We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the expensive side for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dream Home Hostel 2
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“On the expensive side for what you get”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The price is not right here, it is completely overpriced for what you get. We stayed in the new Garden SiHome Backpackers, just down the road from the original one. Stayed in a 4 bed all female dorm which had the most uncomfortable beds I have slept on, they are similar to concrete.
The room was not the cleanest, and neither was the rest of the place. The shared bathroom (for the entire floor) was pretty well disgusting everyday. The shower had decent pressure and had hot water so that was okay, but the crack in the door made showering a bit dodgy. No toilet paper here in the toilets, so bring your own for sure!!
Since it is all quite open, there are tons of mosquitoes so make sure you spray yourself every night before bed or whenever you are at the hostel.
The receptionist/owner, was an awesome Aussie who helped us with everything we needed, we asked about 100 questions and resolved every one for us! He is awesome, Phil was his name I believe, go to him if you need anything!
This place gives free breakfast, a definite bonus, pancakes, french toast, eggs, etc. all pretty delicious.
The location is okay, you can walk to most food spots, the main strip along the water and the night market within 10-15 min.
Overall, it is a bit pricey considering other places we have gotten in and around SE Asia.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    150
    75
    36
    33
See reviews for
10
106
167
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

The staff is very friendly and became friends with everyone. They organized day trips worth the money and kept guets active in a very good and funny manner. The hostels is perfect to meet other travellers and also local people. The facilities are new and clean. I will defenitely return to this hostel when I am back to Laos!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ZurichEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This place has potential but there's a lot of stuff going wrong at the moment. Firstly, they overcharge for everything. 200,000kip for a bus to Luang Prabang that costs 160,000. 10,000k for water that costs 6000k across the road. Our room was quoted in USD but they made us pay in kip with the worst exchange rate we got in the whole of Laos - including a land border crossing. Secondly, it looks nice in the pictures but it badly needs maintenance. Our shower door was broken. Our bathroom light didn't work, etc. The wifi worked about 15% of the time. Thirdly, they let people drink and yell in the common area until all hours (we complained at 2.30am). There must be better places out there....

Room Tip: If you have to stay here (and I would advise you not to) get a room as far up as possible so the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j9nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Simple and clean dorm rooms with shared showers and toilets per floor, AC and fan.

Service all in all in ok. But be careful to buy your tickets (flight, bus, ...) there. They want 100.000 kip for a ticket, that you can buy for yourself for 22.000 kip.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great place to lay your head for a night or two in Vientiane. Staff is so accomidating, knowledge able and nice! The private double room was the best we have stayed at in a hostel in SEA, ranked higher then many hotels we stayed at to be honest!!! Very well keep up place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseandSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

This hostel was initially difficult to find. However, the hostel itself is comfortable and clean. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Great place to meet people especially if you are traveling alone. One of the best hostels in south east Asia.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank D88k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our one night stay was great. We enjoyed the very good service and the friendly atmophere. The dorms are clean, lookers are underneath the bunkbeds, a/c in the dorm works good an quiet, the showers have a good presure and its clean. Breakfast is included and good. 5-10 Minutes walking distance around the hostel you will find some bars, restaurants and bakeries.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
502 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 1
Dream Home Hostel 1
#2 of 101 in Vientiane
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpackers Garden
Backpackers Garden
#12 of 101 in Vientiane
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Home Hostel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Home Hostel 2

Property: Dream Home Hostel 2
Address: 056 Sihome Road | Ban Sihome, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Sihome Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dream home Hostel. This is a brand new property of Western Standards Managed by Michael from Australia and Chef Johno from South Africa. This new establishment is located in the heart of Vientiane. The surrounding area hosts a large number of authentic Lao food options, markets, foreign restaurants, bars and the famous Mekong River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dream Home Hostel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing