We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remarkable experience which will make us return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Remarkable experience which will make us return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Excellent hotel with so many attractions and restaurants within walking distance. We had two rooms and both rooms were clean, comfortable and cosy. The front office staff were very helpful, attentive and pleasant throughout our stay. The only complain we have is that our stay was too short. Thank you Ibis Vientiane for making our stay a memorable and pleasant one. Kudos to all the staff at the reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzie S, General Manager at Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear member of TripAdvisor,


I would like to express my sincere appreciation to you for your kind review. Your invaluable comments are very important to us as they allow us to maintain the high standards of quality, service and comfort for which Ibis brand is renowned.
I shared your comment with my team and it was encouraged all of our staffs, particularly members of Housekeeping and Front Office.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we all hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. I hope you would be able to stay longer period and enjoy charm and beauty of Laos.

With warmest regards,

Suzie SHIOYAMA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    199
    45
    8
    2
See reviews for
26
93
75
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel located in a perfect location, staff was friendly and very helpful especially front office staff they respond and help me in every time when I need their assistant and sure with a smile. Room was clean and breakfast is good also. I was 100% recommended this hotel when visiting Vientiane.
Lastly I saw a Japanese boss, she is very helpful and teach her staff seem like a teacher or mom lucky for her staff as I felt and sure she always greeting and welcome guest.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Glizzy668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzie S, General Manager at Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear member of TripAdvisor

Thank you for your recent stay at Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu. I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that your feedbacks will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff, particularly Front Office team as we strive to improve the quality of our services. Training is one of important agenda in our hotel; both on the job training and classroom type of training. Training would never stop and going on at every corner every minutes in our hotel. I am pleased to mention that all of our staff are eager to learn. We will send some of employees to outside training courses during this summer.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

With kind regards,

Suzie SHIOYAMA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The staff at the hotel sets the place apart as they are from all over the world and they speak good English so it essentially means communication is not a problem. Having said that what I felt was excellent value in Geneva, the last IBIS hotel I stayed in, no longer felt valid in Vientiane where one could pretty much get the same facilities at equal or better prices. So it would help if IBIS starts to offer breakfast with the price for the Vientiane outfit. Also, I do agree with some comments about there being a whiff of something in the air. I got rid of the smell in my room by borrowing a air freshener from the housekeeper but the common areas do need some airing.

For the one evening that we ate in, we found the food to be good and the ambience quiet and soothing after a hard day's work

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ICDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzie S, General Manager at Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear member of TripAdvisor

I wish to begin by thanking you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our Oopen Restaurant service and there was smooth communications with our Reception staffs.

Thank you for your invaluable comments on the room price. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value for money considering the location, international standard of security and safety, high standard of hygiene, use real environment friendly chemicals which is higher prices to purchase, good quality of Wi-Fi etc that not many hotels around here offer to their guests. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our deepest apologies.

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback and it was a pleasure to serve you at Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu.

May I wish you very best regards

Suzie SHIOYAMA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

arrived at lunchtime and was pleasantly surprised to get into a room. reception cool, staff very friendly. room size average for ibis with adequate size bathroom where everything worked well. bed large and comfy with lots of pillows. phone, fridge and tea and coffee in room - all worked well but the star was the a/c which worked exceptionally efficiently as it was 40 degrees outside. corridors however were hot. lots of European tv channels. room wifi very very good. hotel is in a good position for getting around with lots of bars and restaurants within an easy walk - as were the river and many of the sights. taxi from airport was gbp 5 including tip (paid in usd which are used as local currency at the rate of 20,000.- take lots of single bills for tuk tuk and tips etc NB euros and pounds useless but can be exchanged at most banks at a seemingly fixed rate. would suggest not visiting laos in may as this is the HOT season and temperatures can be unbearable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ds999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzie S, General Manager at Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear member of TripAdvisor

Greetings from hot and sunny Vientiane. Thank you for your favorable comment posted. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks.

Just a tip for Laos; many foreigners who are living here for many years mentioned to me, it is extremely hot May this year. The temperature is still hot during day time but getting better in evenings after experienced of some rain. All Lao people hope the temperature is getting down as rainy season arrived.

Sincerely yours,

Suzie Shioyama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

i have been a long time but lately infrequent contributor. as a 40 year professional in the travel industry and spending over 100 nights a year in a hotel sometimes you just get burned out. my recent stay at the IBIS VIENTIANE has prompted this renewed interest in reviewing and sharing.
simply, the IBIS VIENTIANE is one of the nicest properties i have stayed. certainly it is the best budget hotel i have ever stayed . first some background. i have been living in thailand for the last 8 years and still fly internationally. i married a thai lady from northern thailand, called ISSAN. but we have never been to laos. so we decided to make last weeks visit. there are some basic categories for hotel choice in vientiane. hostel, budget, guesthouses and higher end properties.
there is no reason to choose a higher end property. you wont exceed the value of the better guesthouses and certainly not the IBIS. i chose the IBIS based on tripadvisor reviews.. and here is what i found: a well managed property with modern, compact rooms, with impeccable service and the finest restaruant in any hotel i have stayed in many years. i will add pictures of my room, along with pictures of the breakfast buffet and our dinners.
be assured the ibis is centrally located in midtown and a short walk to the river. be advised that many RIVERSIDE hotels are NOT riverside but on adjacent side lanes...and those RIVERSIDE hotels and guesthouses that do front the MEKONG have LIMITED number of rooms that actually face the river.i took the time to investigate many of the guest house alternatives . be aware, you might get a slight larger room but it will be OLD, service will be lacking, no elevators, usually no breakfast and spotty wifi. the next category up that would be recognizable to most readers would be the new BEST WESTERN....for 20 usd a night you dont get more than the IBIS and you are on a backpackers street.
to focus on the IBIS, the price is right for what you get. location, clean new rooms, excellent bed and beddings, clean showers with good water pressure and hot water. small refridgerator , and wifi that works. hotel is concrete constructed which means noise from your neighbor is minimal if any....we heard NOTHING from other guests for our 5 night visit. the hotel is managed by SUZIE SHIOYAMA a long time accor manager. suzie knows how to manage and run a hotel . for other guests who have had service issues, contact suzie and she takes care of you.
many guests such as myself are business oriented and / or smart phone/IPAD connected. the front desk manager MR.TIN LIN HTAY runs the front of the house and is responsive , professional and courteous. emails are answered quickly. we had a cooling problem with our aircondioner and it was faster to email the front desk than to pick up the phone. < the aircontioner was fine, there is a FLIP DOWN control panel that controls the a/c. i forgot about that and that type of control is used more in europe >
the breakfast buffet is wonderful. if you show up before 6:30 am there is just a continental syle breakfast but after 6:30 to 9:30 the offerings are abundant. choices of thai/ lao/ and western hot food choices or made to order.< pics to follow>
the IBIS actually has a CHEF....and he is GOOD... the lunch buffet is 10usd and the choices are many of high quality. in fact, the chef is so good we ate dinner at the hotel often.
if you have any doubts about where to stay, choose the IBIS for a few nights....be prepared to extend your stay....its the BEST CHOICE for a HOTEL in VIENTIANE

Room Tip: our room faced the street but the windows are double paned and noise is minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pilot_808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzie S, General Manager at Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Captain

It have been a pleasant opportunity to have met you and your lovey wife. Thank you very much for various suggestions and comments (including several very useful suggestions – I implemented right away) during your stay with us, and appreciated very much reading your feedbacks on the TripAdvisor. We all read your feedbacks and posted on a wall at the back of house.

We; Chef and his team, Front Office Manager and his staffs, F&B Manager and her staffs, Engineering team, Housekeeping staffs and the rest of all of us wish to send you and your wife very best regards from our hearts. We sincerely hope to welcome back both of you in the future.

Suzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

this is a very clean hotel and the location is very the eateries and night market is only about 10 minutes walking distance. the staf were very friendly and helpful - especially the General Manager (THANK YOU VERY MUCH) which gone out of her way to make special arrangement regarding our stay at the hotel and the trip to Luang Prabang.

We would come back and stay at the hotel again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank geoklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hotel is well located on the main street in town - short walk to the riverside and near to many restaurants, bars and cafes and the main sights. Breakfast was not included and if needed would cost an additional $10 however not a problem with Joma bakery and Scandinavian Bakery closeby.

The rooms are modern, clean, large and are in good condition. Room has safe, fridge, TV, and hairdryer. Wifi is free and the signal was very stong. Beds are very comfortable.

All in all - would recommend this hotel and is good value for money

The only problem with the room was sewerage smells from the bathroom - not serious but should be addressed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corion34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzie S, General Manager at Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear member of TripAdvisor

Thank you for your kind feedbacks on your recent stay with us. I read your comments with a pleasure.

Just one note; we do aware of sewerage issue and have been working together with the construction company who built this property. We now took some steps and tested some kind of smell protection device in one of the guest room, and now confirmed this sample is working well. A purchase order have been issued for the rest of rooms, and an installation company is now arranging workers team from Thailand.
I wish the rectification work will be completed within this month or latest by early next month.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Suzie Shioyama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.5 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#23 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel

Property: Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Address: Namphu Square, Setthathirath Road | Chanthabury District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing