We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an okay hotel”
Review of Chaleunxay Hotel

Chaleunxay Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chaleunxay Hotel
Ranked #56 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in their VIP lounge for 5days they offer breakfast, although didn't try their breakfast out but I once try having dinner at their restaurant, it was my first and last(if you know what I mean lol) the price is fair clean room but lots of mosquitoes(wonder how they got in) overall, just an okay hotel, I wouldn't mind staying their another time though the problem is just that none of them speak English, just one with basic English skills and you can hardly find him.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Phemmy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Chaleunxay is not good hotel for us. We have 2 family stayed there for 2 nights. The facility of the hotel quite old and not good at all.

The room quite big, but:

- The aircon control remoted can't be found. We have to step on the chair to turn it on/off, and can't control the temperature up/down.
- The bathtub discharging button (to keep/discharge the water) can't be found, when I requested for that, receptionist said they can't find it very fast without checking if they can give you another.
- The water system can be turned on but can't be turned off, so that we have to change to another room (still without bathtub discharging button :D).
- The fruits in the breakfast are very terrible. Bananas, plum is a bit rotten but still served.
- All the staff are hardly smile to the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlemom_ui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is not as beautiful as the other place with no stunning appearance but its service is good. All the staff can speak Vietnamese so it's a good start for Vietnamese if you want to avoid culture shock - not many Laos people in Vientiane can speak English. They even have Vietnamese channel on TV. Their morning buffet is soooooo delicious: the fried rice, salad, fruit and included in room price. Hotel room doesn't have a good outside view but it doesn't matter to us cause we just need a place to take shower and sleep at night. The location is right next to Morning Market, and in the center of Vientiane.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank PrangErokin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

It's pretty old and needs a major facelift. Water is hot and rooms are equipped with both fans and AC. Bathroom is small. Staff are friendly enough but don't speak the best English. At $20 a night it's fine but you can get better guesthouses for the same price.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gareth44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

At convenient walking distance from Mekong riverside center, clean and spacious rooms at a reasonable rate including local breakfast (foe/noodle soup or porridge or fried rice) Location is near local bus station and shopping mall. Stayed here twice, got a free upgrade at the second stay and free late checkout at 13.30hrs as well!

Room Tip: cheapest rate still good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lefebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We paid 160,000Kip for a twin room with breakfast. Looking at other guesthouses, the rate was reasonable but also great, great value.

As we are two hungry cyclists, breakfast alone was worth the cost of this room. BUT get to breakfast early as they are not fast at replenishing spent dishes.

The room was clean and comfortable. Don't expect a western standard hotel but do expect an exceptionally good value Asian hotel (I.e. bathroom plumbing is not perfect and decor may have seen better days).

Another reviewer commented on bad towels. We had brand new towels so hopefully issue resolved. Air con was a little noisy but bearable. Close to a night market and the centre of town.

Online rates were the same as walk in rates which was good to see.

Room Tip: Rooms are priced by size. The smallest rooms are still pretty large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel is very comfortable but the only thing that is not suitable in the hotel is that the bath towels are old and torn, the hotel should change the towel, beside that the services is good. Some people slept on the fifth floor made too much noise. The hotel should tell them to minimize their voices. I just been there in May from 8-24 2013. Thanks.

Room Tip: I never been to the fitness center or in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khoo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
Sinnakhone Hotel
Sinnakhone Hotel
#32 of 95 in Vientiane
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#53 of 95 in Vientiane
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#16 of 95 in Vientiane
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#5 of 95 in Vientiane
421 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Jian Guo Grand Hotel
#33 of 95 in Vientiane
1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#45 of 95 in Vientiane
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaleunxay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaleunxay Hotel

Address: Khounboulom Road, Vientiane, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £18 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaleunxay Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chaleunxay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing