We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 8 April 2008

I stayed at the Tai Pan for 1 week while in Vientiane for work. The room was very clean with all the basic amenities, such as cable (with channels in English, very important), strong AC, minibar, etc. There was also high-speed internet available for $3 per day, which was extremely convenient (though there are many internet cafes in the area).

The hotel gym was very clean, spacious, and well-equipped. The breakfast (included in the rate) was top-notch with a good selection of foods.

What really stands out for me is how professional and competent the front desk staff are. They attended to all my questions and needs in a prompt fashion and made my stay very pleasant. This is not a luxury hotel, but it's a very comfortable hotel in an excellent location. Many of the other more luxurious hotels are located far from the Mekong; the Tai Pan is just across the street from the river and the markets along the river. Just across the street from the hotel is Sticky Fingers Cafe, Full Moon Cafe, and a handful of other very good places to eat. The location is perfect, and I would not have chosen to stay elsewhere. I will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank c000g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2008

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights in early March and found it to be perfectly fine. Vientiane is pretty basic, so you can't expect luxury. However, while the decor is a little past its best, the facilities are perfectly good. There's a reasonably well-equipped gym, a fast(ish) internet connection and a decent breakfast included. The staff are helpful too, getting us to the international hospital in the middle of the night when struck down with, ahem, a digestive condition. The hotel's on a quiet road with a few good bars and restaurants and is just off the main road along the Mekong.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank don't_fly!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2007

I stayed at this property in January 07. It is a nice, little hotel very well located, and very clean. The rooms are large, and the staff very helpful. Broadband internet in the room was a plus (at only USD$3 per day a bargain too). This is of course Vientiane, a very modest and quiet capital with no skycrappers or the normal hustle and bustle of the modern world so one has to take this into consideration when reviewing properties in a city which is, by an large, still only a backpacker destination.

Because booking online for hotels in Laos was a difficult exercise I booked my room (3 nights) directly with the hotel staff by email. They came back to me within the hour, and were extremely efficient and offered a free transfer to/from the airport. They did not ask me for a credit card guarantee or other consideration to keep my booking. Please note this. In Laos, hotels still don't ask for credit card imprints when you check in. It is still an innocent place (hopefully you won't abuse their trust so they can keep it this way!). They gave me their promotional rate of USD$50 per night (which is a steal for one of the 'best' hotels in the city). It is not a 5 star, probably not a 4 star, more like a 3.5 property but in Laos this is very good, safe, and modern.

Recommended with the provisos made in the circumstances. Vientiane is an interesting place to visit for a short stopover. Go there before it is 'modernised' and they start chasing you in the street with watches, tours, or worse. City is backwards and restrained (extremely cheap too) and this part of its appeal.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank EZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, D.C.
13
Reviewed 6 February 2006

This is not the Hilton. But if you go to Vientiane looking for the Hilton, then you may as well stay in Paris. The hotel has the faded charm of a colonial era (the building, not the ideology) and is within a half block of the Mekong with delightful local restaurants suspended precariously on wooden planks over the river, where drinks and conversation are in plentiful supply. This is a hotel that perhaps lacks some of what world travelers have come to think of as the "amenities", but in staying here you will have an experience of Vientiane that will remain with you, and never be confused with just another hotel in just another town. And if you are a runner, training for the Boston Marathon by running along the Mekong cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed: January 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2005

Just returned from a trip which included a stay in the Tai Pan Hotel.
The hotel is a good value no nonsense top end hotel. We asked for the family room and ended up with a 3 room suite which was fantastic. The public areas are inviting and the staff pleasant and helpful.

The swimming pool is clean and simple and a welcome relief from the heat at the end of a busy day.

Location is excellent on a quiet side street off the main road, across from the Mekong. This makes finding transport and tuk tuks easy.

Just across from the hotel are a few really good eateries such as the Full Moon bar which are well worth a go.

All in all a good, comfortable clean and value for money if you want all the ameneties of a top end hotel with out too many frills.

17  Thank Phoenix123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 조용한 방을 요청하세요! 길 쪽 방은 시끄럽습니다.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ezra1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prendre les chambres supérieures avec balcon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank duc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
1.3 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 97 in Vientiane
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#7 of 97 in Vientiane
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Vientiane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Vientiane Hotel

Address: 2-12 Francois Nginn Street | Mixai Village, Chanthaboury District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £50 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Vientiane Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Vientiane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tai Pan Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing