We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy with overcharging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dream Home Hostel 2
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This place has potential but there's a lot of stuff going wrong at the moment. Firstly, they overcharge for everything. 200,000kip for a bus to Luang Prabang that costs 160,000. 10,000k for water that costs 6000k across the road. Our room was quoted in USD but they made us pay in kip with the worst exchange rate we got in the whole of Laos - including a land border crossing. Secondly, it looks nice in the pictures but it badly needs maintenance. Our shower door was broken. Our bathroom light didn't work, etc. The wifi worked about 15% of the time. Thirdly, they let people drink and yell in the common area until all hours (we complained at 2.30am). There must be better places out there....

Room Tip: If you have to stay here (and I would advise you not to) get a room as far up as possible so the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j9nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Simple and clean dorm rooms with shared showers and toilets per floor, AC and fan.

Service all in all in ok. But be careful to buy your tickets (flight, bus, ...) there. They want 100.000 kip for a ticket, that you can buy for yourself for 22.000 kip.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank AdrianSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great place to lay your head for a night or two in Vientiane. Staff is so accomidating, knowledge able and nice! The private double room was the best we have stayed at in a hostel in SEA, ranked higher then many hotels we stayed at to be honest!!! Very well keep up place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesseandSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

This hostel was initially difficult to find. However, the hostel itself is comfortable and clean. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Great place to meet people especially if you are traveling alone. One of the best hostels in south east Asia.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank D88k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our one night stay was great. We enjoyed the very good service and the friendly atmophere. The dorms are clean, lookers are underneath the bunkbeds, a/c in the dorm works good an quiet, the showers have a good presure and its clean. Breakfast is included and good. 5-10 Minutes walking distance around the hostel you will find some bars, restaurants and bakeries.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

If your backpacking and looking for a cheap, social place to stay, then this definitely the place to come to. If you are looking for a relaxing, comfortable environment then you should probably pay more somewhere else.
I stayed in the dorms (booked a 4 person but got bumped to six and then eight).

PROS:
Supercheap
Breakfast included
Great social vibe
Pool table is good touch

CONS:
Beds are rock hard
Shared bathroom stalls very small
Wifi only works in lobby if at all
Bookings don't seem to matter

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This is one of the nicest hostels we have stayed in. There was fantastic atmosphere, cleanliness, good food and a very efficient help desk. The location was good and its not too far away from the river front and local bars and clubs. We actually stayed in the Sihome garden backpackers hostel which is the sister hostel to the main building. It was a 2 minute walk down the road But it was so easy to float between the two. Our hostel was a lot more chilled out and was great to relax in and the other was great to meet people. We did both of their tours and they were great. The guide jono was lovely. In fact all the staff were so lovely and helpful. Most importantly the whole thing is managed by a lovely man called Phillip Who is a backpacker himself so He understands the want for a home away from home. He has managed to create a fantastic environment and I would Definitely go there again and recommend it to anyone! Also if your an artist you can show them your work, if they like it then you can do a piece for them on a wall and stay there for free!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
928 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 1
Dream Home Hostel 1
#2 of 108 in Vientiane
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#3 of 201 in Vientiane
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Home Hostel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Home Hostel 2

Address: 056 Sihome Road | Ban Sihome, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Sihome Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range: £10 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dream home Hostel. This is a brand new property of Western Standards Managed by Michael from Australia and Chef Johno from South Africa. This new establishment is located in the heart of Vientiane. The surrounding area hosts a large number of authentic Lao food options, markets, foreign restaurants, bars and the famous Mekong River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dream Home Hostel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing