We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Hotel Lao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lao
Ranked #48 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    22
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
5
8
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We stayed here for a couple of nights in December 2008 as part of an Adventure Company trip round Laos and Cambodia. I can't comment on value for money because it was part of a package deal but I wouldn't want to stay again. I can explain.....

As other reviewers have said, the front desk staff are generally friendly but they're not very effective. The rooms are large but dingy, depressing and in serious need of re-decoration with badly matched furniture and fittings, most of it scratched or marked. The bathroom was grubby and looked even worse due to the poor quality tiling (mortar instead of grout between the tiles!). The curtains didn't close properly (too small) and the main light was a 3 ft fluorescent strip.

We arrived just after 9 on a Saturday night but couldn't get anything to eat or drink in the hotel. After a few circuits round the block to try and find somewhere (anywhere) we found that most places were closing for the night, so had dinner (crisps and beer) from the local supermarket.

Buffet breakfast wasn't too bad but limited choice and I've certainly had much better in hotels of this sort. Strangely, on the Monday morning as we were leaving, buffet service had vanished and the waiter was dashing round serving everyone individually. The food was the same, and he was quick - it was just odd!

I wonder if this hotel is privately or state owned? If it was private, you'd imagine that with a bit of TLC, a lick of paint and some new curtains, it could be so much better. It reminded me very much of a place I stayed in Moscow in the mid 1980's.....

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The accomodation
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank malcognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2008

I stayed at Hotel Lao for one night in October 2008. I suppose the best way of describing it is ‘all right’ although it had a slightly seedy feel about it. The staff were very friendly and helpful but the room was extremely dated and generally dingy. The mini-bar in my room wasn’t working and the television was the smallest portable I’ve ever seen in a hotel room. The breakfast was very average. I’m sure that there are far better hotels in Vientiane for a comparable price.

  • Liked — The friendly staff on reception.
  • Disliked — The room and the seedy nature of the place.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilywhitejude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Stayed in a triple room at Hotel Lao. Overall, I have no major complaints. The room seemed a little overpriced for $42, as it was out of date and a mismatch of various pieces of old furniture and fabrics. However, the location was decent and the staff were friendly. The breakfast was o.k., but could use some variety. My only hesitation is that I as I walked around Vientiane, I saw hotels that appeared much nicer and were in the same price range.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MisterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2008

Stayed Feb 2008.good location,walking distance to the Nam Phu (the Fountain),Mekong riverside,Museum and few temples. Lots of shops/restaurants nearby.Tour operator next to hotel. Triple room was big with Mini bar and cable TV. bathroom was clean and well maintained. air-condition had a slight leak but was fixed next day. Buffet breakfast (American/Asian). Staff very friendly and helpful. Will stay again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank waran187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2007

This hotel is staffed by very friendly people indeed! It is conveniently located at the Chinatown area with a money changing booth and travel agency adjacent to the hotel. Really value for money with great Loatian atmosphere and location!

From a satisfied stayer from Singapore!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good location and value for money!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Deslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2006

I stayed at this hotel in December 2005 for 3 nights and had a very pleasant time. The rooms were large and clean and very spacious with all the trimmings you would expect for something a lot more expensive. Mini bar, cable TV (I watched a movie that was yet to be released at the cinema in Australia) good bathroom and very comfortable queen size bed. The hotel is located very well and is pretty much walking distance to everything. I didn't eat there but the breakfast was pretty much the standard American breakfast you get in SE Asia. The staff were also very polite and helpful.

  • Liked — The bed.
  • Stayed December 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sinnakhone Hotel
Sinnakhone Hotel
#31 of 93 in Vientiane
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lao Silk Hotel
Lao Silk Hotel
#44 of 93 in Vientiane
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#53 of 93 in Vientiane
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#36 of 93 in Vientiane
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lao

Property: Hotel Lao
Address: 43/7 Hengboun Road | Ban Haisok, Vientiane 9013, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lao 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lao Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing