We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely reception staff, but otherwise little to recommend it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Lao Paris Hotel
Ranked #55 of 94 Hotels in Vientiane
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely reception staff, but otherwise little to recommend it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

The reception staff are great; really helpful. The breakfast staff? Not so much! And the breakfast itself was awful too. The whole place is pretty grotty and uncared for. The sheets in the supposedly freshly cleaned room after we checked in were covered in stains, for example. If you're wanting to stay somewhere cheap yet clean here, then you're off waiting until you arrive in Vientiane and asking to stay at one of the guesthouses.

The location is pretty handy, but then again Vientiane is pretty small, so that's not a big issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zimzimma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    28
    34
    14
    12
See reviews for
3
31
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

The hotel that I had made reservations with made a snafu and did not have a room for me when I arrived. Instead the booked me for a night at this hotel.

I was placed in a room that tucked away over some small inner courtyard and was boxed in by other buildings on each side. The AC was so loud that I could not sleep but had to put in my noise cancelling headset. It was also so dirty that I did want to walk on the floor without shoes. I also did not sleep in the sheets but in my sleeping bag, At 7 am I was woken up by the construction that was going on outside my window.

I would not say here again even if they paid me.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mer94618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

I personally loved this hotel. Ok, it is a bit old, but it is clean, everything works like it is supposed to and there is just enough space in the room.
The service of the staff was amazing, breakfast was fine and the location is really good. The hotel had everything I want and for a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisanneDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We booked this hotel after a lot of consideration. The reviews for hotels in Vientiane were so mixed it was very difficult to make a decision. We didn’t want to arrive in Vientiane and have to lug our bags around looking for a decent hotel or guesthouse, so we eventually settled on the New Lao Paris Hotel and booked online through Agoda. First of all there is no in-room safe as mentioned in the description. There is no cable TV, it picked up the same 3 channels and even these were very unclear, and we had to ask for the complimentary water. The air con leaked in the room and the shower went from hot, to cold, to nothing, to hot to cold, repeatedly. The room itself is quite large and the Wifi works, however it is incredibly slow. The fridge was also covered in mould, and when you leave the room the fridge turns off with the rest of the power. The hotel is not a bad hotel, it is just that for the price you pay you are really not getting what you pay for. We looked around at many hotels and guesthouses and for the same price and cheaper there are some nicer hotels around Vientiane. It is nice to be able to sit out on the balcony and the room was nice and bright. Breakfast was good and exactly enough to fill you up. You get 2 eggs, butter, jam and a baguette, the eggs are cooked for you when you arrive downstairs for breakfast and are accompanied by tea and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottandManisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel is in good location. Staff is friendly. It's not new hotel, no lift. If hotel can improve it, should make more impressive.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I found this hotel to be acceptable for a couple of nights. Rooms are big, bathrooms are too dark. Weird joint, I'd say it used to be offices of some sort. Service was very good. Front desk staff went the extra mile and got us out of some hot water.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We weren't provided with a mosquito net even though there are TONS of mosquitos everywhere. Good think we brought one, but I'm sure not all travellers bring their own.

Service was otherwise good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyalisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
Chaleunxay Hotel
Chaleunxay Hotel
#54 of 94 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lao Silk Hotel
Lao Silk Hotel
#44 of 94 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sengphachanh Hotel 2
Sengphachanh Hotel 2
#62 of 94 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#38 of 94 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#35 of 94 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sinnakhone Hotel
Sinnakhone Hotel
#33 of 94 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Lao Paris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Lao Paris Hotel

Property: New Lao Paris Hotel
Address: Samsenthai Road | Unit 118, Sieng ngeum Village, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 94 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Lao Paris Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Lao Paris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing