We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Hostel in a Great Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dream Home Hostel 2

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dream Home Hostel 2
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A Great Hostel in a Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

When we showed up at 2am there was still a crowd drinking and having a conversation outside. Staff members ran over to help us with our bags and get us checked in. The next day, I had to go to the embassy to get my visa for Vietnam, but the owner was able to arrange a same day pickup and save me some time (however, it did cost me $15 more than if I had done it myself). The eight person dorm room was 50,000 kip, but it also included breakfast which seems worth the price. The rooms have fans, A/C, and large lockers.

The hostel has a movie room down stairs and is always really active. I would say it is the best place to meet new people in Vientiane. However, if you want water, bus tickets, or a bike, it might be best to walk down the street and get it cheaper. Basically, if you are lazy and want to arrange everything through the hostel, it will cost you. But, they will be happy to accommodate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    149
    72
    36
    28
See reviews for
10
103
157
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Basic backpacker place. Our room was ok size, but the bed was hard like stone, ac didn't work and it could have been cleaner there. Breakfast was good (from menu). Price was expensive for that quality.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanjasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Philip the owner is an incredibly helpful and friendly person. He was up at 5am when we turned up and thoroughly looked after us until we were able to check in. We stayed in the 8 person dorm and it was outstandingly clean it had air con, fan and individual plugs and lights. There was a really cool tv room with a plethora of TV shows and movies with the floor made out of cushions

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Odoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Sihome is a very new hostel. U get everything u need as a Backpacker.good Showers, good lockers, huge comfy Tv Room, cozy livingroom, Basic Breakfast and a good Atmosphere. Dormroom bed were a bit costly, 50'000kip a bed a night in Low Season. But u get Aircon in every Room.
The Daily sightseeing Tour is very good, u see everything Ikone day and enjoy some beer :)
Bus and Tourbooking is better and cheaper in nearby travel agencies.
Good Place to Start your holliday in Laos.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro del Jable, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in a dorm, ot was basic and clean. The facilities were also ok. The staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived early and we took a nap in the tv room until we could check in, wich was really good after an uncomfortable overnight bus ride. We also could take a shower and use the facilities after checking out.

The location was very good and quiet, we walked to the waterfront and the night market.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights in an 8 bed dorm. Very clean, quite comfortable, fans and air con worked well, bathrooms decent, staff friendly, social area good for meeting people, breakfast better than average for hostels, lockable storage, location just a few minutes walk to the riverside and the restaurants/food options, working wifi and free pool table. Didn't book any transport through the front desk as found cheaper tickets through travel agents. Would suggest booking in advance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

For my first night in Laos, I was sooo glad to stay at Sihome backpakers. The staff were all so friendly and a great place meet other travellers!

My favourite was the tv room which the hostel has a big LCD led tv with over a 100 movies and the whole floor is a soft mattress which after a long day you can just chill back and relax!

The rooms were great the only problem is that the beds a rock hard which wasn't really pleasant but the hostel made its way back up my rankings from the service and the general atmosphere of the place!

I forgot his name, but the nice Australian host who will meet you and greet you is always there to lend a hand to anyone that is in need!

There is a new hostel just up the road and as a sihome backpacker guest you can enjoy the facilities t either property which makes it a easy option when you want to get away from the hostel!

I highly recomend a stay at the sihome backpackers for those travelling to Vientaine !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#16 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 1
Dream Home Hostel 1
#2 of 95 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpackers Garden
Backpackers Garden
#5 of 95 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Home Hostel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Home Hostel 2

Property: Dream Home Hostel 2
Address: 056 Sihome Road | Ban Sihome, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Sihome Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dream home Hostel. This is a brand new property of Western Standards Managed by Michael from Australia and Chef Johno from South Africa. This new establishment is located in the heart of Vientiane. The surrounding area hosts a large number of authentic Lao food options, markets, foreign restaurants, bars and the famous Mekong River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dream Home Hostel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing