We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lani's House By The Ponds
Ranked #5 of 202 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Some what run down, rooms were dingy, shower tiles falling off, etc. I was visiting friends in Vientiene and after dinner we went to hotel to catch up. They stayed pretty late and when they were leaving, the night guard approached them and started berating them. He informed us that we needed to leave the hotel in the morning and wanted money for the unregistered guests. The next morning, found another, much nicer property just around the corner. When I went to check out the staff seemed surprised. The manager had no idea about the previous evenings events and was particularily upset that we had paid the guard and not "gotten a receipt". She appologized and said that the guard "should" be fired (a receipt probably would have changed that). Not a pleasant stay at all.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank getting_younger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2009

We stayed two times before and after Luang Prabang. First time room number 2 at the main building was ok, but the second time we got a room on the back and it was dark, small and during the first night noisy, a big difference and almost same price.
Breakfast was ok
We liked the location, near a wat, and also the general ambience but it does not merit the price.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AntonioRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Travellers coming into Laos will notice two things (especially if coming over from Thailand):

1. Value for money is absolutely poor in Laos. Expect to pay a high price for basic accommodation with limited facilities when the same amount would have got you so much more elsewhere.

2. You don't feel any genuine warmth from the Laos people. I don't know if it's because tourism just exploded and they don't really know what to do with all the tourists or it's just the way they are; but they can definitely learn a lot from their Thai neighbours. Also you get the feeling that people are happier to see your wallet rather than you (if you've been to Cusco you know what I'm talking about).

Rooms are fairly basic and not very clean. $33 for a small double with private shower, 38$ for a large double with a private shower. There's an aircon in the room and that's about it. No TV. The mattresses are really cheap and worn out - you can actually feel the springs underneath. The showers are electric and so hit and miss with the hot water. Watch out for the mouldy curtains! They had also given our room away before we got there even though we confirmed over the phone - it's common in Laos

WiFi is free but no PCs for internet. Breakfast is included and you get some baguette slices, tea/coffee, juice & choice of eggs. Free one way transfer to or from the airport.

Location is off the main road, however due to the compact size of Vientiane if you're in the centre then everything is accessible and wouldn't say this was an advantageous location.

Take US$ with you as they will rip yu apart with their Kip exchange rate!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashah_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

We stayed 2 nights at Lani, it is a four stars hotel, but a pleasant guesthouse :
- quiet location
- nice rooms with decoration
- good breakfast on the veranda
- fair price

The rooms in the main building are better than those on the back.
Anyway, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lboutet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We stayed at the Lani 1 guesthouse for 2 nights in August 2008 and found the place a great choice for Vientiane, reasonably priced for the size of the city, backed up by a friendly & helpful staff and in a great location, with the sounds of drums and the chants from the nearby wat an added bit of atmosphere . Breakfast (included) was more than adequate and the upper verandah or the lower garden area both were nice vantage points to plot out the day over breakfast.

Our room was clean and nicely appointed and the various antiques and other decorations around the guesthouse common areas were eye-catching and interesting. The only negative might be the point of entry via an unpaved side road, really just a path alongside a temple, particularly if arrival is at night &/or during the rainy season. All in all, the experience at the Lani 1 Guesthouse was a very pleasant one.

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank quester843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2008

We stayed one night at the Lani Guest House in January 2008. It’s old and a little worn, but our room was large, clean, comfortable, quiet and very functional. The Lani is in a good location, right next to Wat Hay Sok, a half block off the main road. Breakfast, included with the room, is served on the beautiful veranda. The veranda is also a great place to enjoy a Beerlao. There is no Internet at this guest house. The staff was helpful, but was hard to find on occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandiegobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

I stayed in February for a couple of days in a room at the back of Lani. It was very quiet, clean with good aircon and fridge for US$25. The place is also secure - good for single travellers. Staff are friendly and helpful. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank carnage99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 97 in Vientiane
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mali Namphu Hotel
Mali Namphu Hotel
#10 of 97 in Vientiane
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 97 in Vientiane
494 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 97 in Vientiane
508 reviews
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lani's House By The Ponds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lani's House By The Ponds

Address: 281, Setthathirat Road | Ban Haysok, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: £29 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lani, one of Vientiane's classic high-end guest houses has been lovingly revived and is now Lani's House by the Ponds. The breezy colonial house, set in a peaceful tropical garden in the city centre, is a few minutes' walk from the Mekong Riverbank. Located just off Setthathirat road, lined with temples and old trees, this gem of a hotel is close to many of Vientiane's finest cafés, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lani's House By The Ponds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lani Guest House Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing