We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not good” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vansana Vientiane Hotel

Vansana Vientiane Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vansana Vientiane Hotel
Ranked #75 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Luang Namtha, Laos
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at Vansana for 2 unfortunate nights before moving to a neighbouring hotel that was nicer, quieter and half the price.

Vansana just doesn't seem to care about it's guests. They have a ludicrously loud nightclub on the premises, that goes until 2-3am each day and keeps all guests awake, even though every time we looked inside there was no-one there, only the dj and bar staff. yet, they still refused to lower the volume, perhaps preferring to entice in potential customers than care about the people that were staying in the hotel (which is quite strange since it's on a side street with no real foot traffic going past).

Also it was quite dirty. When the cleaning staff cleaned, they left a 1m wide strip around the edges of the room that wasn't cleaned at all, and the bathroom was grimy.

Overall we were glad to escape after 2 nights and would definitely NOT recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DreandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    3
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
france
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

I first wen to the Vansana hotel on my own for a business trip 4 years ago. I enjoyed it at that time. I was in one of the rooms upstairs, with a swimming pool view. But this year, I was with my husband and our 2 children. More than half of the hotel was closed for works (which, of course, was never told told to us whenn we booked on the phone), so it was noisy and only the rooms on the ground floor where available. Dark, damp, dirty (with used condoms packages in the drawers !!). The hotel is far from everything, so at least, they could organise a taxi serviec with reasonable prices. But every time we had to go to town, we had to spend a lot of money, after hours of tiring negociations with the tuktuk drivers. Not once the people from the hotel helped us not to be cheated. The Vansana has no more entry in the Lonely planet. I understand why.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beijingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

My husband, our 3 month old daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. The first room we were given didn't have a working aircon, after much waiting and attempts to repair it (when all it needed was regassing!!) they couldn't get it working. They told us they only have 1 other room available (although we only saw 1 other couple at the hotel - in the room directly next to us), so we took it, it was at least working. But the room was facing ont the staff food making area and was very noisy!

The pool was the only reason we stayed there, and was super. EXCEPT that anyone can swim at the hotel for a mere 15,000 kip (less than 2USD) so all the neighbourhood teens were there swimming and splashing and dive bombing one another and shouting. They stare at foreigners constantly so it makes one feel completely unwelcome. One of the nights we also had all the local bar girls there harrassing us! There is a nightclub there, at the hotel.

The restaurant was absolutely terrible!!!! and extremely expensive, even the best restaurant in town (Khop Chai) was about half the price! We really disliked the food! And the staff all sit around at the table next to you and talk LOUD, so there is no chance of having a relaxing evening!

The hotel is miles from anything and it costs 50,000 kip to get into town and sometimes 60,000 to get back. (although they do tell you they have a free shuttle service, this simply doesn't exist!)

The staff couldn't have been less helpful! We tried to rent a car and they had NO idea where we could do that.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2008

Sadly for us, this hotel looked much more appealing on the website than it actually was. In fact ,one photo of the pool looks as though something has been air-brushed out--maybe the carpark just beyond. Our room by the pool was fairly dark and unappealing, although it was certainly comfortable enough. The pool-side restaurant is mediocre at best. We hated all the bars over the windows in our room, which took away from any pleasure ln the pool view, Our friends had the so-called suite, which was enormous but even less appealing than our much smaller room. We would not recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank Judyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2008

situated in a quiet location 5 mins walk from the main road , (hotel provided transport to + from the hotel as the road was pitch black at night ) rooms were large , fairly basic and tended to echo a lot , there was a decent sized bathroom with bath and shower and a safety deposit box was provided at reception . the staff were friendly and helpful although the one meal we had at the hotel was average but the staff were trying to cope with a large tour group

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — echoing rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank khmerbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2007

My husband and three year old son and i booked the Vansana Hotel as it was close to where my brother was living with his family. I have stayed in the centre of town before but found the Vansana and its surrounding suburb a welcome contrast to the backpackers hostel/bar/resturant sence in the temple district.
The staff were friendly and very accommadating, especially to my son, and we also chose to stay in their sister hotel in Veng Vieng(which has an outstanding view of the local scenery and river).
The suite at the Vansana (US$40) had a full kitchen, dining area, lounge, TV area, and double bed with ensuite. The pool area and resturant were great areas to socialise with my family and their friends and no extra charges were asked for.
A 10 to 15 minute ride was needed to get into town but this was a great sourse of entertainment for my son and at no time was there not a tuk tuk waiting out the front.
If you are after a more authentic stay in the capital, somewhere you cannot buy pasta and watch CNN on large TVs this is the place.

  • Liked — staff sevice and lao hospitality
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ted4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.4 mi away
Vansana Riverside Hotel
Vansana Riverside Hotel
#73 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.5 mi away
Angkham Hotel
Angkham Hotel
#50 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#15 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lao Silk Hotel
Lao Silk Hotel
#43 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lane Xang Hotel
Lane Xang Hotel
#47 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
#28 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vansana Vientiane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vansana Vientiane Hotel

Property: Vansana Vientiane Hotel
Address: Phonthan Road | P.O. Box 881, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vansana Vientiane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Vansana Vientiane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vansana Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing