We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lani's House By The Ponds
Ranked #6 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing and overpriced”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I spent 3 night here recently. It's in the process of reinventing itself as "Lani's house by the ponds". The website describes a high-end guesthouse and boutique rooms – the pictures back this up. Unfortunately, the reality on the ground is very different – there’s some refurbishment taking place, we clearly didn’t get a refurbed room (despite seemingly being the only guests!) Out room was well-sized and clean enough, but very old-fashioned and in need of work. The bathroom was ugly. The staff were OK and friendly enough and the wifi was good. Breakfast was perfunctory – eggs, some bread, juice, fresh mango and tea or coffee. It was also noisier than expected being set back from the road – mostly from the building work taking place. We expected more given the price we paid (given it’s low season) – indeed, the final straw was trying to charge us 8500kip per $1 when we checked out despite everywhere else in Laos charging 8000! There are better, cheaper places nearby. Not recommended under the circumstances.

Room Tip: Trying asking for a refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diveboard_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lani's H, Manager at Lani's House By The Ponds, responded to this review, 17 June 2016
Dear customer,

First things first, we would like to thank you for your review as we have been using our past clients' comments to improve our service.

Lani's House (one of the first guesthouses in Laos) has been running for more than 30 years and needed serious renovation works until recently, indeed.

We are now taking the time to reply to customers who published "mixed" reviews to announce that we have taken their remarks into account and that the newly refurbished Lani's House by the Ponds is fully up and running with new bathrooms, beddings, paintings, furniture, private terraces and trained staff to meet our customers' legitimate expectations.

We hope that we will be given a chance in the future to make it up to those customers who felt that the House was not up to their standards, on their first visit.

With all our best wishes,

Lani's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    32
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
39
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boornzwaag
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Twenty years ago I stayed there for the first time. And since then several times. It is comfortable and service oriented. Nice atmosphere. Centrally and still quietly located. In the processof refurbishing, which is needed. I will keep coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sikke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I love staying at Lani Guest House. If you're looking for new 4-5 star accommodation, stay away. I like the old world charm and quiet ambience less than 50 metres from the city's busiest road. Rooms are well furnished. Plenty of shops, laundry, restaurants within 200 metres all around it.
Staff are friendly and ever willing to please. When I told them what I wanted for breakfast, if they couldn't cook it, they would go out and buy it for me FOC. Is that service or what?

Room Tip: First floor rooms are larger but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sychowlao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Lani guest house is one of the best place in Vientiane. It is located in the center but is very quiet as the house is at the end of a small passage. People working there are very friendly and helpful. My room was big, very clean. The bathroom has hot water. The breakfast was really delicious. Well, of you have the possibilty to go there, just go! The place is really charming. Raphael

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank R4F4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights. We were picked up at the airport and had a free transfer to the hotel. We liked that it was off the main road but a short walking distance to restaurants etc.. Breakfasts were good consisting of eggs, bread, jam, mango, juice and coffee which we enjoyed on the balcony outside of our second floor room. The room was large and clean and the bathroom was huge. Rooms were cleaned every day and staff were friendly and helpful. A bit pricey for the area, perhaps, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night at the end of a long cycling trip from Vietnam. On the day we checked in we had already done 150km so top priority was getting a shower rather than trawling around hotels for the best deal. I have to say this place didn't deliver on the asking price of $40. Room was small, furniture was ancient. It was borderline between old world charm and just plain old. The shower was not up to the standard expected at this room rate. Breakfast was apparently included but it wasn't offered until I asked about it and in the end we went outside anyway. I told the staff on the desk that I felt the room was overpriced and they discounted to $35/room. I think $20-$25 would be more reasonable. On the night we were there (Saturday night) we were the only guests in the entire place which certainly indicates better deals are available. I won't be back and couldn't recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel instead! You won't get a good deal at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinman2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lani's H, Manager at Lani's House By The Ponds, responded to this review, 17 June 2016
Dear customer,

First things first, we would like to thank you for your review as we have been using our past clients' comments to improve our service.

Lani's House (one of the first guesthouses in Laos) has been running for more than 30 years and needed serious renovation works until recently, indeed.

We are now taking the time to reply to customers who published "mixed" reviews to announce that we have taken their remarks into account and that the newly refurbished Lani's House by the Ponds is fully up and running with new bathrooms, beddings, paintings, furniture, private terraces and trained staff to meet our customers' legitimate expectations.

We hope that we will be given a chance in the future to make it up to those customers who felt that the House was not up to their standards, on their first visit.

With all our best wishes,

Lani's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

here on trip advisor there is also a lani II guesthouse with a different adress but with a foto from this lani guesthouse. also the description sounds a lot like this guesthouse. maybe tripadvisor should check this.
this is an old private house as it seems and nicely decorated. the rooms have charme but could be more maintained. no pressure in the shower. breakfast is poor but served in the really nice outdoor area. the guys working here are nice, espacially the night guard is very friendly. their homepage offers rates from 25 - 40 usd excl. tax, i got a large single room for 45 usd? also tey charge now for the transfer, 10 usd from northern bus station and 7 usd to the airport.
location is perfect, quiet, but you have all the restaurants and the river within 10min walk. walking arround i assume you can get better value for money as there are many lovely looking accomodations, espacialy in the side streest from the river.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewel031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
905 reviews
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lani's House By The Ponds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lani's House By The Ponds

Property: Lani's House By The Ponds
Address: 281, Setthathirat Road | Ban Haysok, Vientiane 01000, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lani, one of Vientiane's classic high-end guest houses has been lovingly revived and is now Lani's House by the Ponds. The breezy colonial house, set in a peaceful tropical garden in the city centre, is a few minutes' walk from the Mekong Riverbank. Located just off Setthathirat road, lined with temples and old trees, this gem of a hotel is close to many of Vientiane's finest cafés, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lani's House By The Ponds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lani Guest House Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing