We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Phornthip Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phornthip Guesthouse
Ranked #75 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My partner and I spent 2 nights in this guest house and we were quite happy.
We had a huge room, clean, though the electric wiring could be improved. The place is close to the night markets and lots of restaurants. We can recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferdinand w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
gent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

After a long search for a good room for a good price, we found Phornthip Guesthouse. The people who work here are very friendly!! the guesthouse is really clean and a nice place in the city. I would recommend this guesthouse.
We pay 100.000 Kip for a nice room with airco and private bathroom. It's hard to find a cheaper room that is as good as this one. For a backpacker it's hard to find a good place in Vientiane.

But this one is really nice!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Phornthip guesthouse for two nights and appreciated the quiet and clean room in the center of Vientiane, although it's a bit old-fashioned. But it's a shame the staff is unfriendly. I didn't feel welcome and I always had the feeling to disturb them when I asked for an information.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristeenwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We spent 2 nights here in February, staying in the 2 most expensive rooms (a whole US$15/120,000 kip per night). The rooms were huge, the shower warm and the breakfast cheap and plentiful. However, the beds were the hardest we came across in Laos - and that's really saying something! The guesthouse has an alternative spelling of Phonethip, & is very well located in a quiet street near to the Mekong and the main part of town. Other rooms in the guesthouse are cheaper at 80,000 to 100,000 kip, although the cheaper ones are share bathroom. Not a bad place for a night or two.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the most expensive rooms - two only, so be quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Mali Namphu Hotel
Mali Namphu Hotel
#7 of 197 in Vientiane
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
502 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phornthip Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phornthip Guesthouse

Property: Phornthip Guesthouse
Address: 72 Thanon Inpeng, Vientiane, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing