We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, Great Staff, Unprecendented service”
Review of Inter Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inter Hotel
Ranked #100 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect location, Great Staff, Unprecendented service”
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We were in transit to Luang Prabang and decided against advise to choose Inter City as a rest stop after a long and continuous journey from Singapore by air and train. Like an oyster, its nondescript industrial facade hid a beauty of sorts within its walls. We got transported into ancient Laos as we entered the hotel corridors that are carefully lined with magnificent antiques & crafts. We stayed on the 3rd floor overlooking Asia'a most romantic, Mekong River's sunset. The wooden floor room was cozy enough and fortunately the aircon works very well to counter the sunshine heat from our balcony. The hotel serves a marvelous steakhouse where we had our lunch & breakfast. But unless you're desperate to being upmarket, check out the night market strip just outside that serves great local dishes and other day time options as well as shopping. The service staff were friendly and we were always greeted with smiles. In highlight, we would like to give accolades to a hotel staff called "Deen". In that morning rush to catch a waiting bus at Northern terminal about 45 mins away we entirely forgot about our passports. When we got there and realized too late we panicked so bad but overcame that quickly when Deen approached us unexpectedly to return our passports. He got to the bus terminal earlier on his bike and was searching every passenger until he spot us! Thank You Deen, we are truly grateful. In summary, we have about everything to like about the hotel and the location that we would certainly recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khairil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    176
    63
    25
    11
See reviews for
8
29
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

The hotel is located along the Mekong River which has good range of different bars and restaurants, as well as outdoor eateries. The lobby was tastefully decorated. The room was very clean and tidy, although the interior design could have been better. Overall good hotel for budget price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausvetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

After reading the reviews on here I booked a room and was looking forward to a relaxing weekend away with my wife. I paid extra for a supposedly bigger room with a river view.

The room was very small, but we did have a view of the river (which is nice at the moment as it is full of diggers and trucks taking all the sand & gravel away for construction projects.

The staff seemed lazy and didn't even direct us to the lift, let alone show us where our room was. The doors look very 'rustic', but are a pain to actually use as doors unless you're very thin and have no luggage. And to top it all, the hotel is located next door to one of Vientiane's major night spots, so I eventually drifted off to sleep enjoying the thumping bass lines and I awoke at about 4am to the sounds of an amplified acoustic guitar.

Back to the Mali Namphlu for me as this place would only appeal if it cost half as much.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jase_Manning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Stayed at Inter Hotel for one night and was pleasantly surprised. I found the hotel to be a great value for $35.

Pros: The location is right across from the Mekong River on the main riverfront street. Our corner twin room was large and is represented in a number of photos uploaded by prior reviewers. Further, the nicely designed downstairs lobby area and hallways throughout the building contain a collection of furniture and artifacts that add to the character of the hotel.

Cons: There was a bit of street noise in the morning. I slept through it, but my travel companion indicated that she could hear it. Also, the bathroom could use a bit of updating, but it is not a major concern. The breakfast was okay, but not great. It was ok for the $35 room. Lastly, the bathroom downstairs was fairly dirty and should be kept better.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
905 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Inn Vientiane
City Inn Vientiane
#14 of 93 in Vientiane
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Lao
Villa Lao
#35 of 101 in Vientiane
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#14 of 197 in Vientiane
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inter City Boutique Hotel
Inter City Boutique Hotel
#40 of 93 in Vientiane
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter Hotel

Property: Inter Hotel
Address: 24-25 Fa Ngum Road, Ban Wat-Chan Chanthabury District, Vientiane, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inter City Vientiane
Hotel Inter City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing