clean linens, TV with English movie channels and free breakfast! You can't ask for much more.

That said, there was nothing expect the bed in the room and so no place to put cloths/laptop/stuff. The addition some basic furniture would get it 5 stars.

Overall, highly recommend as again the managers were the best we have ever come across in all our travels. They even invited us to join them for a lovely traditional Laotian dinner with their staff one night - we will never forget their warmth and hospitality :)

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and heard a lot of thumbing from the guests walking in the rooms above, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 333Durga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Not exceptional but not bad. Good location. Room was small with nothing but a bed. Everything clean and AC was cold but window on first floor room did not have glass and opened to some sort of storage area, ended up getting a lot of ants (no I did not eat in my room). Nice people running the show, breakfast was ok.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Yang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Rooms are fine, beds and bedding are always clean but the best thing about the hotel is the staff and the atmosphere . Phil and Phil run the place with a couple of friendly Laos and Vietnamese staff. Place is well worth going, we did twice! Highly recommended. Perfect place if your touring on motorbikes as there are places to leave them here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Stephan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Have stayed in Vientiane many times and this is by far the best budget place I have stayed so far. The staff are super friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean are comfortable. There's a nice communal atmosphere in the courtyard which is ideal for travelers who want to meet other people along the way. The location is perfect, being right downtown near the nightmarket and lots of great restaurants. Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicsmithlyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here as a long term guest (three weeks) and was immediately blown away by the genuine and sincere hospitality of the hosts, Phil and Phil : ) Younger Phil is a sterling example of true heartfelt hospitality and attentiveness (and such a great guy!) and Australian Phil is the perfect manager - his extension of help with anything I ever needed turned out to be true during my stay. The great atmosphere of the place is made by their attention to their guests, their knowledge of Vientiane and their willingness to help sort problems out instantly. This is a very rare quality - especially when it's real and not just going through the motions.

The Lao staff were awesome too - unfortunately I didn't get to know their names but they always smile and have little chats, and also do a great job helping out with cleaning and washing when needed.

The price is very low so don't expect luxury, though. I didn't and have been content with the simple lodgings. However you do get a new flat screen TV and aircon, which is pretty damn good : )

The only thing that could be improved is the inclusion of a simple desk and chair in the rooms, as other reviewers have suggested. For Western visitors this is essential, and while you can get used to using a laptop from your bed, I think the popularity of the place would soar if these simple facilities were included. Given the skill and genuine kindness of the hosts, a little bit of an upgrade (from the owners) would make this hotel a very popular place with backpackers and those looking for nice but non-expensive options in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santhuthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Mali Namphu Hotel
Mali Namphu Hotel
#13 of 97 in Vientiane
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#14 of 97 in Vientiane
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#7 of 97 in Vientiane
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#22 of 97 in Vientiane
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moonlight Champa
Moonlight Champa
#3 of 201 in Vientiane
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Star Hotel

Address: 18 Manthatourath Rd, Xien Yuen Village, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: £15 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vientiane Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vientiane Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing